We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views”
Review of Marina Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marina Suites
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
LLandudno
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was our 2nd stay in the Marina Suites, and I have previously reviewed the hotel.
We chose the hotel for a short break because it has a super position in the marina with great views.
Staff at the hotel are fabulous, very polite & hard working. Breakfasts are excellent with great choice & the management of the breakfast area has improved since last time we stayed. Although the hotel was full, there were no issues with table waits or lack of food choice!
Dinner was improved from our last stay, with lovely salads & plenty of variety. However the food can be cold, an improved warming system for the buffet would help. Staff are lovely.
Rooms are lovely, spacious and well serviced.
I still found the pool area a nightmare, the pool is beautiful but the public area is small & the sun beds are very cramped together, I would imagine that away from 1/2 term that its much more peaceful.
I wouldn't hesitate to go again for a short break, lovely location, clean,well serviced spacious apartment & lovely, hard working staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happygirltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director Comercial at Marina Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Marina Suites Guest
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your second visit in the Marina Suites Hotel. Thank you for your very positive feedback about our hotel, the staff, the services, and more. I will ensure to pass all of your great compliments back to our team here at the hotel.
About the solarium, we hope to have the opportunity in a next future to enlarge our solarium, we will keep you informed.
I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,106
    783
    169
    34
    18
See reviews for
1,390
1,144
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (919)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I went with my husband and our two grown up children for a break from the drudgery of the British winter. I had an open mind and did not know what to expect. We all had a splendid time and Marina Suites was an ideal location but the best feature of this hotel by far was the infinity pool. I usually like to go and have a swim in the sea or at least try out other places but the pool was so relaxing and such a treat that I simply felt it was a waste of time.

We were located on the 8th floor overlooking the harbour and the Atlantic so had great views at night. I would say that the higher up you are the better. The room was clean, there was plenty of room and, though sparsely furnished, we all four had plenty of space. The food was above average, the service above average, the staff were friendly enough and it all worked well. My down side was that I like free wifi in the room and you could only get this in reception. This is a must now in the 21st century in my opinion.

I talked to many people who had been going there year after year. What I would say is this: although I have undoubtedly been to 'smarter' hotels where there is much better food served and far friendlier service, there is something special about this place because of its location, its relaxed atmosphere and the pool. I certainly did not want to leave and could have happily stayed for longer.

Room Tip: Go for rooms overlooking the sea rather than the pool and higher floors are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 428rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director Comercial at Marina Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Marina Suites Guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor.
It is a great pleasure to hear that you and your family had a great stay with us.
Furthermore, we highly appreciate your words of praise regarding our staff and will be more than happy to pass your nice words over to them. About wifi, we will take your suggestion into consideration.
We would be delighted to welcome you and your family back on a further occasion and remain
with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Every February friends & I visit the Canary Islands to escape central Europe’s winter for a week plus recharge our batteries. After staying at several hotels in the Puerto Rico area, we found The Marina Suites 3 years ago. We love it here… it’s located directly beside one of the island’s largest marinas, 5 minute walk from Puerto Rico beach and 10 minutes walk to the popular costal path which takes you to the neighbouring Amadores Beach Resort. The hotel also has a large outdoor pool & lounge area, snack bar and is conveniently located to some well stocked general stores and several ‘amazing’ restaurants.

The hotel suites are roomy with a large bathroom, bedroom, living area and balcony. Depending on the configuration of suite you are looking for, some have two bedrooms too. The suite’s Galley Kitchen area is ideal for making breakfast each morning. Although the hotel offers Bed & Breakfast and Half Board options, we prefer to go self-catering allowing us to walk each morning to the local pâtisserie for fresh croissant, coffee, meats, cheese & milk.

Besides being one of the best kept, cleanest and ideally situated hotels in the area, a key factor for continuing to come back to The Marina Suites is largely due to their excellent Reception Staff. As the face of this hotel complex, they continue to offer a welcoming, helpful and professional level of service. I checked out on Monday shaking hands with the guys in reception knowing ‘God wiling’… we’ll see each other next year again.

Without question… 5/5.
Summary… “Home from Home”

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R_Kernohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director Comercial at Marina Suites, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Mr Kernohan,
Thank you for your feedback on the Marina Suites Hotel and I am delighted that you had, once more, an enjoyable stay with us. I am very pleased that you recognized the high level of service. We have a very passionate dedicated team who work consistently hard to make sure each and every guest has a memorable stay with us. It is nice to read that you did :-). I am very pleased to hear that you liked our rooms and found them to be very comfortable.
That said I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Marina Suites Hotel on a future visit.
Warm regards,
Mélanie Lebourgeois
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Friendly and serviceminded staff, particulary in the reseption. The pool was fantastick. Didn't get the room we had ordered, which was a disappointment. Too noicy, with children running and the cleaning staff starting their trolleys early in the morning. Large and nice flat, but not enough drawers. Had to pay for using the safe!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herdis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director Comercial at Marina Suites, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
I was sorry to hear that you had mixed emotions about our hotel. Especially during winter month, the hotel experience high level of occupancy, that is why it may be sometimes difficult to give the expected room to our clients, but we always try to do this.
We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Such a nice hotel, can find no fault. Spotlessly clean, great staff, great breakfast and beautiful weather.
Apart from that....!

One of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed at.

We were there on honeymoon, and there was even a welcome gift on arrival. Nice to get a glimpse of how life could be.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank babysittingdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director Comercial at Marina Suites, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest.
Firstly thank you so much for taking the time to post these kind words following your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our attention to detail and the service we provide. So to hear the comments of one of our guest means so much to myself and the team. I do hope that you get the chance to stay with us again in the near future.
My best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel is extremely clean.. very open.. the pool is just fantastic infinity pool and quite big.. staff were lovely.. The hotel is located in the marina about a 15 minute walk into the centre and about 5 minute walk to beach. There are 2 supermarkets located very close along with bars and restaurants.. The buffet breakfast is excellent value.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director Comercial at Marina Suites, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. It was a great pleasure to have you with us. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for sharing your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit one day soon !
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Niedersachsen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our stay at Marina in January was a dream come true. Everything was nice.
The staff is very friendly, the food tastes good, the rooms are large and clean.
The pool is fantastic overlooking the Atlantic. You start your days graet taking your breakfast outside in the open air. From the rooms you have a breathtaking view over the harbour to the beach. The beach is only five minutes to go. We can't wait to get there back again.

Room Tip: Which room you will take, you cannot make a mistake, we like the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joachim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director Comercial at Marina Suites, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback on the Marina Suites Hotel and I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you liked our rooms and found them to be very comfortable.
That said I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Marina Suites Hotel on a future visit.
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
1.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4,047 reviews
8.6 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,489 reviews
7.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Suites

Property: Marina Suites
Address: Calle Juan Diaz Rodriguez 10, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#3 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marina Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Puerto Rico
Marina Suites Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Marina Suites Gran Canaria
Marina Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing