We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view”
Review of Marina Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marina Suites
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Southampton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Room with a view”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at the Marina Suites end of October beginning of November 2012. The staff were friendly & helpful. Request a room on a high floor for the view, we were in 913 which looked out over the marina & the beach. When we arrived we were put in the "wrong" room, but were moved the next morning. The apartments are very big & well equipped. Balcony can become very slippery if it has been raining! Pool was lovely, always got a sunbed although they are all close together.
We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant as there are so many restaurants along the Marina & beach. Would recommend "Oscars", "Izamar" & couple of others along the same strip on far side of the beach.
The beach at Puerto Rico was very child friendly. We also walked to Amadores beach which looked very nice, but wasn't so child friendly, it got deep too quickly & current was strong.
Would recommend the boat from the marina to Mogan, was very nice, 10 euros each return, very young children go free.
A good holiday, would recommend Marina Suites.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H0meOrAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director Comercial at Marina Suites, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments.
I am pleased to know that you have enjoyed every aspect of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back at Marina Suites****.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,106
    783
    169
    34
    18
See reviews for
1,390
1,144
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (919)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Visited this hotel November 2012, first visit and very pleased, the room was very comfortable and spacious with lovely views of the harbour. We stayed for 3 nights on Half Board, very happy with the food., We have stayed in Puerto Rico many times and this hotel is in a good location, if you decide to go Bed & Breakfast, there are plenty of restaurants in the area. There appeared to be some good entertainment each night advertised in the hotel, but we preferred to go out. The pool is very nice, with fantastic views, there were plenty of sunbeds, however they were extremely congested.

Room Tip: All Rooms above the 1st floor have excellent views of either the sea or the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amigosManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director Comercial at Marina Suites, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments.

I am pleased to know that you have enjoyed every aspect of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back at Marina Suites****.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

we had 3 families staying in the Marina suites for my Daughter and Son in law's honeymoon. All 3 families had a wonderful time. The Marina suites are excellently located beside the Marina and in very easy walking distance to the beach and some lovely restaurants. The pool area is excellent, clean and well maintained as has an excellent few from the cliffs to the Sea. The apts themselves are big bright and spacious. We would recommend these as the best apts we have stayed in in Puerto Ricoh and we have stayed in quite a few places over the yrs. from now on it will only be the Marina Suites, they can be compared favourably to the excellent Gloria Palace Hotel.

Room Tip: 2 of the families stayed in a Select Apt and it was great to get the view from the top floors but in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director Comercial at Marina Suites, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor.
It is a great pleasure to hear that you and your family had a fabulous stay with us.
Furthermore, we highly appreciate your words of praise regarding our staff and will be more than happy to pass your nice words over to them.
We would be delighted to welcome you and your family back on a further occasion
with my very best regards from Puerto Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Oslo
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a hard review to write. I want to speak nicely of the place, because I was met nicely by the staff. Particularly the reception manager. But I believe in honesty, and I would have wanted to know this before making the reservation.

We hade made a reservation of seven days, but we left after the first night. Without being too descriptive about the details, I think there is a cleaning issue here. Arriving at the room late night , both I and my wife felt a damp, moldy smell in the room. And there was quite a few busy ants crawling around. Especially in and around the kitchenette. Furthermore, there was a highly unpleasant noise outside from the hotel´s air condition system and cooling machine (this was a room on the 5th floor, facing the pool area). The noise was intense enough that we avoided using the balcony.

We could live with the ants and the damp smell, if they would have let us change rooms to a less noisy one (facing the marina). I suppose the noise issue goes for all the rooms facing the pool area.

We were´t the only ones wanting to switch rooms. We´d just have to join the line of guest wanting to switch rooms due to noise and lack of view.

I would suggest the hotel to charge different rates for rooms with drawbacks like noise and lack of view. I´d also suggest a thorough scrub-down of the whole place.

The first morning we discovered another creature, not to be expected in a 4 star hotel. This made us decide to leave. And this is where the polite and professional reception manager comes in. He made the process as smooth and appropriate as possible.
The day after leaving, we came back to collect an item we had forgotten in the room. Then we got to go to the room, and it was obvious the staff had done better cleaning job than prior to our arrival. Will the ants stay away from the kitchenette and the room? Not so sure; there was still "stuff" left in the corners for the ants to feed on.

We spent quite a lot of time searching for good hotel to stay at during our days in GC. We chose the Marina Suites based on the reviews and rating in Tripadvisor. It was sad to see what it really looked and felt like.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the pool. Rooms facing the marina probably more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director Comercial at Marina Suites, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Marina Suites Client
Thank you for feedback published on Tripadvisor.
We are very sorry to read that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and wish to comment you that after your comments to the reception manager, the room you have stayed in has been blocked and we fumigated the room so that there are anymore aunts.
We would be more than happy to have another possibility to convince you of our 4 star services.
Have a nice day and my kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very nice comfortable hotel great pool area with great view..Staff very helpful and friendly I stayed room only but i did eat lunch at pool bar and it was very good..Great as everything is walking distance away and nice and flat as other hotels in the area come with allot of hills..I will diffidently returning to this hotel..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaystays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director Comercial at Marina Suites, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.
It is a great pleasure to hear that you had a great stay with us.
We would be delighted to welcome you and your family back on a further occasion
With my very best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby. Warwickshire. England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Knowing that the terrain from appartments to Harbour and to the Shopping Centre, was virtually flat was the main reason we chose the Marina Suites. And we were not disappointed but the bonus was: the ever friendly helpful reception staff. The fantastic breakfast choice, with beautiful sea views. The spectacular infinity pool. The very roomy appartment mentioned by so many reviews. The nightly entertainment whilst not the best was more than watcheable and was a great way to finish an evening.
We booked everything through Alpha rooms: Hotel, transfer, Flights and airport parking and could not fault them everything went so smooth.
We shall definately return and have no quarms in recommending the venue for a vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south face the pool/sea and breakfast area, where evening entertainment can be seen and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TedOfRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director Comercial at Marina Suites, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments. I am pleased to know that you have enjoyed every aspect of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back at Marina Suites****.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurghada, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

On the positive side, I first would like to mention a spotless modern and comfortable suite and very friendly staff. Unfortunately, there are also some negative aspects. We had booked a deluxe suite in order to have more space and light as we intended to spend a large amount of time working. The view from the suite was stunning, but we could hardly use the deck due to compressor noise and noise from the boat repair shop on the marina. I seems that the select suites are the best.
We had chosen the half-board plan, but were disapointed by the lack of quality of the food and ending up eating out. Breakfast was OK though and served in great surroundings.
Our biggest problem was the internet. We had carefully chosen this hotel because it claimed a wifi connection, but if at times, we managed to receive mail in our room, we were not able to send any. The situation was hardly better in the lobby and we did, at times get desperate. This somewhat spoiled our stay and it is totally unacceptable to advertise free wifi when in fact, there is no connection available.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chantal_lyche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director Comercial at Marina Suites, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for feedback published on Tripadvisor.
We are very sorry to read that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and wish to comment on your statements.
Due to the structure of the hotel, the internet connection is not working very well, however we are working on building our own connection and hope to fix it as soon as possible.
About the noise from the corner, you are right, the compressor may be quite noisy if you have a deluxe floor on the higher floor.
We would be more than happy to have another possibility to convince you of our 4 star services
with my best regards from Gran Canaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
1.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4,047 reviews
8.6 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,489 reviews
7.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Suites

Property: Marina Suites
Address: Calle Juan Diaz Rodriguez 10, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#3 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marina Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Puerto Rico
Marina Suites Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Marina Suites Gran Canaria
Marina Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing