We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVED IT”
Review of Babalu Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Babalu Apartments
Ranked #20 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“LOVED IT”
Reviewed March 10, 2008

went to stay at babalu 3rd march just got back today ,they were great maids clean rooms every day apart from sunday.rooms were ok kitchen could do with updating the pool was cleaned everyday and they was plenty of sunbeds for every one , we also had food from the snackbar which taste great and was hot . The staff were very friendly and helpful and will definitely be going back there again ,it was only a short walk from europa center so no taxi to catch and the commerical center is a steady walk downhill but would advise get taxi back only cost 3 euros

  • Liked — the size of rooms and the friendly staff
  • Disliked — the lift and its at top of hill
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonparker62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    199
    90
    34
    28
See reviews for
84
277
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2007

the babalu apartments are not a very nice at all. it looks nice in the brochure but not in really life. the apartments are dirty as the maids dont clean up properly on our second week they had a sewage problem and was coming up through peoples toilets in apartments, the pool was green because it wasnt cleaned out. overall this hotel ruined our holiday and would never go back to puerto rico again.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed October 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thrahtobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2007

i was nervous after reading some of the previous reviews, but it was clean and basic and really all that you need! the room was cleaned regularly and nothing went missing. no complaints here

  • Liked — the views were fantastic and the pool was great
  • Disliked — it was on top of a steep hill - no use for poor walkers
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hullaballo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2007

Having read the reviews kindly provided by others, it was expected that the facilities would be very basic. As long as it is clean, we really don't mind since the price is very reasonable. Problem began on the 2nd night of our stay. Both me and my husband had rashes all over our bodies. At first, we thought we could be allergic to something we didn't know. Then the next day, we realised people in the pool had same kind of rashes and spots. It started to become suspicious especially the towels and the bedding were never changed during our stay. We deliberately put the towels on the floor to indicate the maids to change the towels. The maids did come in nearly everyday but the same towels were hung back to the hanger (with the same stain on!). We now have to see our GP for the skin problem.

But Dave has been an excellent entertainer. He deserves a round of applause. He is not only good with kids, but with adults as well. We had a good laugh there. Thanks! Bar staff are great, friendly and hard working. Reception staff? They vary, some are polite but some just don't really care.

I will go back to Peurto Rico, probably not Babalu. Maybe just pop down to see Dave......

  • Liked — Entertainment
  • Disliked — Cleaniness
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluecookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2007

Accomodation only suitable for up to 3 people in a party (we booked for 4). Apartment poorly maintained with plug sockets hanging off the wall and fridge old rusted and broken. Lock to patio door broke during our stay. Pool and pool area not cleaned very well. Water in both main pools was cloudy throughout the whole of our stay. White edging to the pools very slippy and numerous people slipped during our stay. Bar area poorly designed but bar staff very friendly. Entertainment most nights - great for the kids. Dave the entertainment coordinator very good, he organised football and water polo during the day and kids disco and bingo in the evening.

  • Liked — Sea views and Dave the entertainment cocordinator
  • Disliked — poor standard of maintainence and cleaning
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank abbicamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, North West
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2007

I have just returned from a week at the babalu and was impressed with the pool and view of the hotel. In addition to this the apartments were clean but unfortunately because we were on the ground floor we had a minor cockroach problem. The hotel must know about this problem because they give you some spray to kill them. We just left our lights on all the time and they didnt venture in as much.
The location of the apartments is ideal as it is only a 20 minute walk from the gorgeous beach of amadores and taxi's only cost around 3 euro's to get into the town of peurto rico.
Because of its hilly location, i wouldnt adivse these apartments for people with walking difficulties and for big groups of teenagers i would refer them to playa de les ingles rather than peurto rico due to there being more bars and clubs there. However, this hotel and location is ideal for couples wanting a relaxing stay.
I would return to the hotel again but would want a room with a balcony, as the view from them is wonderful! I had a fantastic holiday and would definately recommend gran canaria.

  • Liked — Pool and cleanliness
  • Disliked — cockroaches
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank RachiBabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#16 of 68 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#12 of 68 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
#34 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,992 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#13 of 68 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Palmera Mar
Apartamentos Palmera Mar
#33 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babalu Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babalu Apartments

Property: Babalu Apartments
Address: Avenida Cornisa s/n, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Babalu Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Babalu Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babalu Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Babalu Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing