We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They really are lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guanabara Park Apartments
Ranked #52 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“They really are lovely”
Reviewed August 5, 2008

Stayed at the Guanabara Park apartments in July with my husband and our 5 year old boy. The location was fine only around 15 minutes to the beach which is fine walking downhill, even managed to walk back up a few times. It really isn’t that bad. Pleasant walk in the evenings.
The swimming pool is also fine.
The restaurants in the resort were ok, very hostile hosts, the worse I’ve seen abroad, one of them told us they get 1 Euro for each person they get in, so that probably explains it all. They would shake your hand and try and pull you in.
The prices were ok between 9 and 13 Euro for a main meal.
Not a smile in sight, didn't feel very welcome. I got the impression that the Gran Canarians were not keen on the British at all.
The beach is tiny, not for beach lovers. We went to Amadores beach but found the water very misty.
If I was ever to return to Puerto Rico I’d stay at Guanabara again as there’s a lot worse out there. If anything they are probably one of the most decent ones to stay in.
No cockroaches in apartments, seen a few outside but only found one in our bathroom as the bathroom window was left open by the chambermaid. As long as you keep your windows closed there’s no way for them to get in.

  • Liked — Location, cleanness, pool, Elvis guy
  • Disliked — All the steps to get to the pool, Elvis guy
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dickson1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    75
    44
    20
    19
See reviews for
58
92
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
warwickshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2008

hi me and my partner stayed here in july with my little brother(age12),was ok but not the best didnt arrive till very late at night travel rep to the park was not very helpfull only about the bad point to watch out for,rooms are very clean and big and we had the best view of the harbour,pool is very clean didnt think it was that big but was ok,bad point is the taxi you have to get one from top to bottom only costs and average of 3 euro but over a week 4 times a day cost a lot as for the beach ok sea cold too cold not swimming material,stayed buy pools most days as was not much else to do so if you like to relax 24/7 its ok but for a 12year old he got really bored so did we overal had good time but was glad to come home after a week.Plus if you do go down the beach beware of the men in the shops oh my god they hassle you to buy camaras and electrical items which is really annoying so we avoided the beach in the day places to eat well there is a few all the same just some charge more than others we ate everynight in same place as they had open top,live singer and the people were very friendly and meals which were massive on average of 5euros and was well worth it.Overall had good time but would not stay there again as on a total of 3 we spent £450 which is a lot as its ment to be cheap but as nothing to do you waste your money to keep entertained.Oh and pigeons are everywhere and thats no joke.

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — waiting hours for the recepsionists!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lilsam20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2008

Having visited the Guanabara Park in June 2005 I knew what to expect, but having read some of the recent review's I was a bit concerned. The apartments hadn't changed one little bit. They are very basic but very clean and certainly big enough for 2. The pool area is very clean and big enough. As for people saying about the cockroaches, the place is not overrun with them, we saw 1, but they are all over the island, not just at the Guanabara park ! The entertainment rep had changed since we were last there and it has to be said he leaves a lot be desired, we didn't spend much time there.

The whole island was very quiet, apparently if easter is early, June is always quiet. There are a lot of steps both inside the apartment blocks and down to the harbour & commercial centre, but on a plus because you are so high up the views are really nice. A taxi to the harbour is only 3 euro's and 4 euro's to the Commercial Centre (which is where most of the restaurants are). One restaurant which is lovely is San Miguel's, there is always a queue but you dont have to wait anymore that 15 minutes usually... Food is lovely and staff are really nice.

If you are looking for a cheap week away you would do a lot worse than The Guanabara Park. This was my 4th time to Puerto Rico and I will definately be going back but will be looking to stay at the Marina Suite apts or the Terrazamar Suites which are both a little more expensive but are both supposed to be fab..

Hope this helps

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Spotlight-ahaaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2008

Arriving at night we were very tired and at the top of a hill, in the morning we woke up and looked out to what we thought looked like a building sight next to us and thought oh no!!! We went to our rep meeting and got talking and eventually found our feet the first day. We had an absolute amazing time at this apartment, the rooms were so clean and tidy, the best bit for me was bbq night, they had this every wedensday and the food was delicious. The beaches were gorgeous, restaurants were fab, bars were very good. You need to jump in to a taxi and head to Europa, too far to walk. lots of fun stuff to do there. If you are heading to this apartment you have no worries at all, you will not be disappointed, especially by the staff, they are so welcoming and would be more than happy to help, have plenty of entertainment going on also. Enjoy!!

Stayed July 2003
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, UK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2008

Stayed here for a week 7th to 14th April and although the weather was not great my boyfriend and I had a great time. Guanabara Park Apartments are basic but very clean and quiet and well worth the money we paid. We have been to Puerto Rico before and seen plenty of purported 2/3* apartments a lot worse than these!

On arrival it is not the most impressive-looking reception area but the staff were very friendly and quick checking us in.

On getting to our apartment we found a bottle of water waiting, a bowl of nice sweets on the table (promptly eaten!), a small basket of toiletries near the sink (containing travel-size shampoo & shower gel, tissues, sponge, shoe-shine kit) and another kit containing washing up liquid and a scourer sponge.

We did not cook at the apartments as we always eat out when on holiday but would say that the facilities are adequate for basic meals. There is no oven or microwave, only two electric hob rings to cook on. Apartments contain:- fridge; toaster; kettle; frying pan; two saucepans; a juicer; and enough plates, bowls, glasses, cups, knives, forks and spoons for four people.

Beds were a bit hard but surprisingly comfy. Sofa bed in lounge had a pull-out bed underneath it. Wardrobe had a safe inside it and some clothes hangers to use. TV is available for rent.

Balcony was large and had the sun all day. It had a table and four chairs and a large clothes airer. The best thing was the beautiful view of the harbour from our balcony!

There is an on-site supermarket, laundry room and internet access point. We did not use these but ask at reception and they will direct you.

We welcomed the "hilly" trek down to the harbour every day as it helped build up an appetite but, as everyone else has said, it is not suitable for people who are not very mobile. In fact, not many apartment complexes are in Puerto Rico. Tip is if you are in any way immobile, do your homework on the choice of apartments before you book! Taxi was 3euros down to the harbour. There is no lift at these apartments.

The pool was, like the rest of the place, immaculately clean with lots of sunbeds. The pool bar staff were very friendly (beer 3euros a pint). The on-site restaurant was cheap and surprisingly very good. I had fillet mignon, other half had a T-bone with all the trimmings, and both were tastier and better than steaks we had had at other more expensive local restaurants! Paul the entertainment guy did a good job despite the apartments being half empty meaning he did not really have an audience. Missed his Elvis act but was told that this was a good show.

I would not hesitate to come here again but would not pay through the nose for it. As I said, Guanabara Park Apartments are basic, in a quiet hilly location and very clean (much cleaner than a lot of other similarly rated Puerto Rico hotels) and great for families or couples or groups of friends.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and view from balcony
  • Disliked — Not enough people staying here in April!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidaysRock11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2008

I am not going to write about the need to be fit and able to walk up and down hills or steps except the hills can be catered for by taxi at 3Euros a shot; the steps cant be down to the apartments and could cause problems if you are not mobile. We are reasonable fit and the walk up and down to the harbour was pleasant for an evening stroll.
The apartments were spotlessly clean on arrival and were kept clean for the week by the staff who seem to do all their work when we were out - we never really saw them never mind disturbing us at all through the day. What we did like was the little touches for our arrival, like a small bottle of wine, a bottle of water so you had something to keep you going overnight, a small pack of washing up liquid and scourer and like a hotel, freebies of shampoo etc. No this does not make the holiday but was a nice touch.

The views from the balcony looked down into Puerto Rico to the harbour and was pleasant although we had a tree on a patio in front of our balcony which was a bit in the way but you can hardly complain about that. The pool was clean and sunbeds available with a bar and friendly staff. The standard of the accommodation was not luxury but we paid far from luxury prices, this was a week in the sun which is exactly what we had. The apartments in March time were very quiet again which is what we wanted and as we are not socialites but this can be obtained by going down into the town if required, just not for us. We have one complaint however the mattresses on the beds were on the hard side.

Puerto Rico was not claimed as the nicest resort in our travel guide but to be honest it was equivalent if not better than some of the others we visited as we hired a car during our stay. It is worth going to Puerto Mogan just down the coast, we went by boat which was relatively cheap and a little bit different. Mogan is very pleasant. The other place we went worthy of note was the Barranco de Guayadeque, this is definitely a hire car trip as it is down about a 5 mile cul de sac. You pass some cave homes that some of the local inhabitants live in which were astonishing and the people so friendly but at the end of the road you eventually come to a bar/restaurant set into the hillside which I found amazing and the food and drink was not that expensive. I felt a little like a hobbit when I went to the restaurant, it was just so different. The only other place I would recommend a visit to, is a sea food meal at Puerto de las Nieves which was superb, we also went to look at Puerto Sardina which was recommended but we found it disappointing. I have rambled on a bit but those of you contemplating Guanabara Park don't expect luxury and yes it would be better if they spent a bit of money on it but it was adequate and very clean. Would I go again, yes without any hesitation.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and peaceful, good views
  • Disliked — Veryhard mattresses on thebeds
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 165237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2008

A girlfriend and me decided to have a girly holiday. We have just returned from a week at the Guanabara apartments . We had looked though other reviews and were a bit worried.....but it was brill, the apartments them selves were clean and tidy, and had spectacular views, we only saw 2 cockroaches the whole time, one of which died instantly!
We really wanted a break from family and work. We didn't want to go out partying, so this really was ideal. As others have said it is a bit of a walk into the town but a taxi was only a few euros, most nights we walked down and got a taxi back.
there was plenty of lovely restaurants and places to drink, with very lovely staff. The hotel food we didn't think that much of but we did a food shop in the spar( cheaper than nettos) and had very good lunches at the apartment,
The pool at the hotel was warm and spacious with many sun beds, again with amazing views. The bar was always in use and although a bit expensive served a good cocktail, and some nights we even got a couple of freebies!!!! The entertainments was a bit Butlins, but your aren't gonna get top range at a 2 star place. we only watched 1 show and that was enough for us!!
I cant remember the name of the bar we went to but its near the Irish bar where they have a 2 pints for 3 euros(4pm-6pm) and yummy food! we went there everyday! its above a restaurant near the pier!
All the staff at the apartments were really helpful and very friendly. i even left my phone in the room and the maids gave it to the front desk and are sending it to me!!!
Our only one complaint was that we really wanted some traditional tapas which none of the restaurants did!!!! being in Spain we thought that was all we would eat, but apart from that we would go there again and again.

One quick thing don't get a Taxi from the airport is works out to 50euro get the number 1 bus, just as quick and about 6 euros each!!!! Hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did!

  • Liked — Views and own space
  • Disliked — No tapas and steep hill
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank overthemoonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.1 mi away
Natural Park Apartments
Natural Park Apartments
#35 of 68 in Puerto Rico
86 reviews
0.7 mi away
Heliomar Apartments
Heliomar Apartments
#30 of 68 in Puerto Rico
60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Miriam Apartments
Miriam Apartments
#26 of 68 in Puerto Rico
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Maracaibo Aparthotel
Maracaibo Aparthotel
#22 of 68 in Puerto Rico
450 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carlota Apartments
Carlota Apartments
#28 of 68 in Puerto Rico
265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cabau Cala D'Or
Cabau Cala D'Or
#18 of 68 in Puerto Rico
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guanabara Park Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guanabara Park Apartments

Property: Guanabara Park Apartments
Address: Calle Pechos 2, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Hotel Class:2 star — Guanabara Park Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guanabara Park Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guanabara Park Apartments Hotel Gran Canaria
Guanabara Park Apartments Grand Canary
Guanabara Park Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing