We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“excellent holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Ranked #4 of 72 Hotels in Puerto Rico
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have just came back from staying at the Gloria Palace, Views, food and pools are amazing. First time ive ever been all inclusive and will definitely be doing it again, as long as the standard is as good as this.
The rooms were large and clean with brill views, just take English tea bags as there not very good in the room.
If I had to be picky the only thing I would criticise is on arrival, we were not given much information on how to get around the hotel as it is a very large hotel and the lift numbers are not what you would expect.

Overall, excellent holiday and already looking to go back next year!

Room Tip: if you can request the rooms looking over the sea this is block 3 and 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Public Relations Team at Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing GLORIA Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel**** and the time you have spent sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially the pools and the views. Furthermore we pretty much appreciate your positive comments about the food and your room.

We have also taken note of your suggestions regarding the information you were given at arrival was not enough. We will pass them through to the reception department in order to improve that.

However, we would be happy to welcome you again. For any further occasion, please don`t hesitate to contact us.

Best regards from Amadores,
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel ****
Public Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,402
    945
    197
    78
    35
See reviews for
911
2,007
74
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,070)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here with my husband in April. We chose this hotel because of the good reviews and were pleased with most of it. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable and had an uninterrupted view of the sea although the balcony was a quite small and a little too enclosed. The bathroom was lovely with 'his n hers' washbasins.
The reception staff were friendly and helpful as were the waiters in the restaurant and bar.
There were two outdoor pools which got quite busy although there was usually a bed to be found somewhere at any time of day.
Situated at the top of a very steep hill and built into the rocks, the hotel had a lift from reception that took you onto the promenade below which was brilliant.
The only thing for us that let this hotel down a little was the food. It was well cooked and plentiful but as we went through the week a lot of the food was a variation of the day before's menu - same ingredients just served in a different way! Maybe we were just being picky and I know with all inclusive the food does tend to be a bit repetitive on times but not every day! Breakfast was good, much the same as any breakfast buffet.
The restaurant was huge and the tables were crammed so close together that you had no chance of a private conversation - there was a terrace outside which we were lucky enough to use once!
All in all a good hotel although a little too large and busy for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Public Relations Team at Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing GLORIA Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel**** and the time you have spent sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially in your large and clean room and on your balcony. I am sure your lovely words about the staff are a great encouragement for the whole team and you can be sure that we will pass them your comments.

We regret that we couldn’t meet your expectations regarding the food and are thankful for your feedback in order to improve that point. Furthermore we regret that you found the hotel a little bit too busy and large.

However, we would be happy to welcome you again. . For any further occasion, please don´t hesitate to contact us.

Best regards from Amadores,
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel ****
Public Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed half board in July and the hotel, service and food was great as mentioned in the majority of the reviews, we decided not to upgrade to all inclusive as although the hotel drinks were expensive e.g 3.20 euro for a pint of lager and 7euro for a cocktail it was cheaper to go out in the evenings which we prefer , ( 2euro a pint and 5 for a cocktail) We walked the short distance to Pueto Rico commercial centre every evening having a little browse around the shops then onto the bars a few of which had quizzes and gave away free shots, there was also karaoke or just music on the big screens, we would then get a taxi to the Europa centre at 5 euro where the latest we stayed was 3.30am then walk the 10 mins down the very steep hill back to the hotel. We preferred the beach to the right as you come out of the hotel but the facilities for both were as good as each other, 2x sun beds and 1 umbrella 10 euro, bottled water from 1euro toilets 50 cents and restaurants where you could eat or drink.
Our only disappointments were that upon arrival we weren’t offered a welcome drink or help with our bags but other arrivals were as we noticed during our stay, also on some evenings in the restaurant they were giving aperitifs to the guests but only if you were wearing the all inclusive wrist band which we thought was a bit mean! There was no sun on the balcony except for a small corner at 5.00pm, we also couldn’t understand why we couldn’t arrange the safe at check in, they told us to come back in an hour.
Would we recommend or stay again? Definitely yes!

Room Tip: block 4 is near everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wsm1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Public Relations Team at Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing GLORIA Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel**** and the time you have spent sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially the service and the food. We pretty much appreciate your detailed comments about the location and what`s around the hotel, e.g. the bars and beaches.

We have also taken note of your suggestions regarding the welcome drink and aperitif in the restaurant and we regret that you were not given those. We will pass your comments trough to the certain departments in order to improve that.

However, we would be happy to welcome you again. For any further occasion, please don`t hesitate to contact us.

Best regards from Amadores,
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel ****
Public Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Gloria palace is one of the best if not the best hotel we've stayed at, the entertainment is fantastic with two pools over looking the sea. The rooms are very spacious and cleaned to a very high standard and the wellness centre, so Iam informed by my wife, is out of this world

Room Tip: All rooms over look the sea, but the higher you go you can get the sea breeze as it is very hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Richmul24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Public Relations Team at Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing GLORIA Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel**** and the time you have spent sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the pools and its views, the entertainment and the clean rooms. We pretty much appreciate that you tried our Spa Thalasso Therapy Centre and your positive comment about it.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again on your next holiday in Gran Canaria. For any further occasion, please don`t hesitate to contact us.

Best regards from Amadores,
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel ****
Public Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

From where to start .... First of all, Gloria Palace Amadores is the most beautiful hotel I have seen in Gran Canaria. Not only does it has the best location there but you even don't miss anything, there's everything. Puerto Rico has the best beach, it is a 15 min wak from the hotel. There's even an elevator that drops you on the side of the beach and you just have to walk 15 min to get there. The view is more than WOW !! The restaurant is on the top view to the beach, honestly from the moment you arrive there, you just don't wanna leave anymore ! The breakfast is very yummy : again nothing is missing (make your own omelette, pancakes, sausages, bacon, deserts,etc.). We were on a half board deal which was plenty enough for me and my sister. The dinner was splendid too : grilled shrimps, fish, chicken, pastas, ice cream table. The quality of the food is perfect ! The pool is so relaxing, you're in the pool and having a view to the beach.... We visited many other beaches in different areas and concluded that we were located on the best location . The animation team is very friendly and their daily show is so nice at night. If you feel too tired to go out at night, go have a drink, relax and watch the animation show you won't regret it. There's a very popular shopping street where you have all the brands and with very reasonable prices. You have to take a bus to go there its near the airport, like an hour away. At night, you can also have a walk near the marina and discover the area. Overall, I have nothing else to say than this is the place you wanna be in Gran Canaria. Oh and the room we had was on the beach, totaly worth it :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Doris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Public Relations Team at Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing GLORIA Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel**** and the time you have spent sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the relaxing pool area and the view. I am sure your lovely words about the animation team and their shows are a great encouragement for the them and you can be sure that we will pass them your comments. Furthermore, we pretty much appreciate your positive comments about the food which is covered by half board and the location of the hotel.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again on your next holiday on Gran Canaria. For any further occasion, please don´t hesitate to contact us.

Best regards from Amadores,
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel ****
Public Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Give you it straight as I can,just returned after two weeks all inclusive. myself and my wife.
Hotel is 4 Star
Bedrooms are basic and 3 star .
has a nice feel to it
all inclusive a must as drinks are expensive if you have to buy, £12,50 for a gin and tonic and Bacardi coke.water £2.
Drinks quality is good,Gordons Gin,Ron Bacardi,good cocktails. Tropical lager draught,San Miguel bottles
Food is very good indeed,buffet and chefs on the hot grills,never tired of selection.
swimming pools smallish,but had no problems getting sun beds and they are comfortable.
Entertainment is terrible in our opinion.
Hotel way on top of the hills,spectacular views.
plenty of lifts,scenic takes you down to walkways.
left to peurta Rico. 10 mins walk
Right to amadores beach 20 mins walk. Both have marine area's
Scenic lifts close at 12 at night from the low entrace to hotel,the walk up and round to the main entrance is a killer I kid you not.This area is mountainous but beautiful.
Weather is very hot,we had to hide from 12 until 2 being Scottish.
however after that it is bliss until 7 if you want.
Booked through Jet 2 All inclusive,options to take half board or B&B, see expensive drinks earlier.
Meals are expensive ,2 for buffet will set you back 65 Euro's
Cheapest wine is 12.5Eu, and its not the best .

Staff are great.

went for two weeks
Would go back,but 7 days only.
Transfers perfect from airport

Hope this helps.

Room Tip: From 3 up the views are simply outstanding. upgrades can be available I think .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank StuartGlasgowUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Public Relations Team at Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing GLORIA Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel**** and the time you have spent sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the good food and drinks. We pretty much appreciate your detailed comments about the location and the lifts of the hotel.

Unfortunately, we couldn`t meet your expectations regarding the entertainment and the prices of drinks and we are thankful for your feedback in order to improve those points.

However, we would be happy to welcome you again. . For any further occasion, please don´t hesitate to contact us.

Best regards from Amadores,
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel ****
Public Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the Gloria Palace from 24 - 31 August having travelled with Thomas Cook from Newcastle. Our choice of hotel was based largely on the hundreds of very favourable reviews which appear almost daily and as our holiday approached we found ourselves checking Trip Advisor more and more frequently. Now that we have returned home we can say that we found the many positive reviews to be generally very accurate and as the hotel has already been described in great detail we thought it might be more useful to simply list our main observations:

What we really liked:

*The staff are wonderful and service (almost) always came with a smile - even during the busiest periods at the bar it was never too much trouble to prepare the most complicated of cocktails.

*The food is very good and dishes are replenished frequently, even in the last few minutes of opening times. The various dishes were always hot and attractively presented.

*The choice of drinks on all-inclusive is excellent and rivals many of the high-end hotels in the Caribbean. Bottled beers and internationally branded spirits are included as are bottled wines/cava, so if you enjoy even just a few drinks throughout the day (including bottled water) the AI makes very good financial sense.

*There were plenty of sun loungers available at any time of the day.

*The rooms are modern, comfortable and spacious and all have superb sea views.


And a few minor niggles:

*The pool bar which doubles as the Chill Out bar in the evening is only included in the all-inclusive until 8.00pm. So after 8.00pm everyone who likes to sit outside in the warm evening air had to keep trailing across the terrace to the busy Salon Bar to get drinks and then carry them back outside to the seats around the Chill Out bar. Meanwhile, the barman at the Chill Out bar had very little to do after 8 o'clock as there were so few paying customers (the drinks are quite expensive).

*The all-inclusive ends at 11.30pm each evening even though the bar is open until 2.00am - WHY? This had the effect of causing congestion around the bar for the last ten minutes or so, during which time most people were stockpiling drinks sufficient to last them later into the evening.

*The use of the room safe has to be paid for (about 18 Euros per week) - WHY? The fridge in the room is free, the hot water is free and so is the TV so why not the safe?

*Our air-con had no effect - the fan worked but the air wasn't refrigerated and despite a couple of calls to reception, remained like this the whole week.

*The outside area of the restaurant was a delightful place to sit and enjoy dinner each evening and as such is very popular which meant that a brief wait in a short queue was sometimes necessary until a table became available (less than 10 mins). Unfortunately some people, either through rudeness or ignorance, simply bypassed the queue and bagged the nearest empty table. However, the waiters kept an eye open for this and asked offenders to go back and join the queue - It might help to display a notice asking guests to "wait to be seated".

So in conclusion, despite a few niggles, this is a lovely four star hotel which is perfectly located for easy access to Puerto Rico and Amadores beach. The quality of everything, especially the staff is excellent and the hotel can be proud of the high level of customer service. We would highly recommend the Gloria Palace Amadores.

Room Tip: There are two basic choices - either above pool level or below pool level but all have great sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bottlebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2016
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing GLORIA Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel**** and the time that you have spent sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are glad that we have met your expectations about our service, restaurant and friendliness of the staff and it will be an honour to welcome you in a near future

We take into account every single comment from our guests and appreciate your suggestions about the evening congestions around our bars and your opinion about all inclusive services.

I pretty much appreciate your review such a high valued score/ full of details and tips for other guests. I am also glad that all the GLORIA team has met your expectations with our facilities, furnishing, as well as the staff.

We hope to see you soon at GLORIA

Kind regards,
GLORIA Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel****
Guest Relation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
0.5 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#3 of 72 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 stars 2,400 reviews
10.5 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#1 of 72 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 stars 953 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4.5 of 5 stars 3,436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#16 of 72 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 stars 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel

Property: Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Address: C/. La Palma, 2 | Amadores, Mogan, 35139 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the beaches of Puerto Rico and Amadores, Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel is built on a cliff top and integrated into the landscape, providing spectacular views over the ocean from all parts of the hotel. Built in 2004, the hotel boasts one of Europe's best equipped thalassotherapy centres. In just a few years, the elegant surroundings and top class, friendly service have made it one of the most popular hotels on the Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso And Hotel
Gloria Palace Amadoresthalasso Hotel
Gloria Palace Amadoresthalasso Mogan
Hotel Gloria Palace Amadores
Amadores Gloria Palace
Gloria Palace Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing