We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!!”
Review of Babalu Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Babalu Apartments
Ranked #19 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!!”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at the Babalu for One week at the beginning of October and we loved it. For the little amount we paid for it, it has to be one of the nicest places we've stayed at. The apartments are a little dated but they are clean and roomy with a huge balcony. The view is fabulous. On arrival and during our stay we found the staff to be friendly and pleasant. The only problem we had was the lack of air conditioning in the apartment. We were aware of this when we booked but we read that we could rent a fan from reception. However, the weather was exceptionally warm and all the fans were rented out the whole time we were there so we had to do without. We were told by some of the people who live out there that the temperatures were unusally hot of a night time though.
A lot has been said about the lifts on previous reviews. When we were there, one of the new lifts was fully in service and we didn't have any problems with it either.
We also never seen any cockroaches while we were there.
The pool area is Fabulous. Two big pools and a kids pool, plenty of sun loungers, a great pool bar and friendly bar staff. The prices were really resonable, €2 for a pint of Tropical, 2 bottles of certain drinks for €5.50. The food at the pool bar was excellent and great value.
The Babalu is within easy reach of both Puerto Rico via "the stairs" and Amadores along the road, however, I wouldn't recommend the walk back. Taxis are readily on hand and cost 3-4 Euros back up.
The Europa centre is just over the road and has a range of bars. Its not the best place in the world and doesn't suit all tastes but you will find a bar in there for you. Personally, we enjoyed a few nights in Barbacoa and especially Mary D's.
If you head down to Puerto Rico, I would recommend Donosti's restaurant and Charliez Cocktail bar. Amazing cocktails, I recommend the "Alabama Slammer"!!!
If you want a nice meal close to the Babalu but away from the maddening crowd of the Europa, pop over to Picasso's just at the back. Absolutely wonderful and very reasonable. As far as i'm aware its been there for a long time and has a great reputation.
I would definately return to the Babalu and would recommend it to friends. It was a great October sun holiday. The weather was amazing the whole week and you couldn't ask for a better pool area to lounge about in it!!! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    209
    95
    34
    29
See reviews for
91
292
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The babalu was a lovely place. Very clean, the maids came every other day and cleaned the whole place. The pool was gorgeous and the staff were friendly. Very basic but clean apartments. Well worth the money.
The food was also nice and had a range of cocktails...we also made friends with three local cats who we named Spanish mate, snotty and big Bertha haha. We fed them ham everyday...also very friendly cats lol. New lifts had been installed and the views were amazing..would return to babalu without hesitation as it was perfect distance from the Europa centre. Literally across the road. Thanks babalu c

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmel359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We came back from these apartments on the 12 November 2012, and was dreading it by reading some of the comments on here, but we had a great stay. Was welcomed to the apartments by a friendly desk staff and rooms were cleaned everyday, the pools were lovely and were cleaned everyday and so were the sun lounger, these apartments were just over the road from the europa centre which was really handy some really great bars like xtreeemez which had somr great entertainment and drink prices. I would definitely stay here again. Only down side was that there weren't any ceiling fans but you can hire them st

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachthomas74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

just got back 12 nov basic apartment nice and clean big balconys pools very nice loads of sunbeds decent meals at pool bar fair prices friendly staff europa centre 2 mins walk across road only problem was a long walk 2 harbour the roadway but a bit down hill theres some steps go down them it takes bout 20 mins the fish house resturant on harbour was best meal we had also in the central shopping centre planet resturant £7 50 4 a 10 ounce steak and all trimmings best u will ever get we had it 3 times melted in ya mouth ( yum yum) ps we always got taxi back to babalu aparts fare was between 3 an 4 euros oh yes the weather was red hot

Room Tip: all room have big balconys and sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayclarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Béal Feirste, null, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My advice on these apartements is dont stay here!..the apartment we stayed in was infested with cockroaches, the sheets were stained and the apartments were not cleaned for our arrival, pubic hairs on the floor. Their were exposed wires from ligh switches and cupboard doors were hanging off. It is a good 30 minute walk to either beach and there are 5 steep mountain hills to walk down and up to get to the beach and home. It is 4 euro in a taxi. The staff is not very helpful and the lift was always breaking down. The entertainment guy was nice but tbh he was the best feature of the hotel. On returning from this holiday i needed another week off to recover, we didnt even stay in the beds for the entire week it was too filthy despite numerous complaints we were left in this hell hole. The best thing for these apartments would be to close it down. Please take my advice and dont stay here!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed here for 2 weeks from 27th September. The hotel is lovely and the rooms are great. the balcony is huge and the view down to the pool and out over the Atlantic is amazing. Room's cleaned every 2 days and all the staff are very friendly. The pool is great and so refreshing, the pool bar is also very good and excellent value for money. On the downside you have to pay for everything, Kettle, Toaster and the T.V is even coin operated and only has 1 decent channel that keeps breaking up.

The main center of Puerto Rico is only 3 minutes in a Taxi and less than €3.00 but the location of the hotel is just too far from everything, would much rather have stayed in the main center.

The hotel shop is a disgrace, My Fiance bought a number of items in there and only after 2 days we realized that absolutely everything we bought was not just out of date but months out of date. I would steer very clear of the shop and go across the road to the Hiper Dino across the road in the Europa Center.

The Europa Center is ok but not a quarter as good as the main center in Puerto Rico. I went to a restaurant over there called Alamandas and ordered Ravioli. I was given a plate of tinned Ravioli and only that I often eat tins that I realized that that is what it was. I did not have to pay for the food as they could tell I was disgusted and did not touch the food.

Honestly all in all Babalu is a great "cheap" complex but for what else is available in Puerto Rico I would not stay there again.

There are a few people that own apartments here and most notably the King and Queen (their nicknames) who live in the middle top floor of Babalu, when they are home they have an English Flag flying from their balcony (if you see it flying good luck lol). The King is nice and friendly but the Queen is the nosiest person I have ever come across in my whole life. She struts down to the pool and stops and chats rubbish to every single person in or around the pool. She also gives the bar staff and reception staff an awful time and furiously complains if the music is a bit high. The way they are gives the place a really residency feel and that is not what you are looking for in a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Weekesian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just returned from a weeks holiday at the Babalu, the 7th time we have stayed here.
The apartments are as good as always, basic but clean, all that we need for a week.
We knew the lift was being renovated this year so were pleasantly surprised when 1 of the 2 new lifts was already working. Whilst the lift area has not been completely decorated yet, what has already been completed is of a very high standard.
We were a bit disappointed that the pool bar opening hours had been reduced to 11am to 7pm but were assured that this was because it has been quiet over the summer months because of the lift renovations. Normal hours return Monday 15th October 2012.
Can't wait to go back next year!

Room Tip: All rooms face the same way so you can't get a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sheree B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#17 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#12 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,841 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
#36 of 68 in Puerto Rico
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#1 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#11 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babalu Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babalu Apartments

Property: Babalu Apartments
Address: Avenida Cornisa s/n, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Babalu Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Babalu Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babalu Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Babalu Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing