We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 15, 2010

myself and my husband stayed here in early june 2010, we stayed on a half board basis for 10 nights costing 615 euro each, the hotel was in a fantastic location overlooking the sea and rooms were roomy and very clean. the food for breakfast and lunch was very good with a lot of choice, though we were glad to get a break out of it in the evenings to get our dinner out as it became a bit repetitive and the entertainment wouldn't be for us. we swapped our dinner voucher for a lunch voucher for our entire stay so in the evenings we strolled down to puerto rico to the marina or the strip for dinner. The marina in puerto rico is only 5 min walk and the main strip is about 10 min walk from the hotel. the boat trip to mogan was nice and worth a visit. we found the price of drink in the hotel very expensive and some staff were not very friendly in the restaurant and sometimes trying to find a table set was difficult other than that our stay was very nice and i would recommend the hotel. the spa is lovely also to use while you're there

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k_c_carlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing GLORIA Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel**** and the time that you have spent sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

Your lovely review and the high score you valued us, serve us an encouragement for all the team. We are glad that our team could make your jouney excellent and we cannot wait to do it again one more time,

Best Wishes,

GLORIA Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel****
Guest Relation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,880)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,999 - 3,005 of 4,880 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2010

Well stayed at the gloria palace with my partner and 10 year old daughter and 2 year old son. The hotel is very clean staff are mostly very helpful and friendly, the food was good plenty to choose from. Playa amadores is really just a few shops and bars with a gorgeous beach, we went to mogan market on friday and had tapas by the harbour u get a boat from puerto rico that was a really lovely day out. Puerto rico is ok mainly bars and shops and the usual english breakfasts and roast dinners not really our scene. The only downside really is the prices of things we ran out of shampoo so bought some from the hotel pharmacy and had to fork out £5 for a bottle of shampoo you could buy in tescos for £1 and the local spar is expensive as well so stock up before you go. Would like to say the staff were so lovely to my son especially Oscar and Ramon in the lobby bar giving him Biscuits every afternoon they were great at there job and lovely guys i would recommend this hotel go it really is a gorgeous hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emm12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing GLORIA Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel**** and the time that you have spent sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

Our main goal is customer’s satisfaction. Your review means an encouragement for all our team to improve our service day by day.

Thank you also for commenting on the excellent staff, especially Ramon and Oscar. We hope to see you soon again,

Shiny Regards,

GLORIA Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel****
Guest Relation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

We have stayed here 4 times within the last 2 years. Rooms are huge, clean and luxurious. Maid service is excellent. The pool areas are big, clean and not too over crowded, although you do get the typical holiday makers that reserve the sun beds!!!! So it is best to get raound the pool as early as poss. All you can eat breakfast buffet is amazing! So many different choices of delicious fresh food to cater for all needs.
The only let down would be the entertainment, but i think after being so many times within such a small space of time, we knew what to expect. The Irish dancers are VERY VERY good! Nice shops within the lobby with reasonable prices! Love It! Amadores Beach is FAB! The Bistro is great for freshly made snacks (Ron & Avril) are very welcoming and friendly!!!

Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
1  Thank MandyA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing GLORIA Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel**** and the time that you have spent sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed at the hotel and everything was excellent. I am also very thankful for your loyalty through the past years.

Glad Regards,

GLORIA Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel****
Guest Relation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Loved this hotel....pleanty of entertainment at night within......Food choice for room service is very limited but we managed. Breakfast is full of choices with a very relaxed atmosphere. Fridge with tea and coffee within. Only critic would be the arrival without water facility to make coffee/tea...would be nice to arrive to your room having travelled all day with facility to make nice cup of coffee or tea. Costs 18euro to avail of spa treatment area which we didnt know about prior to travel.
Lots of daytime fitness classes if you want to avail. Rooms clean with air conditioning. Reception staff friendly but english on difference between beef and pork not clear to them! They dont know what vegetables are! Kept getting stuffed tomatoes instead of vegetables for room service.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marybutterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing GLORIA Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel**** and the time that you have spent sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

Thank you for your feedback. We are really delighted to read that you enjoyed staying in Gloria Palace and your holiday has been memorable.

We will also consider your suggestion about the tea making facilities in the room.

Kind Regards,

GLORIA Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel****
Guest Relation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

just returned 31 may after a week in the sun
if you like hot,relaxed and a grea hotel then this is the place
roms were huge and clean,bathroom was great 2 sinks ,shower ,bath all you com to expect of a 4 star hotel
complimentary drinks on arrival was a nice touch.
food was good , many dffrent choices at all meal times
puerto rico is 5 mins away up the prom which is very pretty near the harbour and ammadores is 5 mins away the other direction again a lovely beach etc
recommend the boat trip to mogan on friday maret day a south amerc
bustling village with a south american feel and so pretty
cant wait to go again

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kezandkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing GLORIA Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel**** and the time that you have spent sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

Thank you for this lovely compliment and it has been a pleasure to meet you all at the hotel. Our team would be absolutely happy to make your next holiday excellent as well,

Shiny Regards,

GLORIA Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel****
Guest Relation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

We stayed here for 7 nights on a halfboard basis, we paid £450 with the tour operator Thomas Cook.

This hotel is in a lovely location, the hotel is slap bang in the middle of Puerto Rico and Playa Amadores. The hotel offers a lift service direct to the seaside prominade, 5 mins to Puerto Rico, Playa Amadores easy walking distance,

The hotel has a upperclass feel about it, it is very nice decorated in the reception area, so looks the part for sure, the hotel is also very clean, I never seen any mess or dirt anywhere!!

We upgraded on arrival to all inclusive for 25 euro pppn, We enjoy our drinks so we had our money's worth, PLEASE NOTE WE WERE SHOCKED TO FIND OUT THAT OVER 3 QUARTERS OF THE DRINKS MENU WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE A. I. DEAL.

The food in the evening was to be honest very boring, tasteless and bland. If you enjoy your steaks then this is not for you!! all the meat was fryed and tasted terrible, the food choice was varied but as I say boring, I feel this hotel is aimed more at the German guests, the breakfast in the morning was also poor, who the hell wants to eat pea's and brocolli at breakfast???

I would return to the hotel again, but only on a room only basis, I would rather walk into Puerto Rico in the evenings for meals!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carabut2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing GLORIA Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel**** and the time that you have spent sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your holiday with Gloria and you would like to return one more time.

However I regret that you weren't completely satisfied with the offer at the restaurant. We try to offer a great selection of salads, fresh meat and fish, hot dishes and desserts.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you in Gloria,

Sunny Regards,

GLORIA Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel****
Guest Relation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

This is going to be a long one! We stayed in this hotel from 15th May for a week. It was one of the most fantastic holidays.

The Room:
The hotel room was huge and the beds were comfy, yes the sofa looked a little worn but it didn’t affect our holiday! The balcony was big with the most breathtaking views. I was very impressed with the bathroom, it was large, two sinks, the shower and bath were big, the shower was very powerful and there was hot water at all times of the day. The cleaners were good and very friendly.

Swimming Pools:
The pools were gorgeous, both with fab views over the ocean. Plenty of sunbeds available, we went to the pool around 11:30am most days and often got a bed overlooking the cliff edge down to the sea, it was lovely. The lower pool has more kids around it and ‘Tina’s mini club’ but to be honest it wasn’t too much bother, if we wanted it a bit quieter the upper pool was good too. Plenty to do if you wanted to catch the sun but not sunbathe all day, we played table tennis, water basket ball, and pool as there’s a table to play by the lower pool.

Local area:
It’s also only a short walk to the port/harbour where there are plenty of bars and food places. Make sure you get a green banana card from either rep or transfers as it gets you discount at a lot of the local food/drink places and some shops.
While we were there we found plenty to fill our days. We went on the dolphin watching trip (we didn’t see any dolphins ☹), rode on a camel, went up through the mountains on a jeep which was fantastic (Zig and zag jeep safari!) they showed us how to pick a prickly pear from a cactus. We went to the markets on a glass bottom ferry and played mini golf. If you go with a tour operator (we went with Thomas cook) I would suggest asking them about their trips and recommendations about local area excursions. Our rep Zara was lovely and really helpful.

The general atmosphere:
Even though the hotel was massive, it never felt over crowded, it might be as we went out of school holidays but the restaurant/bar/entertainment areas were never overwhelming with people.

Entertainment:
The ‘entertainment’ in the hotel was interesting, we went to a couple of the nights, but we found it wasn’t too good. We were surprised the kids entertainment went on in the bar until gone 10pm, but if you like a bit of agadoo, etc its not such a problem! We just went to dinner later and went to the bar bit later. They do have free wi fi in the bar/lobby area which is good.

Staff:
As far as the staff members go, the attitude in the Canaries in general is very laid back, if you do have a problem you will have to persist with it to make someone do something about it, they will often pass you on to anybody else to deal with it. The majority are definitely not going for good customer service. But we figured we just had to go with it and not get too cross as they were less likely to help if you were stroppy. The bar staff were generally very efficient in the evenings and by the pool during the day, not always the most welcoming or friendly but you got what you asked for!

Maintenance:
We also experienced some early morning drilling etc, but it didn’t bother us too much as we got up and out then, was kind of like an alarm clock! As technically its still out of season I guessed they were trying to get things sorted before the height of the holiday times. It was only really annoying when you tried to have a siesta, so instead we slept by the pool! It seemed they were fixing beds and furniture, which is positive.
Taking on customer comments:
On one of the nights they gave everyone a questionnaire at dinner. We were very surprised that, the next day, a lot of the comments we had made about what can be improved they were on the case of already, we had our bed made up as a double, food was labelled as vegetarian at dinner (still wasn’t sure what was actually IN the dish but at least I knew it was veggie friendly!) and the glass around the pool was cleaned so you could see the sea from the pool more clearly.

Wildlife!
I saw one cockroach during our stay but it was in the public area and it was gone pretty quick, not at all a problem in the room. Mossies weren’t a problem for us either.

Spa:
The spa was lovely, a real treat. It wasn’t too expensive. I would highly recommend the 2 hour ‘get in shape pool’ its so relaxing and the salt water is brilliant for any sun burn! I had two of the treatments, a massage and an algae treatment. They had an offer on and hotel guests get 10% off, they were really good, the therapist was friendly and professional.

Food:
Breakfast was lovely, a real variety, for all nationalities, something for everyone. We didn’t experience lunch, but dinner was generally good, they really catered for all tastes. I am very fussy and I was fine with food options. The food itself wasn’t too samey there were different options most evenings, but if the restaurant got boring there were plenty of restaurants nearby, either a 5 min walk down the prom or a 3-4 euro taxi ride to others. We bought drinks form the local supermarket to drink some evenings and by the pool as for a small plastic glass of coke it was 2.30 euros from the hotel! Dinner had a massive choice of salad, olives, soup, meats, dishes of the day, freshly cooked food and even an area for the kids to get their food on a shorter food warmer, even though I don’t have kids I thought this was a really nice touch. Even with All Inc you have to pay for your drinks at dinner, which, I thought, was a bit ridiculous, especially as a 500ml bottle of water was 2 euros 10.

Overall:
I think if we went back we would pay for a half board again and go out a few nights for dinner, as half board with Thomas cook (if the website gets it right!!) was only an extra £45 each for the week. Typically on our last day as we were walking up from the port to the shopping area we discovered some really lovely looking typically Spanish restaurants, but also Italian, and Greek, and if you really missed the UK (not sure why you would it was so beautiful there!) you could visit ‘ma’s bakery’ for a bacon bap or cream tea!

One concern about the hotels address…it says its in Mogan…if you want to go to Mogan it costs about 30euros in a taxi, so I’d say the hotel wasn’t in Mogan! I found this particularly confusing when searching for the hotel on the web and getting it confused with the Gloria Palace Royal!

So overall, we would go back to Gran Canaria, and Puerto Rico, and even this hotel and would definitely recommend it to anyone. I loved this holiday so much I really didn’t want to come home!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jennnich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing GLORIA Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel**** and the time that you have spent sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

Our greatest award is our guest´s satisfaction and pleasure. I was very glad to read that you loved your holiday with us and you wrote such a extensive and long review, full of tips and advices for other guests.

I hope you will come to Gran Canaria one more time and will allow our team to make your next holiday memorable and adventurous as well.

Best Regards,

GLORIA Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel****
Guest Relation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
0.5 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,273 reviews
10.5 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#17 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,485 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel

Address: C/. La Palma, 2 | Amadores, Mogan, 35139 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range: $135 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the beaches of Puerto Rico and Amadores, Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel is built on a cliff top and integrated into the landscape, providing spectacular views over the ocean from all parts of the hotel. Built in 2004, the hotel boasts one of Europe's best equipped thalassotherapy centres. In just a few years, the elegant surroundings and top class, friendly service have made it one of the most popular hotels on the Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso And Hotel
Gloria Palace Amadoresthalasso Hotel
Gloria Palace Amadoresthalasso Mogan
Hotel Gloria Palace Amadores
Amadores Gloria Palace
Gloria Palace Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing