We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good budget option, ticks a lot of boxes.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Servatur Puerto Azul
Ranked #24 of 67 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Having read the very mixed reviews, like many, we were apprehensive before arriving to say the least! Well, we breathed a HUGE sigh of relief when we got there.... For us the plus points:

- Views over the sea from our terrace = amazing - could watch the sunset each night while we ate and drank dinner.
- Apartment clean and spacious for 3 people sharing,
- Pool area big and quiet on the first day (although was noisier and busier with kids on other days)
-Adult only area an absolute blessing when the pool did get a little over-run with kids (great fun for families I'm sure but as childless twentysomethings we preferred the peace and quiet!) -although shame there was no pool in this area
- Within reasonable walking distance (if you are active and don't mind 700 steps and a bit of a coastal path!) from a lovely beach in Amadores.
-Staff helpful with various requests - even lent us towels on the last day so we could spend our last hours by the pool post check-out.

Minus points:

-Personally Puerto Rico doesn't do much for me as an area. Masopalomas looked like a nicer area when we went through on the bus. Restaurants all serving similar bland pizza & pasta and nightlife a bit dreary out of season. We preferred the company of friends our terrace overlooking the sea!
- We were self-catered and I am pleased we made this decision as the buffet at lunchtime did not look massively appealing to us to be honest.
- No air con - we knew this was the case but were surprised how hot it got even at night in October. But we just had doors and windows open and fan on and it wasn't too bad.
-Pool not always the cleanest looking but then when you've got that many people in and out all wearing suncream and oils etc that's to be expected I suppose.

Overall it's clearly a budget option so you can't ever expect too much but at the end of the day it had everything we wanted - terrace with a sew view, big pool, walkable (or cheap taxi) to beach.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lkr86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,918)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,087 - 1,093 of 1,918 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

Like most was slightly apprehensive due the bad reviews. Arrived late at night but check in was no problem though, and cold platters available to eat. Lovely room overlooking the sea on the west side meant watching the sunset at night from our balcony was amazing. Room was basic but clean and had everything that is needed. No air con, which we knew about, but hot at night and a bit difficult to get a good sleep. The usual gripe about having to pay for TV channels and a safe when we had paid AI. Food was excellent for an AI buffet style. Smoothies at breakfast, and tapa's at night where some of the highlights. All the staff where friendly and very busy, i'm sure they could have had more staff to help.
Best aspect was the adults only area, sunbathing with terrific views over the sea and the town meant a quiet and relaxing time during the day, only criticism was the jacuzzi's not working and the adult area not open until 0930hrs. Not much room in the main pool area, would be a bit of a squeeze and very noisy if max occupancy.
Nightime area not very good, just the pool bar and seating area with the evening entertainment, no other bar or loungs area to sit and drink/relax in ( the lobby bar was closed)
I heard that the place was going all AI, which is good as it seemed that most regardless of what they had paid for where free to help themselves to food and drink all day.
If your used to oppulant hotels with porters, swanky rooms, and a la carte dining then you will be dissapointed, but thats not what you pay for in this place. It is a nice hotel at a good price, with stunning views and a place to relax
Final point, we booked transfer with Urbis transfers (viaje urbis). Picked up 5 hrs prior to flight time! not a good end to the holiday, paid for a transfer not an island tour visiting every hotel, please try and avoid this company when booking your transfer

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aldoigy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just back from holiday here as a couple! Had an absolutely amazing time and cannot fault the hotel at all. We arrived late at night due to flight delay. Lady on reception was really helpful and welcoming and offered us a late night snack. Room was completely spotless and spacious. Pool area was very clean and adult area extremely peaceful and close to the pool if you wanted a swim. Bar staff were friendly and helpful. The food in the restraunt was very good, different every meal time and a big range to choose from. Staff in the restaunt also very attentive and friendly. Entertainment during the day and at night was not too bad, there was something for everyone! Met some very nice people here too. Overall Puerto Azul made our holiday amazing. Have been on all inclusive holidays for the past 15 years and think this is the best would definately return!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JohnStacie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Well I've been to Puerto Rico a few times and it is stunning...like everyone I read the reviews on the Puerto azul.some good some bad..each to their own opinion !!! On arrival there was a huge queue of holiday makers and just one staff on reception dealing with all holiday makers..that annoyed me to start.then a British holiday maker passed with friends and made the comment " welcome to hell " and laughed ..I thought how rudne..anyway our room was spacious and clean.BREAKFAST was cabbage ,chips,sprouts,along with vile bacon under cooked eggs and usual cereal etc...then poolside snacks was the left over chips from breakfast hotdogs,burgers,salad from breakfast burnt pizza and tastes..the place was full of pigeons flying around as you ate..pigeons on the tables as you ate absolutely unhygienic ..LUNCH was goat,bull ,all left overs from the day was put into chef special salad ,or put into pasta or an omellete..food was the worst I've ever tasted I was ill for 5 days with a bug..never saw a rep once..bar closed at 10.50 pm ..entertainment was appalling nothin for young kids..two pools were closed due to maintenance.pool water dirty...adult jacquizze are had children there .all jacquizzis were not working and the water filthy...I'd never go there utter rip off and bloody dirty

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Welshgal71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Had asked for a high room overlooking Puerto Rico bay as these get the morning sun - so much better with no air con in the rooms - however was told they were being refurbed and we had been given a high room on the front of the hotel - meaning hot afternoon sun with only a fan to move air around.

Getting to the room we were told we could not take our cases through the swimming pool area so were directed via 2 lifts and a route march... our room then turned out to be 2 floors down from the swimming pool via 1 lift if we could have come that way. GUESS WHAT the following day - different receptionist so everyone coming through the pool area with cases!!!

Also having arrived after a 4 hr flight delay too late for the snacks and too early for the evening meal - asking the receptionist if there was anywhere in the hotel we could get something to eat we were told NO it was only a couple of hours to evening meal so would have to wait .... mmmm .. Investigating oursleves we found the onsite supermarket stocked everything you could need for self catering so we could have made ourselves a sandwich - why didn't we get told this???

Food
SNACKS - hot dogs / burgers (I won't say beef as I don't think they were but I may be wrong) & of course chips - just watch out for the pigeons as they enjoy it as much as you do, staff do not seem to chase them out of the pool bar area and the birds just hop onto any tables with left over food on them to help themselves - it doesn't help when some guests then also feed them.
RESTAURANT - the "show" cooking usually started after people had actually entered the restaurant so queues formed so the chef rushed the cooking and the food was often then undercooked - the carvery - the chef here thought meat should be carved like lace curtains and everyone should be given childrens portions - the best laugh was when chicken was on and I would call them small to start with only to have the chef cut everything in half, one poor woman got a drumstick that was so small everyone was laughing. Deserts were mostly designed for people without teeth - mousse / jelly / custards etc but they do put on a chocolate fountain with profiteroles etc to dip in - however just look what else they put out with it - childrens sweets ??? and guess what we say kids dipping their fingers in the fountain rather than the food....

Daily entertainment - well as there is only 1 entertainment staff for both adults and children you pretty much can guess there was nothing going on - OH other than water aerobics which used the music from the pool bar turned up to full level so being in the pool bar at this time was head thumping to say the least (and that was when the music system actually worked!!)

The rooms were kept fairly clean - but could have been better - the patio table was filthy on arrival but was cleaned mid way through our holiday.

TV well you have to pay if you want more channels - buy a card from a machine in reception - worth it if you want to get away from the evening entertainment.

No will not be going again as on top of the above the location is not the best you need to get taxis unless you want to be sweaty when you get to where you are going.

Room Tip: Ask for high overlooking Puerto Rico bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wagstal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Arrived early evening,lady in reception was very polite and spoke good English. The transfer was only an hour and dropped about 6 other groups off first as well. Found room quite easily, you do have to go in a couple of lifts but once you have done it a couple of times it is really easy to remember. Room was very clean, they do get quite warm but it only takes 2 minutes with the window open and the fan on to cool it down. The kitchenette had a microwave, kettle, coffee maker, toaster, fridge ( with a little freezer in) and a cooking hob as well. The view from the balcony was amazing and we would sit out on the deck chairs in the evening when all the lights were on, it was gorgeous. To walk down the beach there are about 700 steps, ( they were numbered!) which going down is fine just a bit hot on the way back up. You have a choice of 2 beaches the puerto rico and amadores which are right next to each other. There is a spa and then a few minutes walk away is a little shopping centre with a few market type stands and restaurants. The food is good, bit repetitive but okay. I am a very fussy eater but they always had chips and plain pasta as well as bread rolls so I always had something I could eat. There are 2 sittings the second one is 8.30 till 10 but u can just ask them to change to the earlier one if u want You get the choice of coke, lemonade, lime or orangade then wine and beer as well as orange, tropical and apple juices. At the pool bar you also get an all inclusive list of cocktails and liqueur which are really nice and we ordered a couple of amarettos and you get more than half a glass full. They don't have ashtrays but they do have cups with water in that you use instead. Pools were good one was having maintenance on but the other one was the biggest so that was okay. The adult area is so peaceful and quiet you don't feel that you are next to the other pools. The views of the mountains and sea are breathtaking. There is a lady there almost everyday that gives a really good back massage ! The jacuzzis warmed up quite early on from the heat of the sun. All the staff spoke English to us straight away and were all very helpful. We also hired a car for a couple of days for 60 euros from the place outside and went to maspalomas one day and a crocodile park on the other. Maspalomas is lovely but keep an eye out for the nudist beach ! WouLd stay there again. Very relaxing holiday, was nervous before I went due to other reviews but it is a lovely hotel and I had a very memorable holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed in the side of the rooms 3000 to 4000 which have really good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AliciaFaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

went on holiday with my two sisters for a nice quiet ,relaxing holiday , so was`nt sure what to expect from reading previous reviews , we arrived late at night and managed to find our room ok
room was very hot , but opened patio doors at night , when we woke up to see the views of the sea the morning , well that speaks for its self ( see pic) rooms were clean but basic , loved the adult area for sunbathing although it would have been nice to have parasols there as it was a suntrap, food was good my sisters are vegetarian so was worried there would not be enough choice for them , but there was plenty for them good variety to choose from, entertainment was ok , but its opptional there are more bars with entertanment 5 mins away ,remember this hotel is open all year and repairs have to get done , so when we were there the adult pool was closed but opened before we went home and was lovely and warm pool ,overall we had a good time , had a nice room and the other stuff that people complain about is not worth worry about

Room Tip: request a upper floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carolann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#17 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,517 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 67 in Puerto Rico
3,317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#15 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,272 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Servatur Puerto Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Servatur Puerto Azul

Address: Avenida La Cornisa 13, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Servatur Aparthotel Puerto Azul)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range: $107 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Servatur Puerto Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Servatur Puerto Azul hotel, with a 3 star category, is located between the beaches of Amadores and Puerto Rico. Built on a cliff top, with a privileged situation over the ocean, providing spectacular views. Servatur Puerto Azul provides 385 units, totally equipped, as well as different bars and a restaurant where you can enjoy international and canarian cuisine. Servatur Puerto Azul has two swimming pools (one heated during winter months), large sun lounge with complimentary sun beds and sunshades, a relaxation area with jacuzzi, gardens, sport areas and children playgrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Servatur Puerto Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Servatur Aparthotel Puerto Azul Hotel Puerto Rico
Puerto Azul Aparthotel Rico
Puerto Azul Gran Canaria
Puerto Azul Aparthotel Hotel Rico
Servatur Puerto Azul Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing