We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, a bit *too* family friendly for a couple's holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Vistamar
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
Watford
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, a bit *too* family friendly for a couple's holiday”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel ticks most of the boxes. It's perfectly situated for spectacular views over the sea and jawdropping sunsets. All the rooms have a sea view. The infinity pool has beautiful views too.

The staff at the Vistamar can't be faulted. They are the friendliest, hardest-working staff I've ever seen, helpful and cheerful and just great.

The rooms are spotlessly clean with good soundproofing, the bars have a great variety of drinks on offer, and they make the task of constantly feeding what must be thousands of customers look easy.

The nightly entertainment was, shall we say, a bit retro. The tireless and cheerful 'animation' staff, after working all day, put on shows most nights that consisted of miming to songs. They're great dancers but the miming was all kind of odd! The entertainment was best when it was professionals brought in - 'Salseria', a salsa-Flamenco dance fusion, was fantastic, as was a group of Beijing acrobats.

The niggles: one of the main lifts never seemed to work and the other 2 seemed rather capricious, so there was occasionally a long wait to get up to the 8th floor for reception or 9th floor for the pools.

The air conditioning in the room was completely ineffective - on the lowest temperature, and on constantly, it never cooled the room at all. However, there is a ceiling fan, and with the blackout curtains closed during the day we managed to keep the temperature tolerable.

The features of the bathroom were quite basic for a 4-star - basic unappealing toiletries; rough brown towels; a plastic trolley instead of nice shelves. Some small touches could have made it feel a little more luxurious.

While there was an impressive variety of food, there was very little choice for me as a vegetarian. I know from previous trips to Spain that vegetarianism isn't widely practised or understood so I don't have high expectations or demands; however, for a large international hotel catering to such a variety of guests I'd expect something a little better than broccoli being offered as the 'vegetarian main dish'.

The thing that would have made the biggest difference to my holiday would have been if the upper (infinity) pool were an adult-only, child-free zone. There is a second, very large pool, a children's club and a paddling pool, so families are very well catered for. I would have loved to be able to sit by the pool and have a peaceful, relaxing holiday but my peace was constantly pierced by the shrieks of children, children splashing my sun lounger and possessions (or in one case, my possessions being sprayed with a supersoaker), children and their toys getting in my path when I was having a swim...you get the picture. Obviously I'm not such a curmudgeon that I'd begrudge children the joy of a holiday - but as there are plenty of other family-friendly areas in the club, a peaceful child-free zone would have made a huge difference to me and to anyone else who travels as a child-free couple.

Despite all this - overall my impression of the hotel was very good and I'd absolutely recommend it, just for the views alone and the great service.

Room Tip: I was on the 5th floor - the highest floor for accommodation. The views were gorgeous despite the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expatwatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,208
    980
    334
    91
    44
See reviews for
770
1,434
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (675)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saundersfoot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Just returned from 7 day
Hotel in fantastic location in cliff top... Views to die for
Great choice of food... Rooms clean beds changed every day... Staff very professional and helpful.
Water sports... Boat trips to other parts of Island great.
I would highly recommend third Hotel and I will return to Porto Rico
Stunning island and location

Room Tip: Higher the floor better the stunning views. Ask to face beaches and restaurants. Great view of wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 777Anne777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I have just returned from a 7 day trip with my two adult daughters. The hotel was spotlessly clean, good very good and staff friendly and professional If you want a good hotel, good value for money I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank howacst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Had a week here 14th – 21st Oct all inclusive and it was a good break, with very good weather.

The hotel sits in a great position astride a rocky point with great views all around into the adjoining bay, out to sea and towards Puerto Rico. Very high up with steep and windy approach roads, the hotel has been cleverly designed to make the most of its position. Effectively it’s “upside down” with the sunbathing terraces and pools on two levels at the top, reception and entertainment bar on the 8th floor, restaurant on the 7th and bedrooms on the 2nd-6th floors. Unless you’re fit you do rely heavily on lifts although the one to the pool area is marked for the use of disabled customers only. One downside, there were 3 lifts to the rooms on our side of the hotel and on our last night one had failed. It made it hard to get up or down from the 8th to the 1st or 2nd floors at peak times (even worse with the luggage the morning we left), and the non-Brits are not very keen at formally queuing!!

The staff were superb throughout, very helpful, friendly and always the first to say hello. Food was great with an exceptional selection of salad stuff and main courses for lunch and dinner. Breakfast was just as good with eggs cooked however you want them and all the usual trimmings, with cereals and pastries as well. The only downside was the coffee which we found very strong and sometimes sludgy. Coffee from machines around the hotel was fine. The bars serve a good selection of cocktails alongside the usual beer and spirits. The bar/café on the 9th floor also served a reduced menu late breakfast and lunch through the afternoon so you never go hungry! Pool towels are provided on arrival and can be changed when required any morning between 0900-1200 from a store on your way up to the pool area.

The bedrooms are getting a little tired in the form of carpets, decoration, furniture and bathroom suites but all was clean and fully acceptable. The fridge was useful to keep the free bottles of water (from reception) nice and cool. The only criticism we had was that the walls are very thin so if you get unruly or selfish guests either side you may find yourself asking them to be quiet of phoning reception to complain – as we had to once. It’s noticeable that the guest handbook in the room asks guests to respect others by being quiet after 11pm so perhaps this happens regularly?

So, great views from a well-positioned hotel. 3-4 euros taxi ride takes you into Puerto Rico and the nearby village of Mognan is worth a visit. Would definitely recommend this. Any criticism that we did have was around the Thomson transfer (supposedly 40 mins but the narrow streets and large coaches make it slow going) and some incorrect info on arrival in the pack. But the hotel itself is great.

Room Tip: The rooms are on floors 1 (bottom) up to 6. If you get a higher room it's easier if there are pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StagsBOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I am quite dissapointed! Relly worn hotel, ugly carpet in our room, bad functioning air condition, unfresh bathroom, balcony without any lamp or lights, old tvset, elevators that takes long time and often is broke.. A journey back into the 80-ies.. No internetconection at all at Your room. Wanna check your mail or so- it is possible at the reception, but it is a realy bad functioning internet acces that half of the time is not connecting at all.. Is it really 2014 i just a few months??

Nothing good? Of course, the helpfull staf, good and lofts of food, nice location.
But, the whole complex needs a restauration. Today the place feels unfresh and nothing i will recommend at this high cost as we had to pay.
I will maybe come back to Puerto Rico, but i will stay somewere else.
Lovely weather during our whole week.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stockbroke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here for a week with my husband - just wanted some sunshine and relaxation. That is exactly what we got. The weather was fabulous, as was this hotel - definitely 4 star. If you read all the positive reviews before you read this one, that's all you need to know! I agree with all of them. Great food - brilliant gin & tonics! (ask for your preferred brand) - staff happy and helpful -room spotless - entertainment and activities if you want it - absolutely no problem getting a sunbed what ever time of day by the pool - we preferred the solarium, very peaceful away from the pool frivolities and nicer sun beds - very safe beach for children but sunbeds laid out in a very regimental way - not for us, beer in the little bars just 1euro 50 - so cheap! We couldn't have asked for more,
However I do have a little negative, and this is just personal, I didn't like the table layout in the restaurant at all. As a few have said before, if you're a couple you will be almost elbow to elbow with the next table, and you're stuck with that table for your stay (for dinner only). This isn't reflected in my overall rating because I spoke to the head waiter and he changed our table without question,to table 151 But after all that we had most of our dinners upstairs by the pool as we love to eat outside. The food is different from the main restaurant, but you do have to book.
We would definitely return to this hotel, highly recommend! Feel free to contact me if you have any questions.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amelia17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We returned on Saturday after spending two weeks in this Hotel. This was the second time we have been to the Vistamar and on this occasion we were joined by our close friends, so we were hoping that things hadn't changed to much and we were not disappointed from the moment we booked in to the moment we left.
Yes the rooms do look a little dated but are large and spotlessly clean.
The self service drinks are very good and at the Bar you can ask for some of the brands they have available.
There are always loads of Sun beds around the two large pools, so need for a mad dash in the mornings.
The food! I have read several negative comments about the food. I just do not know where these people eat, if you can't find something you like on the various stations (the show cooking is first rate) then you must be really really fussy eaters.
There is an option at lunch time to eat in the pool Bar which is more relaxed but still offers a good, varied selection. The pizzas are all freshly made and are very, very tasty, along with Burgers, Hot Dogs, Pasta, Paella and Salads and not forgetting the self service drinks.
Yes the entertainment is a bit cheesy but the staff who produce it work extremely hard, however the best show of the fortnight was the Louis Spence look-a-like who did the water aerobics he drew quite an appreciative audience absolutely hilarious.
Things that the Hotel could do better. Despite the many prohibitive notices to the contrary Li-lo's, beach balls and a couple playing with a bat and ball in the pool while the pool attendant looked on. Also Gentlemen in Shorts and flip flops in the Restaurant at the Evening Meal, please.
Special thanks to the Receptionist who booked us in arrival and Enrique in the Bar but Staff throughout the Hotel are very friendly and extremely helpful.
All in all a great Holiday made all the better by sharing it with our wonderful friends.
Would we go to this Hotel again absolutely. Recommend it to our friends we have and they loved it too.

Room Tip: Some of the balconies on the fourth floor are directly overlooked by the rooms above and are not ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
0.3 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
0.9 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#1 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#13 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,815 reviews
9.3 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
#9 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Vistamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Vistamar

Property: ClubHotel Riu Vistamar
Address: Avda de la Cornisa | Playa de Mogan, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Rico
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#13 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Vistamar 4*
Number of rooms: 475
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Set on a cliff overlooking the sea * 9-story building * 900 m to the beach * Complimentary bus service to the beach * 2 km from Puerto Rico * 900 m from various shops * 45 km from the airport * 100 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Vistamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ClubHotel Riu Vistamar Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Club Hotel Riu Vistamar
Clubhotel Riu Vistamar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing