We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely return !”
Review of Marina Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marina Suites
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
South Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Definitely return !”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed in June 2012 on a B&B package
The hotel is a well run, very clean and of contemporary design.
Staff aim to please , always friendly and maintain this hotel to a very high standard.
The breakfast selection is plentiful and there is the option of dining either inside or out in the early morning sunshine if you prefer. Although I didn't dine at the hotel in the evening , other guests were delighted with standard of food and their dining experience. There is a well run bar in the hotel lobby with the added provision of board games , jenga etc! wiFi free in the bar too !
The infinity pool is cleaned regularly and supervised by a lifeguard at all times and in fairness the rule of unoccupied sun beds post 30mins is operated and monitored by the lifeguard , so sun beds were always available.
My daughter age 9 loved the kids club and evening entertainment ,children were very well supervised at all times
I'm not a huge fan of Puerto Rico , where the uptown night life and restaurants are a bit tacky with the usual tacky souvenir shops etc, but if you're looking for a sun drenched relaxing break in excellent accommodation , close proximity to a beach and a sufficient selection of restaurants closeby then don't hesitate to book the Marina Suites!
I will definitely return again

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view but not one overlooking the boat yard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freyababy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director Comercial at Marina Suites, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments. I am pleased to know that you have enjoyed every aspect of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back at Marina Suites****.
Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,054
    779
    166
    33
    18
See reviews for
1,362
1,116
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (906)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Wife and I and 2 boys (13 and 9) stayed over Christmas 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed the Marina Suites. Attentive & polite staff who seem genuinely to be intersted in you, large well-equipped rooms, everything spotlessly clean, good buffet breakfast and more than acceptable varied evening buffets that cater for both adventurous and fussy.
Best of all they specify a heated outdoor swimming pool - and it is! So many mainland Spanish and Canarian hotels say they have heated pools and from our experience they are all inveterate liars! At last a pool to swim in in the winter months and we found ourselves less drawn to the beach every day.
Oh - FREE wirelesss internet (other hotels please note), free use of downstairs room after checking out so we could change/shower before travelling to airport.
Evening entertainment a let down (but it usually is wherever you stay but at least the children have something to look forward to before bed), and a shame they don't have their own car park. Marina's public car park 10 Euros a day. Hotel have limited supplies of guest discount passes at about 5 Euros a day if you can get one. But we found plenty of free parking within 5 minute walk away.

Room Tip: Try to get Marina side rather than overlooking pool/entertainment area
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director Comercial at Marina Suites, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Marina Suites Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments published on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and spent wonderful holidays on Gran Canaria. Furthermore, we highly appreciate your words of praise regarding our staff and will be more than happy to pass your nice words over to them.
It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again
Best regards from Gran Canaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

we stayed here3yrs ago and we were not dissapointed the rooms spotless staff very friendly food exellant and our deluxe room was 1st class it was home from home for us and it brilliant location 100%safe cant wait to go back in future and will book room over looking the harbour.we been going to puerto rico from 1993 and saw this hotel being built and eventually got to stay in them i reccommend them very highly thanks marina suites for a fabulous stay and brilliant memories

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director Comercial at Marina Suites, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Marina Suites Guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor.
It is a great pleasure to hear that you had a nice stay with us.
We would be delighted to welcome you back on a further occasion
Kindest regards from sunny Puerto Rico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have just returned from the Marina suits.. great hotel in a super location. We had a standard suit (this was for 2 adults, a 14yr ols and 11 yr old) the standard suity was plenty, lots of space, large bathroom and megga bed in seperate bedroom. The pillows were fab! Hotel was very clean, room was vert clean, staff we're friendly. We did have the gala Christmas eve menu which I feel was alittle expensive (especially as we were second sitting - no crayfish left!!) Apart from that we ate outside the hotel, our fav's were Taj palace and Oscars - both absoultly fantastic!! All in all a great christmas break and we will definatly go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director Comercial at Marina Suites, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Marina Suites Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments. I am pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back at Marina Suites****.
Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed 1st Dec 2012 for 1wk half board, we arranged our trip through alpha rooms saved £500, fully recommend them. From the moment we arrived the staff were perfect nothing is to much trouble, they keep the hotel spotless, they clean the eating areas constantly, the pool area immaculate with life guard in attendance, the adult seating area is a dream, the pool is fabulous, we stayed 5th floor seaview highly recommend 504, we can't wait to stay again. Breakfast love the freshly squeezed orange machine, plenty of choice for healthy breakfast or fresh cooked breakfast chef in attendance, lunch time beautiful presentation well worth paying for, evening meal beautiful hot and cold buffet style with fab waitress service absolutely wonderful hotel, lvly kids activities .

Room Tip: Sea view 5th floor or above get sun from lunchtime till teatime, can watch all boats coming and goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penelope S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director Comercial at Marina Suites, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Marina Suites Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments published on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and spent nice holidays on Gran Canaria.
It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again
Best regards from Gran Canaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gentofte
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We loved, loved , loved the hotel since the second we arrived. Charming personnel, smiling and friendly, cool suites, great food. we were 8 adults and a baby, and every each and one of us enjoyed staying there. And if we come to Gran Canaria one day, it will be again Marina Suites.

My mother had her birthday while staying there. First we were very surprized to see a great bottle of wine and a box of chocolates laying on our table, when we came home from a walk. We were very surprized and thankful! Then, we wen for dinner at the hotel restaurant. The service was absolutely spectacular! So kind, and caring, and nice!

So we were eating and talking, as the light went out and then we saw the the waiters coming with A LARGE CAKE covered with lit candlies!!! And they were singing HAPPY BIRTHDAY - song for my mother!!! It was absolutely amazing and absolutely unexpected!!! We all got tears in the eyes because of such great and welcoming people around us!!!

It was a once-in-a-life-time experience. Thank you very much for making our trip magical and amazing and hard to forget!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YulaGentofte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director Comercial at Marina Suites, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your really nice review on Tripadvisor.
It is a great pleasure to hear that you and your family had a pleasent stay with us.
Furthermore, we highly appreciate your words of praise regarding our staff and i am pleased to know that your mother enjoyer her birthday with us.
We would be delighted to welcome you and your family back on a further occasion
with my really best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed here on a self catering basis early september, hotel was very well presented and was in a good location as many hotels in Peurto Rico are up steep hills, this one is ground level. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Apartments were very spacious, clean and good facilities. Our balcony was facing the marina and did not get as much sun as the balconies that face the pool/sea! The pool was lovely, never overcrouded and we nearly always managed to get 4 sunloungers together no matter what time of day we went down! The staff put on entertaiment and games throughout the day for children who have a seperate part of the pool. No lilos allowed in the pool which was initially disapointing but its just as nice to sunbathe on the infinity edge! The jucuzzis were not working whilst we were there. The price for food and drinks was reasonable, although drinks in the 'shopping centre', which is where you'll find the bars and local nightlife, are cheaper as you'll be bombarded with deals and offers on drinks. At one point we had 8 double drinks 4 cocktails and 4 shots for 20 euros, and it seems to be buy one get one free on every drink you buy! they shopping centre is about a 15 min walk from hotel although we would use taxis which cost 4euros to get there. The beach is about a 5 minute walk and there are some lovely restaurants along the beach at night. The hotel atmospher at night was the only real disapointment, there would only be a handful of people down at the bar, and although staff would put on pub quizzes and bingo games, it would be empty by 9pm every night which was a shame. The cocktails were really nice and the lunch time food was always nice aswell. Overall I would recommend this hotel as the nicest hotel we saw in Peurto Rico, good location, clean and a lovely pool, good rooms. A very good base and I'd say stay here as long as your not planning to spend every eveing at the hotel bar!
I very much enjoyed my stay and hope that anyone visiting does too :)

Room Tip: request pool/sea view for hours of sun on the balcony and a nicer view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elliebtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director Comercial at Marina Suites, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Marina Suites Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments published on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and spent wonderful holidays on Gran Canaria.
Since we are always eager to adapt our services to our guests, we appreciate your comments regarding entertainment and will take your suggestion into consideration.
It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again
Best regards from Gran Canaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
1.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,220 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,453 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
3,993 reviews
0.1 mi away
Morasol Suites
Morasol Suites
#6 of 68 in Puerto Rico
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Suites

Property: Marina Suites
Address: Av de Mogan, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#3 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Marina Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Puerto Rico
Marina Suites Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Marina Suites Gran Canaria
Marina Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing