We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday 25/9/13 - 9/10/13”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Servatur Puerto Azul
Ranked #20 of 70 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“holiday 25/9/13 - 9/10/13”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We arrived at the puerto azul around 1pm, check in was easy , reception staff was nice.

Our room was basic but spotless, had plenty of space, large balcony with table 4 chairs and 2 sun loungers and had a great view of the sea. (floor 2, room 5601) .

the pool area is large and plenty of beds , you did get the usual people reserving beds but there was always loads free. the kids pool was fab for my 4yr old. .there was no day time actvities for adults , the odd water polo and water fitness but no games . my man was bored. We didnt go into the adults area as we had a kid with us but it looked great and everyone that was in it said it was great.

The pool snack bar was good the usual foods but nice and fresh.(12-5pm) you help yourself to drinks , beer, wine sangria.. ...

We where ALL INC . the restaurant was nice , kept clean... the food was ok.. they always had a chef cooking fresh meats etc at the back of the room , the breakfasts were not up to much but lunch n dinner was good. We did eat out alot though ... if we couldnt afford to the hotel meals would have been fine.

althought when you arrive the make you choose a dinner sitting 1st is 630pm-745pm next is 8pm- 930pm you are meant to go to the same sitting through out your stay and show a card when arriving, which i found annoying, so i pretended to loose the card and went when we felt like it.... no one said anything...

Now the only thing that we felt let it down was the entertainment ... the shows that they put on were actually ok its the way its done.... 730pm-8pm is kids mini disco then you need to wait untill 9pm for a show or bingo with no music to listen to so the atmosphere lacked ... and if there wasnt a 9pm show we had to wait till 10pm for the adult entertainment again no music so it could get pretty dull.... we did go out alot but that was our choice... bar closed at 11pm .

kids play park -poor not much in in.
staff- nice
kids club was great my girl love nina and melissa so a big thank you to them :)

We had a great holiday and met amazing people . i would stay here again my partner would not.

(((i have pics to upload .. will do at a later date ...)))

after reading some reviews we did almost rethink our choice, but im glad we didnt... we had a nice time, no problems, everything went smooth... The weather was perfect as always in GC ...

I LOVE GC SO I WILL BE BACK being coming here for 10 years the place is great...

L x

Room Tip: our room was good floor 2 number 5601.... great for reaching kids club and pool.... far away so u d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    651
    350
    145
    110
See reviews for
711
609
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We returned from this hotel on Monday 7th October after spending 14 days there.

Our check in was very efficient and we found our room without any problem. It was spotlessly clean and very spacious.There was an upright fan in the bedroom which we found sufficient. The bed was comfy and we had beautiful views of the beach and the harbour. Big balcony which was very private. It had 2 sun loungers and table and chairs. Rooms were cleaned 5 out of 7 days and bedding and towels changed regularly. They charged 5 euros per person per week and a 10 euro deposit. Well worth it. We hired a safe for the 2 weeks for a cost of 20 euros. Also well worth the peace of mind.

We hired towels for the sunbed, and were able to change them for clean ones at Reception.

The food was all very well presented and the chefs took a great pride in their work. It was always replenished quickly. Many nationalities were catered for. We enjoyed the snack bar for lunch. There was always plenty of choice in the restaurant, and all food was clearly labelled.

We found the staff to be very pleasant, and extremely hard working and all of them seemed to take a pride in their work.

The pool areas were all lovely. Plenty of sunbeds and the reserving of them was not allowed.

We particularly liked the adult only area with a lovely new jacuzzi over looking the town and the ocean. Pretty idyllic really. Children were swiftly removed and it was clearly pointed out to their parents they were not allowed in there.

Drinks were of a decent quality. The soft drinks, juice, beer and wine were self service, this cut down on the queuing at the bar.

Just something to remember though.... there are 2 dinner sittings, if you go on the late one, you will struggle to get a seat afterwards in the bar.

Wasn't so keen on the evening entertainment, however, we went to the Europa Centre most nights for a few drinks.

Had a lovely meal in the El Torro Negro in the Europa Centre, very reasonably priced too. There is nightly entertainment on in the Barbacoa bar, with tribute acts on. Good atmosphere.

All in all a lovely enjoyable time. Remember the location is on a cliff.. there are over 700 steps to the beach, but I loved the views. Taxis were cheap and there is a rank right outside the hotel.

I liked Peurto Rico very much.Plenty of shops bars and restaurants.A long downhill walk mind you! Stunning views everywhere. My only negative was that people were trying to pull you into their restaurants and bars, they were pretty relentless. It didn't spoil our holiday though.

We travelled with Jet2.com. Found them to be very efficient and will definitely use them again. Plenty of leg room on the plane too.

Would definitely recomment this hotel. We paid around £750 each for 2 weeks. A good 3 star hotel which was very well maintained. Thank you Peurto Azul for a lovely relaxing time.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1502. Lovely views of the whole town, beach and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ramsfans3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We spent 7 days here (22/09/2013 to the 29/09/2013) , After reading a few reviews on tripadvisor we were a little worried about what it would be like but it was perfect, food was fantastic entertainment was great, rooms were nice and cleaned daily the only thing letting it down was there was no air con in the rooms. Don't be fooled by some reviews it appears they are people paying for a 3/4 star hotel expecting a 5 star. If you want a nice affordable family holiday this is the place, pools were cleaned everyday there is even a 18+ pool should you want to get away from all the kids.

Room Tip: See if there are any rooms with A/C as some rooms don't have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shortynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We arrived at the Puerto Azul at 22.30 to be greeted by a very friendly receptionist who directed us straight to the dining room for supper and then to our room. Our room was on the entrance/pool level as I had requested this in advance to avoid using lifts. The apartment was amazing clean well appointed spacious massive balcony with table and chairs and two sun loungers. The beds were very comfortable with lovely soft pillows, but the best was to come in the morning when you walk out onto the balcony, the view is stunning straight out to the ocean. I visited with my partner and sixteen month old daughter and we were well looked after by all the staff each one amazing they all work so hard espescially the dining room staff who were fantastic with my daughter. The food is fab tasty plentiful and varied both in the restaurant and in the pool bar for lunch. The pool area is brill with loads of sunbeds the adult area with the jacuzzi is amazing. We also found the evening entertainment to be really good and the drinks great to the self service saves on queueing. Puerto Rico is a lovely resort with some fantastic restaurants and bars I would highly recommend restaurante Venezia on the beach in Puerto Rico the best mixed grill i've ever eaten. Amadores beach is beautiful as well with lovely restaurants. All in all the resort is fantastic but the hotel made this holiday was totally surprised after reading the negative reviews. Big thank you to all the amazing staff who work tirelessly to ensure everyone enjoys there holiday. Will definately be returning as this is the best all inclusive i've ever been to.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors (pool level) are amazing and have fabulous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank matt1983_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We asked for a top floor apartment and we got one, amazing view, the adult only area was blissful, the lifeguard chased out the odd child who entered, the Jacuzzi was excellent overlooking the sea and the town of Puerto Rico. The food was lovely plenty of choice with, and if you didn't fancy the restaurant there was the snack bar, we never used this so cant comment. The drinks were spot on help yourself to lager/pop spirits were behind the bar and these weren't watered down and included some top brands.The entertainment was a bit lacking but were notinterested in that. The apartment was spot on with tea/coffe making facilities fridge etc. plenty of space, however I must say the beds were rock hard and the pillows to soft and had plastic mattress protectors apart from that we had a fantastic time & and the weather was absolutely fantastic

Room Tip: Just be aware that this hotel is situated on a very steep hill. even walking downhill is quite stren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fragglerock64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Down
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Excellent Holiday - Main reason due to our lovely hotel, Puerto Azul. Couldnt believe how nice it was.

We had a brilliant room - great size, room facilities were good, nice decor, modern. fridge & all kitchen equipment. Safe available to rent. What was amazing was our view - right out on to the ocean - I think most rooms or all rooms have a sea view. It was lovely. Even better - balconies were big with chairs and table and 2 sunbeds which was a nice bonus. Room we had got sun most of the day. Very happy with the room. 5806 i think - close to the pool.

Place was clean, workers were very efficient & professional - kept everything in order at restaurant and pool bar. absolutely no problems.

food and drink were quite good. Usual all inclusive options in restaurant etc (know what to expect) - with a few added fancy things eg smoothies one morning & chocolate fountain one evening - things like that. We had no problems. Drinks were self service at restaurant and at the bar - which was great!beer, 3 types wine and soft drinks. Spirits were served by bar man who was bubbly & happy all of the time.

Pools were excellent. lots of space when we were there (wasnt 100% full). there is an adults area which in my opinion is fabulous!! sunbeds and a jacuzzi where you could lie and look right down on to puerto rico. class!!! also, there is a lovely massage therapist there & you can book a massage (at a cost) it is definitely recommended!!!!!!!

location of the hotel is good - we knew what to expect. it is at the top and there are 700 steps down to the beach and surrounding areas. we knew that before we booked and were happy enough. tough enough walk for anyone who has difficulty with steps/hills. but taxis 3-4 euro each way. and the europa centre is just up the hill (steep hill) - bars shops and restaurants. good thing about the location of the hotel is the view. we didnt mind the walking. (we didnt actually walk up the steps, just down!!!!!)

Some people say the entertainment isnt up to scratch but i actually enjoyed most of it - it really is about relaxing over a wee drink or two in the evenings & it was nice to watch what was going on each evening. usual things - bingo, dancing, magic shows, bird shows - acts coming in to do it.
2 of the evenings we went out for a dander round the main shopping centre and europa. (there was football on tv!!!)

Great resort - would definitely return to it. nice beach and main shopping centre with bars shops and restaurants and also the europa centre. theres mini golf and beach activities and plenty of boat excursions etc. we took a bus to arguineguin (maybe not spelt right) to go to a weekly market - tuesdays. and we got the boat to a local harbour port mogan which was nice. we also walked along the promenade from puerto rico to amadores and it was lovely. lovely place.


all in all - we had 100% a positive experience in this hotel. Would recommend it & would love to return!!!!!!!!!!!

Well done to the staff and management at this hotel - a really good effort and we were really impressed with it all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A-Smith19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

just returned back from 10 days we arrived at 22.20 we found our room o.k and was told there would be something to eat at 22.30 so we dropped our bags off and went in search of food. This was sandwhich and a cold drink. we went to the bar at 22.58 and was told bar was about to close but we did get a drink. Adult area was great plenty of sunbeds and jacuzzi was great. We found evening entertainment a let down silly acts and loads of kids running around. Food was goods always plenty of choice.Not sure if would return to this hotel or Puerto Rico and found whole resort dirty and unkept

Room Tip: we had room 4406 hotel in front of us but we could see the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.6 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,934 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
0.5 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#16 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#12 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#13 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Servatur Puerto Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Servatur Puerto Azul

Property: Servatur Puerto Azul
Address: Avenida La Cornisa 13, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Servatur Aparthotel Puerto Azul)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Servatur Puerto Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Servatur Puerto Azul hotel, with a 3 star category, is located between the beaches of Amadores and Puerto Rico. Built on a cliff top, with a privileged situation over the ocean, providing spectacular views. Servatur Puerto Azul provides 385 units, totally equipped, as well as different bars and a restaurant where you can enjoy international and canarian cuisine. Servatur Puerto Azul has two swimming pools (one heated during winter months), large sun lounge with complimentary sun beds and sunshades, a relaxation area with jacuzzi, gardens, sport areas and children playgrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Servatur Puerto Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Servatur Aparthotel Puerto Azul Hotel Puerto Rico
Puerto Azul Aparthotel Rico
Puerto Azul Gran Canaria
Puerto Azul Aparthotel Hotel Rico
Servatur Puerto Azul Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing