We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Babalu”
Review of Babalu Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Babalu Apartments
Ranked #19 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
rotherham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Babalu”
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Went to babalu 27th jan for a week for our 30th wedding anniversary with our family,we got a ground floor room which was ideal for the pool,rooms were basic but kept clean by the staff,some of the apartments are privately owned,the only down side to this is a very rude German man who thinks he owns the complex because he owns one himself,telling people they can't dive or splash in the pool,well sorry but if we work hard all year for our holiday we want to be able to have fun in the pool with the kids etc,what happens when the school holidays are here and kiddies want to splash and play?well sorry to say we put him in his place,don't be put off by him or bullied stand your ground and enjoy,we did,apart from this horrid person(long haired and very fat rude man) we enjoyed our weeks brake so go and enjoy.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaysfromhell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    202
    93
    34
    28
See reviews for
88
286
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very beautiful looking over the sea. High up from the main strip, costing less than 4euros in a taxi. Do not book with reception as they charge, just stand outside as they're regular.
Rooms and corridors could do with an update as very basic, but will do. We was on the ground floor so very convenient to walk out our patio doors to the pool. The bigger pool was cold during January but the smaller one is heated. Pool bar is well stocked and food is lovely and cheap.
Cleaners came every day apart from our last day, which was very nice and surprising. Very clean and well kept, cannot see the problem.
My only issue was with people in the rooms above, it echos throughout the room below and very loud.
Would stay again and quite interested in buying one of the apartments, as I know some are privately owned.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank craigs5373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I visitted the Babalu Appartments during April 2012 for a week. We decided to take my niece along as well; considering the rates were cheap and she had never been on holiday before. We all had a lovely time.

The only negatives really were that the appartment was rather basic and the shower was rather temperamental. The bed is seriously uncomfortable and because it is two twins pushed together, they do drift quite a lot! Not ideal for a couple. But as I say, these are minor points and we all had a great time regardless.

The hotel is a couple of minutes from the Europa centre, which is actually ideal for eating out cheap as it has a lot of choice that was pleasing to my niece! It's cheap but cheerful. We had omlettes for breakfast almost every day as these were excellent. Some of the proprietors of these restraunts are rather pushy however, so beware. The perfume shop here was visited numerous times by me and my niece, we were on first name terms with the lady who bestowed us with loads of free testers.

The location of the hotel has good and bad points: stunning views from the fairly sized balcony out over the pool and sea, but it is high up on the side of a mountain so wouldn't recommend for those with mobility issues. There is a bus that travels down to ground level every 10minutes or so which is very cheap. Taxis can be found just outside the Europa centre and will take you anywhere for a fair price. The pool at the hotel is lovely for swimming! April was quiet so we had it to ourselves most days. It was very clean and refreshing. We often ate lunch at the hotel pool bar, again, basic but ideal for us. We aren't fussy eaters and prefer fast food.

In terms of trips, we really fit in quite alot in our week! Try and go on the cave visit, which takes you deep into the hills to genuine caves where you can explore and then enjoy an authentic Gran Canarian tapas style lunch. Tasted amazing and was eaten in the cave. We also went on a 3 tranaport safari: cruise in the morning with dolphin sighting, followed by lunch on the harbour, a jeep safari and then a ride on the camels. Well worth doing: we got cold on the boat howevee but the jeep safari was fantastic, as was the camel ride. Do not go on the jeep safari if you are afraid of heights however, we did recognise some gaping safety issues but we did enjoy ourselves as it was exhillerating. Make sure you visit Amadores beach, absolutely beautiful and tranquil. Just hop in a taxi from the Europa centre and ask them to take you there. It's very close and far superior to Puerto Rico beach. Palmitos park is a must, gorgeous vegetation, sunshine and animals followed by a dolphin show. Sioux City at night is also worth a visit, cowboy themed line dancing, all inclusive drinks and a free BBQ. There were loads of flies hovering over the bbq however, but the Sioux town is still interesting to explore. Great for kids. The waterpark is also worth a visit, we had a great time there. Make sure you try the ice cream!

All in all, we had an excellent holiday and Babalu provided an excellent base from which to explore. We would return!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Cawatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This was our first time staying at the babalu,and we can say overall it was a good holiday for the price we had paid.We stayed in room 009 which is on ground floor facing the pool,the room was adequate,beds comfy,and the apartment was quiet at night.The pools were of a good size and the café bar was a nice surprise,and Dave the barman always polite and cheerful.Having stayed in Puerto Rico over 25 times you never fail to be amazed by the views in and around the Europa Centre this is why we stay in this area............All in all the Babalu may not suit everyone,but for value and location it ticks a few boxes.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here the week before christmas. Staff were friendly , cleaners were good. Best thing was defiantly the location just over the road from a shopping centre and walkin distance to peurto rico or a cheap taxi ride. Rooms were better then expected for what we paid to as they are pretty roomy I'd stay again

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank agentl112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Came back to the Babalu the first week of December 2013 after I stayed there with my Husband back in October 2012. This time my In Laws came with us too.
I had e-mailed the Babalu in advance to request a pool level/ground floor room as I like the fact you could go in and out of your room easy from the pool. I was delighted that we had both been given ground floor rooms next to each other.
The rooms are very basic and I agree with other reviewers, they could do with a bit of a refurb, but they do the trick for what you need. You get what you pay for which is value for money. We did have a slight problem with the hot water not lasting long in the shower which we did mention and someone did come in to have a look but the problem never got rectified.
The kitchenette is, again, small and basic with a small hob and microwave but you do have to hire a toaster and a kettle if you want one. We bought a little travel kettle with us so we didn't need to hire one. We didn't really eat in the room apart from lunches. We popped over to the supermarket in the Europa Centre over the road and bought in the essentials. The pool bar does do some great snacks at fairly reasonable prices.
The pool area is fabulous and one of the main reasons I booked to go back. The main pool and the kids pool are not heated and are way too cold for December (braved it up to my waist and chickened out, haha) but the smaller adults pool was heated. My only gripe would be the plastic sunbeds. They're not very comfy. There are always plenty of them around though as the place seemed dead. We got chatting to a really nice lady who owns one of the apartments (quite a few are privately owned) and she informed us the apartments were full and usually are over the winter months. You'd never of believed it though. There weren't many English guests though. Prehaps its just us that are the pool bunnies!!! It was nice and peaceful though but it would be nice for the music at the pool bar to be a bit more modern or at least cater for all ages. It wasn't too loud though like other reviewers pointed out.
The Babalu is situated quite high up and is inbetween Amadores and Puerto Rico. We walked down to both sides. The walk to Amadores is less steep than the roads down to Puerto Rico. There are steps down to Puerto Rico but after experiencing them last year, we opted for the road way this time. We didn't chance walking back up, although my In laws did on a couple of occasions, putting us to shame!!! Taxi's are readily available and only cost about 3-4 Euros back up.
The Europa centre is across the road from The Babalu but has really had its day. Hardly any bars or restaurants in there and the ones that are cater for the Scandinavians. In the space of a year, Barbacoa has been changed into a Scandinavian bar!!! I can recommended Mary D's bar though. Real friendly bunch and a great atmosphere. My hubby even won €70 on a game of Deal or No Deal. Bonus!!!
The main shopping Centre down at the bottom in Purto Rico is much much bigger so a lot more choice. Riders is a good lively bar and we had a nice Indian in the Happy Valley restaurant.
Down on the harbour I can recommend Charliez Cocktail Bar. Amazing and great value cocktails and a great atmosphere. We also had an amazing meal in Arizzona Resturant. The service and the food was spot on.
Aside from a couple of bad days at the start of the week, the weather was glorious. The nights can get a bit chilly though at this time of year so you'll need a cardigan.
We had a fab week at The Babalu and will definately return.

Room Tip: If you get a pool level room, keep your floor clean!!! Any dropped crumbs or spillages attracts the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Upon arrival we were greeted with not as much as a smile, only “ Name “ and facts about hiring a kettle, safe and toaster etc., although the toasters were all broken and unavailable, the cost and deposit required.
Receiving the key, we proceeded to the lifts, I say lifts but one was actually out of order. Going down to the ground floor and walking along the corridor to apartment 109 we could see large areas of the white wall covering had faked off leaving a shabby unkempt appearance, and many of the fire notices were broken, also there were potato chips scattered on the floor. Not the start we`d hoped for. Anyway unlocking the door of apartment 109 the first thing we noticed is that the TV was left on (using the previous occupants remaining credit we assumed). Looking further around the apartment we saw these points:
1. There were potato crisps on the floor.
2. Brown stains in the bidet.
3. Pubic hairs in the shower.
4. The beds were rock hard.
5. The sheets were dirty, old and ripped.
6. The pillows were very old and lumpy.
7. The fridge leaked water and had a smelly residue at the bottom.
8. The Television was old, coin operated, with poor reception and only 1 English Channel.
9. The cutlery was old and dirty.
10. No air conditioner available.
This upset my wife so much she wanted to leave immediately but as we had a long day / nights traveling we stayed the night. After a poor night’s sleep we found the food we put in the fridge for breakfast ruined by the water dripping on it. At this point we left the apartment and hotel Babalu for good.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eurodsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
#36 of 68 in Puerto Rico
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#16 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#13 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Palmera Mar
Apartamentos Palmera Mar
#32 of 68 in Puerto Rico
410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#12 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rio Piedras Apartments
Rio Piedras Apartments
#25 of 68 in Puerto Rico
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babalu Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babalu Apartments

Property: Babalu Apartments
Address: Avenida Cornisa s/n, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Babalu Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Babalu Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babalu Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Babalu Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing