We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Probably one of the better places to stay in Puerto Rico but in general it's just an average hotel nothing to write home about. It does have great views of the ocean if you're into that but it's a bit of a trek to either the beach (700 m) or the main resort (500m)...and that's to the start of the resort and not the centre. The room was large with a large balcony (not always though, I was Lucky). Kettle, tea/coffee provided in the room. Could do with installing an extractor fan in the bathroom.
The resort itself I found to be tacky and lacked any bit of character (if there's a planning dept there then they should all be fired). I was there with another 20 friends and they all thought the same. I heard it was a hilly resort but I wasn't expecting the hotels / apartments to be cut into the sides of mountains. There are easier and nicer places to holiday. The food in the resort restaurants in general was nice. Only had breakfast in the hotel was was very good.

Won't be returning to Puerto Rico and if this hotel was somewhere else there was nothing great to encourage me to return to it either.

Took a ferry trip to Mogan which is a much nicer resort.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing GLORIA Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel**** and the time that you have spent sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

I regret that we could not fulfil your expectations. I also appreciate your feedback, which is very important for us in order to improve our service and maintain the standards.

Warm Regards,

GLORIA Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel****
Guest Relation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,775)
There are newer reviews for Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,447 - 2,453 of 4,776 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Most of not all the information has been written about this hotel. Some important points for us were:

Our room was large and the view from the balcony was stunning.
-
A hairdryer is provided in the large bathroom
-
The shower is excellent.
-
Lovely beds, not cheap things.
-
Plenty of water available.
-
Newspapers (most nationalities) available in a shop at the hotel from 9.30am.
-
Good selection of food and drink from the all inclusive.
-
Two great swimming pools.
-
Plenty of sun beds available all day but unfortunately if we wanted the best spots and a soft mattress we had to reserve ours with a towel or two just before we went to breakfast around 9.00am. Everyone does it so it’s not a big deal.
-

There are two further issues we might be able to help you on..

~ THE BEST ROOMS – PICTURE MAP ATTACHED ~

I have tried to attach a map of the hotel grounds that you are given on arrival. If it does not open r view properly I apologise.

Basically there are four blocks of rooms each with seven or eight floors.

Blocks 3 and 4 are to the front of the complex and directly overlook the sea, the view from most if not all of the balconies of these rooms is stunning but the higher the better I would think. On top of each of these blocks is a swimming pool. The one on top of block 3 is the quieter and the one on top of block 4 has activities.

If you have a room in blocks 1 or 2 you will probably need a high floor for the best sea views which are mixed with a view of the pool area e.g. if you are on the ground floors of 1 or 2 you will see a pool, snack bar and guests but only have a view of the sea on the horizon. Even so, it’s still lovely.


~ ALL INCLUSIVE (AI) ~

If you are AI you have a wrist band and have to show your room card each time of purchase. You will be told of two small areas where AI does not apply, don’t worry its well explained.

What you must do is take care about the drinks and if you want AI be specific about what you want e.g. The AI beer is ‘Tropical’ on draft or in bottles, but if at the lunch table you ask for a ‘bottle of beer’ you might be served San Miguel Special which goes on your bill for the end of the week check out. So, if at dinner you want a bottle or glass of AI red wine ask for ‘house’ or ‘casa’. If you take a moment to study the drinks menu in the main entertainment bar you will see that the AI is marked with - -, and the others that you will be billed for (or non AI customers) are marked with a price. Some priced up drinks are half price to AI customers and this is marked on the drink menu with a *. If it sounds confusing I apologise but it’s easy really.

The menus at the snack bars clearly state what items are AI.

My tip = in the evening (or any time!) have a 1ltr jug of Champagne Sangria, normally 18 Euros but it has that magic - - marked on the menu so it’s AI and lovely!

Have a good time and we hope this was of use to you! :)

Room Tip: Read the above and look at the map attached.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TheExile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Public Relations Manager at Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing GLORIA Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel****, and the time that you have spent sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

I was very delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay in Gloria Place. I would also like to thank you for the extensive review you have made, full of tips for other guests.

Your feedback is very important for us, because we consider new things and constantly improving our service.

Thank you for your lovely comment and we cannot wait to see you again.

Best wishes,
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel ****
Public Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed in gloria palace amadores thalasso and spa. Hotel just beautiful. Would say more 5* to be honest as have stayed in plenty!

Location is just fantastic and the views from the hotel are just spectacular!

Just beware of people pretending to be part of gran canaria tourism board as they are scammers and tell you you've won a star prize of money, iPad or holiday with their tacky flip over leaflet/game card. They make you feel guilty as they say you've won them €50 but you need to go instantaneously to their premises to get your prize in return for them showing you their website. Clearly we weren't daft enough to go so thought it might be a good tip for others.

All in all....amazing holiday and would recommend to all!,

Room Tip: Pool view is the best
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Public Relations Team at Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing GLORIA Palaca Amadores Thalaso & Hotel**** and the time you have spent sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to read that you could enjoy your stay with us, especially the spectacular views and the fantastic location. Furthermore, we pretty much appreciate that you would recommend our hotel.

It would be a great pleasure for us to visit you again on your next holiday in Gran Canaria. For any further occasion please don`t hesitate to contact us.

Best wishes from Amadores
GLORIA Palace Amadores Thalaso & Hotel****
Public Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We didn't have the best start at the Gloria Palace. The flight was delayed so when we arrived an hour later than planned we were hungry, at check in we asked where we could eat and we were told we could eat in the restaurant. When passing the restaurant we were 'shooed' out as they had closed, but told that we would have a plate of food waiting for us in our room. There was no food in the room. We then called reception and were told we could get food at a bar. Heading back to the floor where the reception is we found a bar by the pool where we were told the bar is not all inclusive and not only could we not order food, neither could we have a drink! I found this beyond ridiculous. So in the end I went to bed hungry around midnight after not having eaten since lunch. The hotel is huge and surprisingly only has one main restaurant so it is always busy, I would recommend waiting for a table outside it makes a nice difference to eating inside where the tables are rather intimate to put it politely. The rooms are huge although dated and looking tired, the balconies are completely private with amazing ocean views. The two local beches are lovely, puerto rico beach operating separate smoking and non smoking sections which was nice. Overall, the holiday felt like groundhog day returning to the same restaurant 3 times daily. If returning to Puerto Rico I would try another hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarahjo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Public Relation Team at Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing GLORIA Palace Amadores Thalaso & Hotel**** and the time you have spent sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to read that you could generally enjoy your stay with us, especially your prívate balcony with its amazing sea view and the location between two beaches.

Furthermore, we really regret the bad circumstances regarding your dinner at the first day. We have already taken note to improve that.

However, we would be appy to welcome you again. For any further occasion please don`t hesitate to contact us.

Best wishes from Amadores
GLORIA Palace Amadores Thalaso & Hotel****
Public Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

A lovely hotel. Stayed half board- plenty of variety for breakfast and dinner- lovely fresh fruit. Staff very helpful and friendly, facilities lovely especially thalasso spa pool. After slight problem on arrival with our booking we were given free access to the spa area for the week, which as stated was lovely. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eoghan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Public Relations Team at Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing GLORIA Palace Amadores Thalaso & Hotel**** and the time you have spent sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to read that you could enjoy your stay with us, especially the food which is included in half board and the Spa during your whole stay. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused on your arrival. Furthermore we would like to thank you for recommending our hotel. . I am sure your lovely words about the staff will be a great encouragement for the whole team and you can be sure that we will pass them through.

We would be happy to welcome you again. For any further occasion please don`t hesitate to contact us.

Best wishes from Amadores
GLORIA Palace Amadores Thalaso & Hotel****
Public Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Having just returned from staying at the GP am adores I can say that it is a fantastic 4* hotel probably should be a 5*.When we arrived we were greeted with friendly faces and a glass of champagne.our room was double booked,so they put us in the Gloria palace royal for the night.when we came back the next afternoon we were upgraded toall inclusive for the trouble.our room was big,v clean and tidy every day.the food was excellent from breakfast to lunch,and dinner great choice.the two pool areas very good, nightly entertainment excellent,all the staff from cleaners to reciption were excellent.best of all was the short stroll to Porto Rico and am adores beach.so a really top class hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wack10Tipperary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Public Relations Manager at Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing GLORIA Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel**** and the time that you have spent sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are very delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Gloria Palace and our team could make your holiday excellent. We appreciate your nice comments about the staff and the food. We also regret that you did not stay longer. 

We will be thrilled to see you next time,

Kind Regards,

GLORIA Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel****
Guest Relation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed there last two weeks in Oct 2012.
Reception was very efficient during our stay, room is nice and very big with a spacious terrace where you can overlook the sea and wonderful sunsets. The room was kept very clean.
No WiFi in the room (being installed now), but free in the reception area.
Two nice infinity-pools, but with very cold water. Deckchairs - with very thin cushions- were always available.
The sad part concerning pool area was that the young people working there played music they liked, not considering the average age of the public they were there to serve. 50 year old people generally do not like rap/hiphop and that is a fact you should consider if you are working in the serviceindustry.
Very large selection at breakfast, but "only" buffet for dinner. We were happy noy to have selected all inclusive and walked the short trip (250m) to Puerto Rico for dinner.
Amadores beach is only 750m away on a very nice concrete path along the sea.
The lifts were in very poor shape and were out of service much too often.

Not too much to complain about in this hotel, but it was too big for us.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the sea, but the ones on ground floor have no real seaview. All other rooms h...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Livsnyterne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Public Relations Manager at Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing GLORIA Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel**** and the time that you have spent sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

First of all I need to apologize for the inconvenience caused by the pool workers. This case will definitely be passed to the management for further discussion and improvement.

I regret that you weren't completely satisfied with the offer at the restaurant. We try to offer a great selection of salads, fresh meat and fish, hot dishes and desserts.

Our team would be absolutely delighted if you could give us another chance to see you in our hotel,

Glad Regards,

GLORIA Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel****
Guest Relation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
0.5 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,217 reviews
10.5 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,292 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4,152 reviews
10.8 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#6 of 19 in San Agustin
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel

Address: C/. La Palma, 2 | Amadores, Mogan, 35139 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range: $142 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the beaches of Puerto Rico and Amadores, Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel is built on a cliff top and integrated into the landscape, providing spectacular views over the ocean from all parts of the hotel. Built in 2004, the hotel boasts one of Europe's best equipped thalassotherapy centres. In just a few years, the elegant surroundings and top class, friendly service have made it one of the most popular hotels on the Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso And Hotel
Gloria Palace Amadoresthalasso Hotel
Gloria Palace Amadoresthalasso Mogan
Hotel Gloria Palace Amadores
Amadores Gloria Palace
Gloria Palace Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing