We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boat Tour” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Afrikat

Afrikat
Ranked #1 of 18 Tours in Puerto Rico
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: All Inclusive fun and relaxing Boat trip leaving from Puerto Base, Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria. 5 hour catamaran excursion with maximum of 35 passengers onboard, each with their own sun cushion. Includes self service buffet (meatballs with satay sauce, Canarian potatoes, salads and bread) and drinks (beer, sangria, soft drinks and water). Swimming in the bay of El Perchel, a speedboat ride to see the stunning coastline and get up close to the sea caves, try snorkelling (we have equipment for you to use free of charge) and also jet-skis, parasailing and banana boat at special discounted prices. Daytime from 10,00-15,00 and Sunset also available. Our Summer programme also includes 3 hour fun cruises. We speak English, Spanish, Dutch, German and Danish, Swedish and Norwegian. Transport included from most areas. Book online for 10% discount.Afrikat Catamaran Cruises are in the business of creating memories to last a lifetime. The difference in service that you receive with Afrikat Catamaran is no accident...... we purposely limit our capacity to just 35 spaces, to ensure that everyone sailing with us receives our absolute attention. We are a small family owned and operated business - our Dutch and English husband and wife team, Potter & Wendie, have traveled the world before settling in Gran Canaria, and have brought their values of excellent customer service with them - our commitment and dedication to making sure that everyone joining us has an amazing time shine through on a daily basis. Add to that our attentive crew, Javier, Pepe Guanchi, Pedro & Willem, speaking a total of 7 languages , we ensure that an international market is made to feel at home.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Boat Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We loved this tour. the views were amazing and the food and drink were lovely.
The only con would be they do a 2 hour boat swimming stop and that's it. we were expecting more than one swimming stop.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank fae3331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrikat-Gran-Canaria, Owner at Afrikat, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Afrikat.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us, especially the food and drinks.

We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations regarding the swim stop, we always go to one bay for swimming.

We hope that we can welcome you onboard again soon.

Kindest regards from the Afrikat team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    608
    66
    6
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent experience, and friednly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We came here as birthday surprise from my girlfriend. The staff was very frindly, which totally makes the experience. Plently of drinks, and food. Great quality of the boat, clean and comfortable. Right size of the group so you have enough space to relax and have a great time. They got us champagne to celebrate. Totally recommed it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gerardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrikat-Gran-Canaria, Owner at Afrikat, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Afrikat.

We are so pleased that you shared you celebration with us, and had an excellent experience onboard. We will pass your lovely comments to the captain & crew.

We hope to see you onboard again soon.

Kindest regards from the Afrikat team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

What a great day out, as others have said. Potter the Captain makes sure everyone is well looked after, he is a lovely guy. His wife Wendie picked us up at out hotel and dropped us back off. Tried out the jetskies, fantastic! Great lunch, brilliant day out. Highly recommend. Thank you Potter and Wendie. From your haggis loving freinds, Billy & Pamela (Anderson) x

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Och-I-The-Noo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrikat-Gran-Canaria, Owner at Afrikat, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for your Afrikat review.

We are so pleased that you had an outstanding experience with us, and especially enjoyed the lunch and the jet skis.

We hope to see you again onboard, the next time when you visit Gran Canaria.

Kindest regards from the Afrikat team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aintree, Liverpool
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't miss this when in Puerto Rico, just superb.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We'd had a not so good start to our stay in Puerto Rico, couldn't get the place and our hotel had a few issues. I'd been out on the superb Blue Marlin 3 ( don't confuse with other charters or businesses in the area, ask for Andy and Moski!) fishing and they had recommended this large, well kept Catamaran. My wife spoke to the ticket seller, Willem, who was very friendly, none pushy and told us all about the activities that could be had whilst on board, my Wife had never been para-sailing, so when that was mentioned I knew we were going. We didn't have enough cash with us there and then for a deposit, but Willem booked us on the trip by taking my cell phone number, again, he wasn't pushy.

On return to our hotel, we tripadvisor'd the attraction and checked their website out, we paid online immediately when we read all the great things said about this day out. Soon after booking, we received a text message from the lovely Wendie ( Wife of the Legend that is Potter) confirming our booking and that she had spoke to Willem to avoid double booking. Reading some of the tips on tripadvisor, it is best to arrive 30 minutes early if you can, as Afrikat collects people and brings them quay side. We were second in the queue and had a wonderful spot in between the bows of the catamaran on a giant cushion. Potter is the captain of the ship, he is fluent in many languags, he took time to make sure we were ok, was always very friendly and explained the rules whilst on board. There was a really chilled out feeling as we headed out of Puerto Rico and made our way up past Mogan, drinks were all free, the first couple are served to you and then you are self service, I didn't want to move as it was so comfy and relaxed! My only tiny criticism is that the PA on board could be better, but with a new craft coming up in the future, I am sure Potter will have this sorted.
We arrived at this little bay, RiB rides were organised, jet ski made available, food readied and people made welcome, we had asked Potter if he would assist my wife in snorkelling as she was very nervous about her face being in the water. Potter had her wear a lifejacket and spent 10-15 minutes swimming with her until her confidence had grown, letting her go when he could see she was ok, she hadn't realised she was swimming unaided. Whilst snorkelling, the crew through bread in, at one time the whole underside of the catamaran was covered with Boga, Bream, Bluefish, an odd small Barracuda and other fish too deep down to identify, it was that clear. We took a ride on the RiB, this lasts about 15-20 minutes and is part of the excursion.

The time came to leave, and we cruised back to Puerto Rico, sticking our nose in Mogan on the way past, we were told it was too choppy/windy to parasail today, and our payment for this was offered back, we declined and took the other option of going up first thing the following morning. The music played wasn't cheesy, it suited the happy, relaxed mood on the boat and Potter's jokes and antics kept everyone amused.

We dis-embarked and were told to be at the harbour the following morning at 10, we complied and we were greeted like old friends and finally got to achieve another dream for my wife, to para-sail.

To sum this attraction up, the food is good, not five star but very nice, drinks are all included, what makes this attraction so good is the passion and drive displayed by not just Potter, Wendie and Willem, all the crew could not do enough to help. Potter/Wendie, from the bottom of our hearts, thank you for a wonderful day out, alongside the Blue Marlin 3 guys, you made an average holiday one to remember, good luck with the new boat, never lose that passion and spark, you're amazing. Kev and Wendy, Liverpool

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrikat-Gran-Canaria, Owner at Afrikat, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Afrikat.

We are so pleased that you had such a wonderful experience with us and that it was a highlight of your holiday, especially overcoming your fear of snorkelling in the sea.

We will pass your lovely comments to all of the team, and we hope to see you again, next time that you are visiting Gran Canaria.

Kindest regards from the Afrikat team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gore, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice day trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Was a really nice day out, the staff that greet you are very friendly. Stat the trip with a gentle cruise up the coast of the island, saw some flying fish. When you get to a small bay we went snorkelling , there were lots of fish but of the same species, water was very clear, u can swim for as long as u like. We then paid 25€ for a jet ski ride! this lasted around 10 15mins, was fun! Lunch was ok. Not great but ok. Potatoes and meatballs were practically cold but still nice. As many cold drinks as you like! There was other options of activities but we just lay in the sun. Was a nice cruise back to the harbour. Great day out

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachel661412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrikat-Gran-Canaria, Owner at Afrikat, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Afrikat.

We are happy that you enjoyed your experience with us, and enjoyed both the activities and relaxing in the sunshine. Our apologies that your lunch was not served hot for you.

We hope that we will welcome you again on board one day soon.

Kindest regards from the Afrikat team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Afrikat also viewed

 
Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
 

Been to Afrikat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing