We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Babalu Apartments
Nearby Hotels
$59
$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marina Suites(Puerto Rico)
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$65
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$178
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Eden Apartments(Puerto Rico)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (574)
Filter reviews
574 results
Traveler rating
172
233
103
37
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
233
103
37
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseuropa centrepool barbarbacoadeeper pooltravel kettlerooms are basicbars restaurants and shopsblue starself cateringthe ground flooracross roadgreat holidayamadores beachpools are greatbar stafflarge balconiessun all day
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
286 - 291 of 574 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013

we enjoyed our stay at the babalu in 2011 and we decided to go back for a return visit in june 2013 - arrived on thursday and it was just as we remembered with the welcome adddition of the new lift - we had a lovely room on the 2nd floor - very clean - lots of sunbeds available - one of the best features of the babalu is the pool area - there is a large pool which you can just walk into ( no steps or ladders needed) and a deeper pool plus the baby pool - all looked very clean and are cleaned daily to a high standard - 2 years ago we had entertainment every night but sadly this is no longer the case, there is no entertainment at all but its just accross the road from the europa centre where you can find something to suit everyone - or take a taxi down to the commercial centre for around 3.5 euros - there is a snack bar open all day at the pool area where you can get breakfast and other snacks at a reasonable price and its all cooked fresh for you - ice cold beers and freshly squeezed orange juice were delicious .
As i have read in the other reviews the spanish locals do take over at the weekends - towels on the sunbeds very early and it can get very noisy but this is a problem with most of the hotels in Gran Canaira now - during the week it is lovely and peaceful but weekends are anything but - from friday lunch to sunday evening is busy and noisy and you have to be up very early to get a sunbed and a parasol .
having said that i would definately still recommend the babalu - its lovely and clean - very freindly reception staff - very resonable priced - great pool views from all apartments - large balconys - and the weekend visitors are now in most of the apartment blocks anyway .

Most nights we went down to the commercial centre and would recommend the SUN SPOT BAR which is on the top level next to the drag show. beer at 1.5 euro a pint and 1.50 for a large glass of very drinkable wine .

We will be returning to the Babalu next year and would highly recommend it. its a shame it has become so busy at the weekends - but it has not put us off

Room Tip: best views are on the higher floors but all rooms have a great pool view
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank durbanpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Before I start let me say we love these apartments and have stayed there many times. Just got back after a two week stay and it was a total nightmare . This place is totally over run with Spanish people who are very noisy, rude and inconsiderate to other holiday guest. The pool area is a no go area most of the time the Spanish guests spend the time shouting to each other even if its to someone 4 floors up. They just allow there children to run wild around the pool in between sunbeds. They allow them to urinate in the flower beds and showers around the pool .On two separate occasions the pool was closed as it had been used as a toilet which just puts you off using the pool at all. This goes on till the early hours of the morning. We paid to use the pool at the Altamar apts to avoid this chaos. My advice to anyone who has booked to stay here is cancel and book to stay else where.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ddenise60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the babalu on many occasions but sad to say we will not be returning!
It has gone from being budget apartments with entertainment and great pool to a room that you feel trapped in.
In the week it is absolutely fine, you can still enjoy going to the pool and you can sit on your great sized balcony in the evening and take in the nice warm sea air.
The weekend this place changes beyond recognition though. Apparently so the reception tells us 'the Canarians come'.
They seem to stay all weekend as some apartments are privately owned and others clearly fill empty rooms at a cheap rate.
Friday night they arrive, they are so loud and so drunk. They are shouting from the balcony and being very aggressive. Whist the adults are drunk, the kids are playing with the lift.
Saturday morning comes and it gets worse! By 8am (the sun is not even on the sky) and they are out putting towels on sun loungers. They reserve at least 3 quarters of the sun loungers and then do not use them until approx. 2pm!! If you can find a sun lounger between 8 and 2 then use it as you won't want to be near the pool after this time.
After 2 pm the people who have a room have all their friends over to the hotel for what can only be described as a pool party. Over 100 Spanish men sitting in groups making genuine holiday makers feel very uncomfortable.
We won't be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Honestguy1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed here in April 2013,the apartments were very basic,had to pay to hire a kettle etc but I think that reflects in the price.lovely big pools and bar,the best thing about these apartments is the location.directly opposite the Europa centre and wasn't even noisy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam_18uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at the babalu in march 2013 , we had a brilliant holiday the appts were very spacious and very large balconies and terraces, we had a terrace on the lower floor which meant we could use it by the pool, Its very close to the Europe centre where we spent most evenings in the Irish bar, very good entertainment. Hope to return next year.

Room Tip: The lower levels are nice as they have a terrace ,it saves having to carry bags down to the pool area.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews