We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bloomin' fantastic :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Vistamar
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bloomin' fantastic :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2011

Don't read any bad reviews they are all rubbish!!!
Stayed for a week with partner and in laws for a week at riu vistamar and was very sad to leave!!!!
We arrived mid afternoon at vistamar and were extremely pleased with the location....even though some are put of by the cliff side hotel! Through no fault of the hotel we chose a bus transfer that took ages to get there, not due to being far away, there were many drops on the short journey! I'd recommend getting a taxi from airport and back and takes 40 mins and cost 50 euros! A late dinner awaited us and we never felt hungry throughout the whole holiday!
The rooms were very clean and maintained excellently by the hotel maids.....even leaving us flowers and folding our washing :) a small tip....take your own hairdryer....they are not so powerful on long hair! No biggie though!
The in laws got there a week before us and asked for our room to be near to theirs....This request was served and we had a room next door to them so a thumbs up on that front! The pool areas, restaurants and bars were all spotless and.....in fact probably the cleanest hotel i've ever stayed in! There was an excellent range of food types for everyone whether you like good old meat and 2 veg, burgers, chips, pizza all the way along to paella, grilled fish and fresh pasta! I beg to differ with some reviews i read before going that the food was bland, limited and repetetive! i tried something new every day and always enjoyed my meals! The main restaurant was great but for a change i strongly recommend the pool side restaurant which is open 3 nights during the week, do book these in advance as there are limited spots! We loved the asian speciality night and canarian night at this restaurant which provided stunning views of the sea and was a welcome change of surrounding to eat at! The sollarium was an excellent, quiet place, for sunbathing if you aren't into being at the poolside and also amadores beach which is in full view of all the rooms and pools was also kept very clean! Sunbeds and umbrellas came at a small charge though! You could walk down to the beach but if walking up and down steep banks isn't your thing then a free bus runs every hour from the hotel reception to run you up and down and dropped you off right by the beach and sea! From the beach is a small walk to puerto rico which was a little busier and the best place to catch a boat trip or do some watersports! Entertainment was pretty good: grease night, tina turner impersonator, acrobats and loads more and drinks flowed costantly! The locals spirits are pretty good even having their own baileys and malibu but we loved the sangria, beer and cocktails! The kids club looked great but having no children we only saw that from a distance but the staff looking after children seemed great and very safety orientated! My partner hates sunbathing so he enjoyed air gun shooting which allowed a bit of time for me to worship the sun :) Hope review helps and have a great hol

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kateproff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,198
    977
    332
    91
    43
See reviews for
764
1,427
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

top hotel,read a few negative reviews from last year about this hotel from other visitors and i have to say in our opinion we cant understand why.As far as we were concerned this hotel surpasses the riu standards.The rooms were very confortable and spacious with bath,shower,free safe and free air con.The food was to a high standard and varied with on the spot cooking from various chefs who were willing to tell you about what they were making.The bar area at night time was well presented with some of the best bar staff we have come across on any of our trips,they were pleasant,friendly and informative and they were always up for having a joke with each other which was amusing.The hotel is at the top of a very steep hill but has a free bus service down to amadores and back that runs to a set time table so thus makes the beach another easy option.We e mailed the hotel prior to going asking for the earlier dinner (6-30pm instead of 8-30pm) and also requesting a room on the fifth floor as the sun and the views are second to non,both requests were in place when we arrived.All in all we had a superb holiday here.......would we recommend it to friends? too right we would.
]

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank craig_tracy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester, england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

Our trip was from the 27 April - 11 May and the weather was really good. Had a room on the 5th floor (emailed before going and requested this) and the view was stunning. In the late afternoon the sun is still on our balcony. Breakfast in the main restaurant was busy but had loads to choose from. Never tried the restaurant at lunch time as had our meals at the pool bar. Had a varied choice again of food and still more food in the afternoon. Our only grumble with the restaurant is in the evening. If you are unluckly to sit next to miserable people (like we did) then you will be stuck with them throughout your stay. Having said that the staff throughout the hotel were excellent. Never had any problem getting a drink, even when at times it was busy, as RUBEN seems to take control of the situation and works really hard. But again must say that all the staff were good and work hard too. If you don't mind "cheesy" entertainment then you will be ok. The hotel did provide a couple of good acts whilst we were their as well. The entertainment team work really hard throughout the day and evening and were always cheerful. The one to look out for in our mind though is the chap that does the "water aerobics" (didn't find out his name, sorry) he is sooo entertaining and very "camp" and loves playing up to his audience. Overall, had an excellent holiday and would return and recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Email in advance and ask for the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pudding28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

Just home from another brill holiday at this great hotel, normally go in January but weather a bit mixed then so tried May, perfect ! Staff as always great,friendly and helpful. Can not fault food/drinks never had tummy problems!The only let down is evening entertainment , watchable but more outside acts would be better, too much slapstick humour,thank goodness for the banter with the bar staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyviewManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

This is our second visit to this hotel and it was as good as ever. The staff are very cheerful and helpful and can't do enough for you. The food was very varied and of a high standard. My father did get ill one day but it may have been norovirus. A few other guests we spoke to were ill on other days. We cannot fault the hotel apart from this unpleasant experience which may not be its fault.

A word of warning if you hire a car is to watch out for the police. We have driven all over the world and never had a similar experience for the minor infringement of crossing a white line. We feel it was a trap as the police car appeared out of nowhere and pulled us into a convenient layby alongside a cash machine. We were relieved of 100 Euros. It left a nasty taste in our mouth.

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swandevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

We have just returned from a week at this hotel, our first visit, and we agree fully with all the positive comments in the latest review below. The greatest asset of the hotel is all its staff, from reception, to the dining areas and bars, to the entertainment staff and the cleaners. All hardworking and with the right attitude and a ready smile. We hope to return.

Two side comments. We booked via Thomas Cook and both flights left on time and arrived early. The only negative about the holiday is that after many trips to other parts of the world over the years the Canaries still seems to suffer more than anywhere else with timeshare touts who constantly harrass you as you walk around in local resorts. Sadly most seemed to be English too. Not the hotel or Thomas Cook's fault though.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamandSueR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

We visited the Riu Vistamar at the end of April/beginning of May 2011 with my girlfriend. We are in our mid 20's and usually when we go to a European all-inclusive i find several things wrong being slightly on the grumpy side!! However the Vistamar was great, set high above the sea with fantastic views with the beach only 5 mins away in free coach provided by the hotel, the beach at Amardores is clean, blue sea and lots of cafe/restaurants round the outskirts of the beach. Buses run all day to and from which is handy.

Puerto Rico is only 4 euros in a cab and the beach and harbour are worth a visit, we went on the dolphin watch trip which is at the harbour, which was 25 euros for 2 and half hours trip.

Also 5 min walk from the hotel is a shopping center which consists of a few bars and restaurants and also a kids area if your travelling as a family, also has all major football games on which is handy.

Back to the hotel, we requested staying on the 5th floor with a sea view which was provided for us, the 5th floor is the highest floor and has great views of the big blue sea! The rooms are clean but could be more modern, also as most hotels in Europe the double bed is two singles.

The hotel is uniquely set out as your arrive on the 8th where reception is along with the restaurant and entertainment rooms. The bedrooms are on the 5th floor and below and the pools and pool bar are on the 9th. It makes the hotel really unique and it works really well in my opinion.

The 2 pools and pool bar/restaurant are very clean and staff are always cleaning up, really friendly staff and always working to make sure your in a clean environment .

The main restaurant is huge with loads of variety and different food every night, very good quality of food, when you check in you are given a eating time as there are 2 sittings! one is 6.30 and one is 8.30, so if you have a preference again it may be worth emailing the hotel like we did. Also you are given the same table for your dinner for your whole stay which is different from other hotels (hope your neighbors are nice) I would say it's 60-70% German guests.

The entertainment is very mixed, well worth watching the acrobat show but apart from that you may cringe at some of the shows productions but always busy every night so maybe it's just me!! drinks are served till midnight with cocktails all being free.

Overall a brilliant hotel and would definitely visit again if i come back to Gran Canaria.

Room Tip: Request a 5th floor room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Click4Mogman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.3 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
0.9 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#13 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#16 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Vistamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Vistamar

Property: ClubHotel Riu Vistamar
Address: Avda de la Cornisa | Playa de Mogan, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Rico
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#13 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Vistamar 4*
Number of rooms: 475
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Set on a cliff overlooking the sea * 9-story building * 900 m to the beach * Complimentary bus service to the beach * 2 km from Puerto Rico * 900 m from various shops * 45 km from the airport * 100 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Vistamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ClubHotel Riu Vistamar Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Club Hotel Riu Vistamar
Clubhotel Riu Vistamar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing