We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a.ll inclusive heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Vistamar
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
Lancs
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“a.ll inclusive heaven”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

our first experience of all inclusive and we were so spoilt by it. The hotel itself is stunning and we had a lovely room there - so quiet at the end of a corridor overlooking Puerto Rico on the 5th floor.

Food was out of this world, every item in the world you could think of and the theme evenings were good especially the Asian evening.
Drinks were plentiful and I loved trying all the cockctails - maybe a little too much one evening.

Most of all the staff are so friendly and helpful and cant do enough for you. Every one of them smiling every day. HOw do they do it? what good value and this is the reason we will be visting again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Revitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,208
    980
    334
    91
    44
See reviews for
770
1,434
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (675)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We have recently returned from a weeks holiday at this hotel. It was very clean, staff were always on the go clearing up after everyone. I was a bit hesitant about the allocated times for tea as 6.30 is too early for us and 8.30 too late but teh system does actually work in terms of getting hot fresh food every evening. I am a picky vegetarian and found a great choice of food however beware, some of it isn't labelled and I had to ask the chefs a lot as to what was in certain dishes. The pool ara is lovely and the bar/ snack bar area too, a really nice area for an afternoon drink and chill. We found the quick access the beach great, it was lovely for a change fo scenery for a day, the surrounding bars and restaurants made for a lovely snack and drink in the afternoon. Close access to the coastal path is great for a relaxed steady walk around to the other beach. WIFI in the lobby works great and was either 1 euro for 15 mins, 3 euro for an hour of 5 eauros for 5 hours, this is the best choice as you can just keep logging in as and when you want. To top it off we had wall to wall sunshine for the week. Like I say I'm pretty anal about cleanliness, food, nice area etc but this hotel was just the job for us, I don't think you'll be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swifty777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Level Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have stayed many times at this hotel. Always for a week in the winter. The reception area is light and airy. The rooms have never changed in all the years but it is still kept extremely clean. They could be doing with a freshen up but it wouldn't put us off going in the future. The best thing about this hotel is the staff. You WON'T get treated better anywhere no matter how much you pay. No one passes you without a greeting and they are very child friendly. Lifts are a bit of a problem as one was out of service when we were there. Great pools but not heated, brrrrilliant. Have a bus that takes you down to the Amadores beach and back. Not a hotel if you have difficulty walking.

Room Tip: 1st floor the best for getting the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendyian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just back from a 10 day break at this superb hotel. If you want something reasonably remote in location but within easy access to the bustling resorts of Puerto Rico and Playa de Mogan this is it. At this hotel high up on a cliff overlooking Amadores Beach we received great service alround from the reception staff, restaurant staff, bar staff (who are amazing) and the domestic staff. The entertainments team do there best to keep you amused throughout the day and night, its sometimes great other times it lacks polish! Overall they try so no complaints. Food - 7 food counters self service in the main restaurant with great selections, breakfast, lunch and dinner. Optional pool restaurant theme nights were available as required. The hotel provides a shuttle bus service to Amadores Beach at no charge. We walked into Puerto Rico from Amadores Beach (about 20/25mins) around the promenade walk way. You can also catch the local buses from Amadores to wherever. Taxis are low cost (4 euros) from Puerto Rico back to the Riu Hotel. We encountered a few time share promotion people but they did not give us any hassle. Tell them you are from Australia!!!! Watch out for the scammers using the Pea and 3 Cup betting scam, normally 5 people are in on this. The guy moves the cups over the Pea and the betting starts with the scammers betting on which cup the Pea is under. Do not get involved!! Thats about it, do take the time to do some of the trips, the Wine tour was good as was Las Palmas. Also try the boat trip to Playa de Mogan, its a brilliant little Venice. Look out for Craig from Doncaster who is a brilliant travel guide. Thats it enjoy your holiday!!

Room Tip: We were in room 272, 2nd floor overlooking Amadores Beach, lacks the sun here a bit, suggest a 4th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myndor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Me and my Family went to this hotel in October 2012. We were not sure what it was going to be like when we got here. We arrived at about one o clock in the morning and were hungry. We expected not to get any food as it was late. However there was food in the dining room and also drinks. We got a bottle of water from reception and could go back and get some more when we wanted. When we got to the room we were very happy with how clean it was. We had a view of the sea. It has a great view! The breakfast is delicious and has many different choices. They have activities from about nine o clock till about six at night. They have activities for all ages and the reps are very friendly. The only bad thing about this hotel is on the photos it looks like it is very close to the beach, however, to get to the beach you have to travel quite a distance. It is OK on the way down however on the way back up it takes way longer. Great hotel and all staff friendly!

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the beach as one of the sides is just of the sea and the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Hotel: Brilliant, classy hotel with surprisingly good food. We stayed at the Riu for a week and we had a lovely stay. The entrance outside to the hotel was beautiful as there were views right across Puerto Rico. The food was the best in the main dining area with a choice to eat at 6pm or 8pm. However the food on the top floor poolside was not great and often luke warm. The entertainment was okay some nights but was often full of children's entertainment which was incredibly irritating after a few days. We would recommend going to the commercial centre which is only 4 euros or less to get toby taxi and is full of nightclubs and bars for better entertainment and very cheap drinks. The views from the hotel were beautiful from some rooms. If you are offered a room near the back of the hotel I would recommend complaining as it was very simple and easy to upgrade your room. The rooms were very clean and were cleaned on a daily basis and the staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The hotel offers a bus service free of charge from the hotel to the beach however it runs from 9-5pm. Myself and my partner missed the last bus one evening and it was a long, steep and hot walk back to the hotel. Overall it was a very pleasant stay with very hot consistent weather! Well recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a room on levels 4 and above for a good view across Puerto Rico.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Second visit to this fantastic hotel. Staff,service,food and cleanliness of the hotel we could not fault. We can't wait to book again . Thank you for a brilliant holiday .I would recommend this hotel for families,couples and singles if you are looking for a lovely relaxing holiday this is the place to go .

Room Tip: Beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carolyn735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
0.3 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
0.9 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#1 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#13 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,814 reviews
9.3 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
#9 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Vistamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Vistamar

Property: ClubHotel Riu Vistamar
Address: Avda de la Cornisa | Playa de Mogan, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Rico
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#13 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Vistamar 4*
Number of rooms: 475
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Set on a cliff overlooking the sea * 9-story building * 900 m to the beach * Complimentary bus service to the beach * 2 km from Puerto Rico * 900 m from various shops * 45 km from the airport * 100 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Vistamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ClubHotel Riu Vistamar Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Club Hotel Riu Vistamar
Clubhotel Riu Vistamar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing