We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, but issue with cleanliness”
Review of Marina Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marina Suites
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a hard review to write. I want to speak nicely of the place, because I was met nicely by the staff. Particularly the reception manager. But I believe in honesty, and I would have wanted to know this before making the reservation.

We hade made a reservation of seven days, but we left after the first night. Without being too descriptive about the details, I think there is a cleaning issue here. Arriving at the room late night , both I and my wife felt a damp, moldy smell in the room. And there was quite a few busy ants crawling around. Especially in and around the kitchenette. Furthermore, there was a highly unpleasant noise outside from the hotel´s air condition system and cooling machine (this was a room on the 5th floor, facing the pool area). The noise was intense enough that we avoided using the balcony.

We could live with the ants and the damp smell, if they would have let us change rooms to a less noisy one (facing the marina). I suppose the noise issue goes for all the rooms facing the pool area.

We were´t the only ones wanting to switch rooms. We´d just have to join the line of guest wanting to switch rooms due to noise and lack of view.

I would suggest the hotel to charge different rates for rooms with drawbacks like noise and lack of view. I´d also suggest a thorough scrub-down of the whole place.

The first morning we discovered another creature, not to be expected in a 4 star hotel. This made us decide to leave. And this is where the polite and professional reception manager comes in. He made the process as smooth and appropriate as possible.
The day after leaving, we came back to collect an item we had forgotten in the room. Then we got to go to the room, and it was obvious the staff had done better cleaning job than prior to our arrival. Will the ants stay away from the kitchenette and the room? Not so sure; there was still "stuff" left in the corners for the ants to feed on.

We spent quite a lot of time searching for good hotel to stay at during our days in GC. We chose the Marina Suites based on the reviews and rating in Tripadvisor. It was sad to see what it really looked and felt like.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the pool. Rooms facing the marina probably more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director Comercial at Marina Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Marina Suites Client
Thank you for feedback published on Tripadvisor.
We are very sorry to read that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and wish to comment you that after your comments to the reception manager, the room you have stayed in has been blocked and we fumigated the room so that there are anymore aunts.
We would be more than happy to have another possibility to convince you of our 4 star services.
Have a nice day and my kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,129 - 2,135 of 3,384 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very nice comfortable hotel great pool area with great view..Staff very helpful and friendly I stayed room only but i did eat lunch at pool bar and it was very good..Great as everything is walking distance away and nice and flat as other hotels in the area come with allot of hills..I will diffidently returning to this hotel..

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidaystays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director Comercial at Marina Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.
It is a great pleasure to hear that you had a great stay with us.
We would be delighted to welcome you and your family back on a further occasion
With my very best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Knowing that the terrain from appartments to Harbour and to the Shopping Centre, was virtually flat was the main reason we chose the Marina Suites. And we were not disappointed but the bonus was: the ever friendly helpful reception staff. The fantastic breakfast choice, with beautiful sea views. The spectacular infinity pool. The very roomy appartment mentioned by so many reviews. The nightly entertainment whilst not the best was more than watcheable and was a great way to finish an evening.
We booked everything through Alpha rooms: Hotel, transfer, Flights and airport parking and could not fault them everything went so smooth.
We shall definately return and have no quarms in recommending the venue for a vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south face the pool/sea and breakfast area, where evening entertainment can be seen and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TedOfRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director Comercial at Marina Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments. I am pleased to know that you have enjoyed every aspect of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back at Marina Suites****.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

On the positive side, I first would like to mention a spotless modern and comfortable suite and very friendly staff. Unfortunately, there are also some negative aspects. We had booked a deluxe suite in order to have more space and light as we intended to spend a large amount of time working. The view from the suite was stunning, but we could hardly use the deck due to compressor noise and noise from the boat repair shop on the marina. I seems that the select suites are the best.
We had chosen the half-board plan, but were disapointed by the lack of quality of the food and ending up eating out. Breakfast was OK though and served in great surroundings.
Our biggest problem was the internet. We had carefully chosen this hotel because it claimed a wifi connection, but if at times, we managed to receive mail in our room, we were not able to send any. The situation was hardly better in the lobby and we did, at times get desperate. This somewhat spoiled our stay and it is totally unacceptable to advertise free wifi when in fact, there is no connection available.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chantal_lyche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director Comercial at Marina Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for feedback published on Tripadvisor.
We are very sorry to read that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and wish to comment on your statements.
Due to the structure of the hotel, the internet connection is not working very well, however we are working on building our own connection and hope to fix it as soon as possible.
About the noise from the corner, you are right, the compressor may be quite noisy if you have a deluxe floor on the higher floor.
We would be more than happy to have another possibility to convince you of our 4 star services
with my best regards from Gran Canaria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is the third time i have been to this hotel and can only say that even after a break of two years the facilities, food and general cleanliness of this hotel cannot be surpassed. The suites are enormous when itcome to rwo people sharing, the maid service is excceptional. The dining experience in the hotel isexccellent with so many choices at Breakfast, lunch and dinner. The staff are exceptional they are courteous, helpful and extremely pleasant to talk to. The resturant supervisor remembered my party from three years ago and made us feel that it was home from home. This is definitely the place to spend a great relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the Marina are probably the best with a view that is second to none. do not ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AAwinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director Comercial at Marina Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your really nice review on Tripadvisor.
It is a great pleasure to hear that you and your family, once again, had a fabulous stay with us.
Furthermore, we highly appreciate your words of praise regarding our staff and will be more than happy to pass your nice words over to them.
We would be delighted to welcome you and your family back on a further occasion
With my very best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Myself and my wife and our 1 year old and my father stayed in the Marina suites for two weeks in September. This was our second time staying there. Again we were not disappointed. There were a few changes made for the better since our last stay 2 years ago. The rooms are fine and spacious and were cleaned most days, the pool area is amazing with fab views of the sea and they have got all new sun loungers since our last stay. We had lunch in the pool restaurant a few days which was really nice and very reasonable, and also the pool bar stays open til 12, theres a show most nights for families with kids and a kiddies disco. Also within a ten minute walk there are some fantastic restaurants in the Las olas Centre. the location is also really good close to the beach and a 15 minute walks to the commercial centre. Again everything in the Marina suites is top class and the staff were very helpful to us, nothing was too much trouble. the only downfall is the entertainment wouldnt be the best and it can be a bit expensive to stay here. but we will definetly go back there, more than likey next year!!

Room Tip: rooms with a pool view are lovely , but dont choose ground floor with young kids as the terrace lead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director Comercial at Marina Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Marina Suites Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments published on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us.
We are glad to hear that you, once more, enjoyed your stay with us and spent wonderful holidays on Gran Canaria and we are pleased to know that you noted our improvements.
It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again
Best regards from Gran Canaria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We are a family of four ( 2 adults and 2 children aged 12 and 14) who have just returned from an 8 night stay at the Marina Suites. Despite unusual, disappointing weather, we had a great holiday due to our accommodation. The apartments are a super size, with a separate large bedroom, bathroom and all-in-one kitchen / dining/ lounge/ sleeping area. Our balcony was large enough for us to eat breakfast outside, every morning. The kitchen area was small (able to be closed behind cupboard style doors) and basically equipped. I am not sure I could have cooked a meal there! However, it served our purposes for breakfast! The apartment was clean and cleaned regularly, while we were there.
Our view over the Marina was lovely at all times of day.
The infinity pool was a delight to swim in...it could become crowded and we didn't like the lines of sun loungers - preferring to move slightly away from the masses....however, we never had a problem finding chairs.
We were on a room only deal, so didn't eat breakfast or dinner there. With plenty of restaurants close by, we preferred to eat out at night. The local Spar provided breakfast....eaten on the balcony. We did eat lunch in the restaurant next to the pool...always quick, clean and good value.
Staff were all friendly and helpful.
Would we stay there again?.....absolutely yes!!!

Room Tip: All rooms either faced the pool or harbour, so both good, unless on the ground floor. I would ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RAECambridge_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director Comercial at Marina Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your pleasant review on Tripadvisor.
It is a great pleasure to hear that you and your family had a fabulous stay with us.
Furthermore, we highly appreciate your words of praise regarding our staff and rooms
We would be delighted to welcome you and your family back on a further occasion
With my very best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
0.2 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,386 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,682 reviews
7.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
4.2 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Suites

Address: Calle Juan Diaz Rodriguez 10, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#3 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range: $128 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marina Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Puerto Rico
Marina Suites Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Marina Suites Gran Canaria
Marina Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing