We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cork
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We have stayed in a number of hotels / apartments in Puerto Rico but found the Gloria Palace Amadores far exceeded our expectations. From the moment of arrival we were very well looked after and the young lady we met at reception did everything possible to ensure that we settled in and got our bearings as the hotel lift system can be very confusing initially. All staff we found to be friendly, helpful and professional. The entertainment at night is obviously something about which people have their own particular views but over the course of our stay we enjoyed a number of shows.
While the infuriating habit of people leaving towels,etc on the loungers from early morning is apparent here, as in other hotels, there really was no shortage, even at a time when the hotel seemed very full. Pool areas nice and relaxing especially at sunset and there is a alternative pool where one is not subject to party games, bingo etc.
Facilities are excellent also and one would have to be really particular not to find something from the very varied food menu that did not suit. Access to Amadores beach and Puerto Rico is just minutes away.
All in all, angreat choice for a holiday and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: The rooms in higher blocks allow for sea views and spectacular sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NoelHCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director General at Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2015
Dear Noel,

Thank you very much for choosing Gloria Thalasso & Hotels to spend your holiday in Gran Canaria and of course for taking the time to write a review of our services and facilities.

Also thank you very much for your nice words about our hotel.

It would be an honor for us to seeing you again in our hotel and to make your rest time as pleasant as possible.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,105
    1,189
    261
    95
    49
See reviews for
1,247
2,568
92
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,314)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
IRELAND
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Last night in fantastic hotel. Sitting here enjoying dancing show and hotels birthday celebrations. Wonderful staff, food, rooms and facilities. We really enjoyed our stay here and will certainly be back.
.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have Seaview so winner all round.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GLOBETROTTER063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director General at Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2015
Dear Gloria Palace Amadores Guest,

Thank you for choosing GLORIA Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel****, and the time that you have spent sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

It is a great pleasure that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you are especially commenting on the excellent staff and that you recommend the food.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

It was our first visit to The Canaries for a short winter break - we were recommended The Gloria Palace by a number of people and we can understand why. The hotel is well located right in front of the sea between Amadores beach and Puerto Rico - there is a well used promenade path going in each direction.
I had requested a quiet, spacious room on a higher floor and that's exactly what we got. We had an expansive unrestricted view across the sea - also the balcony was totally private. The room was well furnished and maintained. There was very hot water at all times in the bathroom.
Unusually for us, we had taken an all-inclusive package - this worked well because we didn't need to hunt out eating places on the cooler evenings. Yes, the restaurant can get busy and isn't the place for romantic, relaxed fine dining experiences - but you would have to be very picky to complain about what was on offer. There was a very extensive choice of foods to suit all tastes - it was all very fresh, tasty and too tempting! Breakfasts were also excellent - in fact the most comprehensive we've had anywhere. A minor niggle is that the tables are very close together - but in our experience the clientele are very nice - the hotel is very popular with Scandinavians and many people enjoyed being sociable between tables. There were entertainment acts on each night in the large lounge area - good if you can't be bothered to venture out - but propably best suited to maturer people and families.
The staff are efficient and friendly and keen to ensure guests are happy. We had an unsolicited call asking if we were happy with our room and were genuinely able to say that we were. We liked the look of the spa services but didn't try them on this trip. The nearby Amadores beach is lovely and more quietly upmarket than Puerto Rico.
The Gloria Palace is a good hotel for a relaxing winter break and we would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CCjC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director General at Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2015
Dear Gloria Palace Amadores Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

May I take this opportunity to thank you personally for the very high scores you have awarded us across all departments within the Hotel.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife and daughter stayed here for 7 night all inclusive and all we can say is that we had the best stay ever in the hotel. From arriving at reception and checking in and receiving a glass off champagne which was a nice touch till the day we were leaving the hotel just oozed class. We stayed in block 3 on floor 6 which had a amazing sea view and the room was very nice and comfortable. The maid service was excellent and our room was cleaned everyday. The standard of the food and drink on offer was also the best we have had at a hotel with great choice at every meal time . And the bonus off having branded drinks was great . We will definetly be returning in the future . And would recommend to anyone looking for a great holiday with great service .

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director General at Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2015
Dear Michael B,

Thank you for such positive feedback after your stay at Gloria Thalasso & Hotels.

Our aim is to ensure that each and every guest has a memorable stay with us and it is wonderful that we did this for you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at our hotel soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and I just returned yesterday from this excellent hotel. We stayed on an All Inclusive basis for a week and were totally impressed with the standard of absolutely everything. From the check-in to check-out it was fantastic. The staff are incredibly helpful and will go to every length to ensure maximum satisfaction. The selection and quality of the food and drinks was second to none. We have been to Puerto Rico on a number of occasions and know the place very well. It is without doubt the jewel in the crown. We stayed in Block One on the 6th floor and had totally uninterrupted sea views. The sunsets from the balcony were unreal. We are going to book again. SOON!!!

Room Tip: Blocks 1 and 2 from the third floor upwards or anywhere in Blocks 3 or 4 will ensure an excellent se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director General at Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2015
Dear Gloria Palace Amadores Guest,

Thank you for choosing GLORIA Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel****, and the time that you have spent sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

It is nice to hear that you enjoyed with us. We want to make our guests feel very special.

It would be an honor for us to seeing you again in our hotel and to make your rest time as pleasant as possible.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Myself and my partner spent a week at this hotel with half board. It's location is perfect with breathtaking views over the ocean. The glass lift providing access to the beaches and Porto Rico is an added bonus particularly for those of reduced mobility. As a late 20's couple I would advise against the half board/full board options. All meals are buffet style and the food is very much average. The dining room atmosphere feels casual and at times a bit industrial. Not ideal for a romantic getaway. The hotel is otherwise a little dated but clean. After dinner entertainment is tacky but good for families. The clientele consist mostly of older couples(>50) which this hotel caters for perfectly. As for younger couples looking for a romantic break I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director General at Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2015
Dear Joynor,

Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate our services and facilities, in addition to choosing Gloria Thalasso & Hotel as your destination in Gran Canaria.

The GLORIA team would be glad to welcome you again in your next holidays in Gran Canaria.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

This is a fairly big hotel with 4 accommodation blocks. All rooms are sea (ocean) facing, but not all have sea views. (see tiips on choosing a room) The hotel can be very confusing at first due to its layout. The rear two accommodation blocks (one and two) are numbered in the usual way e.g. 1 - 7, with 7 being the highest floor, but blocks three and four have their lowest floor numbered with the higher numbers, 7 or 8 (depedning on the block) being the lowest floor levels.
We requested a high floor and were given a room on the eighth floor of block three. (Great I thought) Wrong! We were on the lowest level! Still, we had a sea view which was more than some. The twin room was large and clean. The balcony was huge with two sun beds, a table and two chairs. The bathroom, again was large with a bath with (fixed head) shower above and a seaperate toilet room, but no bidet. There was a double basin which was set quite high (not great if you are small) The shower was powerful and the towels were changed every day (there was no heated towel rail, leaving the towels damp if you showered more than once a day)
There was always a good choice of food on offer at breakfast, lunch and dinner. The restaurant was often very full and it was sometimes difficult to find a table that was ready. Small gripes were that the hot water at breakfast wasn't hot enough to brew the tea properly, either that or the water just made the tea taste foul and that there was only one ice cream scoop between everyone. So it was coffee or hot chocolate every day and a queue for the ice cream. You may find the odd chipped glass or cup available that should have been recycled.
It was nice to sit at the pool bar and drink a beer or cocktail. This is where most of the daytime activities go on in and around the pool. The pool above the reception level (snack bar) was a little more relaxed and quieter.
The staff were excellent! It was nice to see some very happy, friendly and helpful staff who knew what they were doing. This was true throughout the hotel. This is a credit to the management and the individuals themselves.
We didn't try the spa or gym, but we heard that these were good facilities. Waiting for lifts is a regular thing and it sometimes felt that they were never going to arrive. The lifts down and then through the hotel coffee shop gave direct access to the promenade without having to cross the road (you need your room key to open the door in both directions. This route is not available after 11.30 in the evening! Be wary if you decide to go for a few drinks in Peurto Rico which was a 5 - 10 minute walk fo us. The Amadores beach in the other direction took us 15 - 20 minutes to walk. The ferry trips run regularly from Ruetro Rico harbour making it easy to get to Puerto de Mogan 'Little Italy'.
We went for some winter sun and were not disappointed. The all inclusive package was £150 extra per person so it would depend on you and your group whether to take this up, but we found it to be fairly good value with cocktails at 7.20 euros.

Room Tip: Avoid the lower rooms in block two as your sea view could be obstructed. Higher floors will give the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KP999_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2015
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing GLORIA Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel**** and the time that you have spent sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

I pretty much appreciate your review full of details and tips for other guests. I am also glad that all the GLORIA team has met your expectations with our facilities, furnishing, as well as the staff.

Thank you for your feedback about the hot water. At the moment we have new machines. Also thank you for recommending our all-inclusive offer. For guests that stay the most of the time at the hotel, it definitely worth it!

It would be a pleasure to welcome you on your next stay with us and please do not hesitate to contact us per email if you may have any room wishes.

Merry Christmas & Happy New Year!

Yarinka Sefl
GLORIA Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel****
Guest Relation Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
0.5 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,164 reviews
10.5 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,261 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4,105 reviews
9.3 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#5 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel

Property: Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Address: C/. La Palma, 2 | Amadores, Mogan, 35139 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the beaches of Puerto Rico and Amadores, Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel is built on a cliff top and integrated into the landscape, providing spectacular views over the ocean from all parts of the hotel. Built in 2004, the hotel boasts one of Europe's best equipped thalassotherapy centres. In just a few years, the elegant surroundings and top class, friendly service have made it one of the most popular hotels on the Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Travelocity so you can book your Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso And Hotel
Gloria Palace Amadoresthalasso Hotel
Gloria Palace Amadoresthalasso Mogan
Hotel Gloria Palace Amadores
Amadores Gloria Palace
Gloria Palace Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing