We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Vistamar
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
Potton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed from 11 to 18 March and had a great break. From the first greeting at reception to the departing huggs we had a very good experience and relaxing break. All staff were amazing we did not see one unhappy face amonst the staff and they were always on hand to help and/or serve.

On arrival in our room the patio door handle screws were loose. Within 5 minutes we received a courtesy call from reception and we reported the problem. The bell boy brought our bags just afterwards and again mentioned the patio door. After popping out to look round the hotel the screws had been tighened, what good service.

We were originally given the 8.30pm dinner time slot on the first night, and easily changed this for 6.30 for the rest of the holiday. We also ate dinner 4 times in the restaurant by the pool bar with 3 different themes over the week. This restaurant was under used and we were surprised that not many people used this alternative meal opportunity. In the main resaurant like other reports there were large numbers waiting to start the 'feeding frenzy' we waited 15 to 20 minutes and avoided the large numbers eager to get fed. The seating arrangement for the evening meal was cramped but we were able to negotiate a table for 2 away from the longer sets of tables for larger groups. The food for all meals was extremely good quality with plenty of choice. The only down side was the poor quality and taste of the coffee and wines. However the available cava and G and Ts made up for this.

We had no problems with the lifts being on the 3rd floor and found that they were readily available and did not have to wait long at any time.

The rooms as all the hotel was very clean and well maintained for a well used and older property.

The hotel being on top of a cliff does require strong legs if you wish to walk down to Amadores Beach or Puerto Rico and back. We walked down but used the hotel hospitality bus to return or a taxi (4 euro from Puerto Rico and just over 2 from Amadores). The benefit of the hotel location was the sea fantastic views.

We had great weather and a joy to miss the winter for a few days.

A highlight was the Exclusive VIP MPV tour of the mountains of the island. This was well organised and gave a wonderful day exploring the beautiful island away from the tourist areas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank billy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,208
    980
    334
    91
    44
See reviews for
770
1,434
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (675)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

WE took advise from previous commments & requested an upper floor room, thank goodness as the lift system is appalling - endless time waiting for lifts from the 4th floor to 8th to find ourselves in reception with another 2 flights of stairs back down to the dining room. The dining room is hectic, please be aware you keep your table for the remainder of stay, so hopefully you'll enjoy the company of those either side of you, as there is no distance between tables & therefore little privacy. Food is very good & the staff are exceptional. The rooms are spacious, reasonable quality, plenty of storage, bathrooms whilst generous size are a little tired. The views are spectacular, puerto rico side has the sun on the balcony most of the day. After a prolonged transfer, almost 2hours sat on coach from landing in Gran Canaria - thank you Thomson for the incorrect transfer info!! Finally we were met with the most courteous reception staff, who fast tracked our check in & arranged for our evening meal without any further delays. The entertainment is just ok, overall the hotel lacks a separate lounge bar for those wanting to relax after dinner without the entertainment factor! Pool towels can be changed every day if needed. The safe depoit box is without charge.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank hayleystansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed at hotel from 11th to 18th march , with my husband, having stayed a few times before new the layout and way around hotel, good swift check in, we were on floor 3 lovley views, all staff went out of there way to help you , my one and only gripe would be the seats in lounge and entatainment area they were like sitting on rocks they desperatly need renewing had to leave the show early as were to uncomfortable to sit on , hope to see you again in the future lynn hackling

Room Tip: all rooms have sea view,ask for room near reception so near to all locations
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ginnyweeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Due to a delay we did not get to the hotel until after 22.00. Staff at check in were brilliant and arranged a buffet for the 12 of us at 22.30. Bags delivered to our room on the fourth floor. Views fantastic from our room which itself was very clean although the bathroom was getting a little 'tired'. Given the number of people they cater for the food was very good with great choices and always kept topped up. All the drinks were of good quality so I have to disagree with some of the reviewers who criticised the standard of the food and drink. Meal time is hectic so I would strongly advise you to go to the speciality nights for a more relaxed and quieter setting and wine is served at the table instead of self serve. My wife is coeliac and they managed to cater for her without any issue
The entertainment is a bit naff but seemed to please a lot of the people their - no accounting for taste ( or was it the effect of too much all inclusive!). Bus service down into the main part of the resort was good. The hills around we're OK for us but not if you are not fit
I've rated it a 4 but would probably be a good 3 star in this country
As they say you get what you pay for and this did as it said on the tin

Room Tip: Go for rooms on the 4th or 5th floors as you get the late afternoon and early evening sun. Lower flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigalEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have just arrived back we went with friends for our 25th wedding anniversary. I had emailed the hotel to ask For two rooms on the fifth floor which we got.The hotel also left us a gift and a card in our room. The Rui vistamar as a fantastic team of staff which gives the hotel a really good atmosphere. The food is really good with good choices every day. All the rooms are very clean and have good views over the bay. The pool area is really clean and there is plenty of sun beds the only thing is the pool was really cold.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and I can't wait to go back

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the fifth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank srcwad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The rooms were good and clean. The place is vast and attracts many families, so we had a noisy one next door. The views over the bay are lovely.
The food was very good in the main dining room, as was the service. I have a food allergy which was well catered for. I think the two sittings works well. The a la carte is really just a smaller buffet, but is nice. You can really go as often as you please. The pool restaurant is fine for fast food and salad.
The drinks and service in both bars was excellent. The nut in the main bar were great but further added to my waistline.
The pool areas were good, but the lonely towels as usual a problem. It was hard to avoid large groups of friends who were very noisy.
The bus service to the beach was good. A lovely safe and clean beach surrounded by covered shops and cafes. There were interesting and varied walks in the locality, and a good bus service to access other areas. There was a shopping centre close by, and we were so thankful for our good hotel food.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HYAnnie1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar,Cleveland, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were recommended the Vistamar and so we went for our Anniversary. When we arrived they had had storms with terrible driving rain so first impression wasn't the best. The staff were nice friendly, room lovely and spacious (cleaned every day). Drinks, cocktails all good. It was the food was average nothing like I expect from a Riu standard. No joints cut by chef, much of the same everyday.The A La Carte were nothing to write home about, we tried the Asian and Andulsian, So, for me, thats what let the Vistamar down. The beds are quite hard also. The location is on a hill so beware it can be quite hardwork going for a stroll.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabsA51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
0.3 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
0.9 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#1 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#13 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,815 reviews
9.3 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
#9 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Vistamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Vistamar

Property: ClubHotel Riu Vistamar
Address: Avda de la Cornisa | Playa de Mogan, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Rico
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#13 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Vistamar 4*
Number of rooms: 475
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Set on a cliff overlooking the sea * 9-story building * 900 m to the beach * Complimentary bus service to the beach * 2 km from Puerto Rico * 900 m from various shops * 45 km from the airport * 100 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Vistamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ClubHotel Riu Vistamar Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Club Hotel Riu Vistamar
Clubhotel Riu Vistamar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing