We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nido del Aguila/Lara”
Review of Apartments Lara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apartments Lara
Gorebridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nido del Aguila/Lara”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed here 30/04/2014 to 10/05/2014. The hotel rooms were nice and very clean, towels and linen changed every two days and room cleaned every day. Food was great and always something to eat. Staff were friendly and helpful.
We stayed on a very cheap deal and were pleasantly surprised at the value for money at this apartment complex. It is very high up the hillside but Europa centre is on the doorstep and taxis are cheap.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookable Holidays

Helpful?
9 Thank Sheona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    27
    22
    16
    12
See reviews for
24
40
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sham el sheik
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

just back from one week and was put in the Lara and to be honest we were so pleased bigger rooms and a quite area, food was good for what we payed, rooms cleaned each day we went A.I.Q was o.k. service was 100% and happy staff made our holiday, we will go back .

Room Tip: STAY IN THE LARA BIGGER ROOMS top pool quite area we were in 2b
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank WalesShamElSheik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

My best friend and I travelled 18th-22nd September and have just got back from our long weekend in Gran Canaria! We made 2 friends on the flight over, they were dropped of at Waik

iki after 25 mins and we then we had a further 90 mins trip up to the top of the mountain in Puerto Rico a further 25km away!

The service here was horrendous! the girl who works in the shop was always on the phone and would rather talk to her friends than serve customers! RUDE!!! There is no civilisation up at this hotel...you have to get a taxi just to get to some nightlife!! At least €4 or €5 each way! Then drinks are expensive!! The food is poor! It lacks variety and is mostly tinned/processed food! The pool looked like it hadnt been cleaned since it had been put in!

So on 19th, we transferred for 2 nights to the Riu Waikiki in playas del ingles! The reception asked us for our passports and we explained we did not have them because the apartments Lara had kept them! We were informed that they shouldn't have done that!! But the original hotel did fax over our passports so we could stay at the Waikiki! When at the Waikiki, the service was incredible and the food and drink selection was amazing! Everything is cooked freshly in front of you and there is no question about the standard/quality of the food and service you receive! The entertainment at the Waikiki was also amazing! Great variety of water sports available all day and then the evening entertainment was stunning! Very impressive! We were gutted when we had to take the long treck back to the apartment Lara and say goodbye to good food and drink and wonderful service and of course new friends!

My best friend and I have said we will return next year for longer but definitely go to the Riu Waikiki which is also rated as a 3star but is more like a 5star!!!! The Riu Waikiki is in close proximity to the beach, bars and shopping centre and is really the place EVERYONE should try to stay in!

On check out at the apartments Lara, we were asked to fill in a questionnaire about our stay, the security guard, hovered over us but this did not change the way we rated the "hotel" but after we had filled it out, the staff were obviously talking about what had been written because the were whispering in Spanish and looking over at myself and my friend! It made us feel uncomfortable!

We asked for an early breakfast on departure as our transfer coach was leaving before breakfast began! The toaster did not work, the dial had been taken off, there was no cooked breakfast, just cakes and croissants!! So we had to get a Burger King at the airport!! Further costs incurred to us through the incompetence of one hotel!!! Although to end on a positive, the highlight if this hotel was the toffee ice cream and banana sauce to make banoffee ice cream :)

DO NOT STAY AT THE APARTMENTS LARA!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StefanieandJanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Rico hotels

Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just come back after a week there, I have to say food was plentiful and edible and not to bad at all, cleanliness not the best in the rooms and we had an infestation of cockroaches in our room and the woman really didn't want to move us it was only when other residents overheard that she eventually agreed to move us:-( nothing is free u pay for wifi and ur safe in ur room there is no air con so very warm and humid at night:-( all inclusive finishes at 1030pm and then u have to pay for ur drinks 5 euro for 2drinks. We had a laugh though with the other residents weather was fantastic and the pools were clean if u wanted a mattress for ur sunbed u had to pay 2euro a day cheaper to buy a lilo which we did! We wouldn't stay there again due to the cockroaches in the room but I have to say the 2nd room was spotless:-)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annamaher1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed at Lara for a week with my boyfriend in August 2013 and had a rubbish time from start to finish. Firstly when we booked the holiday we paid £80 extra to get a balcony and upon arrival realised that every room had a balcony or terrace. We were also told that the hotel was '200m from the beach' when in actual fact you had to go down 836 stairs (yes we counted) to get there. We were all inclusive but only actually ate in the hotel a handful of times as I am vegetarian and the only option for me most nights was chips, but my boyfriend who does eat meat said it was all crap anyway and he would prefer to eat out even though we had paid to eat at the hotel. The hotel bar also closed at 10:30 each night and you were refused drinks as soon as the clock hit 10:31 despite being already in the queue. The hotel was just across the road from a centre filled with bars and restaurants that blared music until 1am so it was impossible to get an early night for travelling the next day. And lastly the hotel had no air-con and so we had to sleep with the window open all night letting all sorts of insects in. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone or stay there myself ever again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. I generally wouldn't recommend Puerto Rico at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielleMacdo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The airport transfer was horrendous, it took 3 hours insteaf of the promised 45 minutes! The hotel receptionist was the nicest part of the holiday. The dining room was horrid there were no space between chairs. The food was terrible and the all inclusive times were a joke. The pools were filthy and full of cigarette hash. Overall disgusted and will never return. Cost a fortune to eat elsewhere too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

for the money great value if you want 5 star go to gloria palace if you want a good hot sunny break by a pool then your here i stayed in nido apts beach is pleasant walk 20 mins downhill lol i just love puerto rico visit mogan you must go to loro park tenerife it is sensational day out but tiring

Room Tip: all the same pool 20 metres away
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
#35 of 68 in Puerto Rico
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#14 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maracaibo Aparthotel
Maracaibo Aparthotel
#20 of 68 in Puerto Rico
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Servatur Canaima Apartments
Servatur Canaima Apartments
#45 of 68 in Puerto Rico
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Palmera Mar
Apartamentos Palmera Mar
#31 of 68 in Puerto Rico
421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#17 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Lara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Lara

Property: Apartments Lara
Address: Calle Timanfaya 1, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartments Lara 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartments Lara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Lara Hotel Puerto Rico
Apartments Lara Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing