We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous accomodation”
Review of Babalu Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Babalu Apartments
Ranked #19 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Marvellous accomodation”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Spent a great week at the Babalu, pleasant staff always have your key ready when they see you approach the reception, Dave the English barman was very friendly and the prices for drinks and food very reasonable.
The rooms are very basic but clean and the beds have seen better days so maybe a little money should be spent on them. kitchen area was small however it was okay for preparing breakfast fry ups! We stayed in room 315 and had the sun from 10am - 7pm which was fantastic, the walks to the local Europa centre and surrounding areas are great for burning the calories. The staff at Barbacoa were very friendly therefore we spent most of our evenings dining at their restaurants.
We will be returning again later this year and would highly recommend the hotel and resort.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room on the top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pegasus1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    200
    93
    34
    28
See reviews for
86
283
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boden, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Me and my cousin were a week in Puerto Rico, and stayed at Babalu that week. :-) It was a great hotel with great staff, they were friendly, helpful and nice. One of them talked a bit in Swedish, and understood most of what we said, he was nice and funny. :-) The food and pool area were nice, and also the cleaning of the apartment. The apartment was very nice, and we had a big balcony on the third floor, so the views were absolutely awesome! The Mini Mercado at the hotel was great as well, if we needed to buy something fast. :-) The location of the hotel was good, we got a taxi everytime we went to Puerto Ricos Shopping Center, because it was cheap. The weather in Puerto Rico were beautiful every day. :-)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marika79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We enjoy going to Gran Canaria during the winter months (to get away from the cold here in Portugal!), and we've stayed in this hotel more than once due mainly to the price, which is quite cheap, and location!

We only use it for sleeping, because during the day we are always traveling around or bathing at the beach! (don't forget to rent a car!) So it's more than sufficient for our use!

We just think the rooms could be a little more clean, and the beds aren't that comfortable, but, for the price, you can't get better than this!

TIPS
Don't forget to go to:
- Playa Amadores
- Puerto de Mógan
- Maspalomas (amazing "desert"!)

Room Tip: Choose a room in the upper floors because A) sometimes the elevator is not working (the entrance to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie_Ballerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Another week at the Babalu, and everything is just the same. pleasant staff always have your key ready when they see you approach, Dave's ok always mixing with holidaymakers and getting to know you and the waiter/chef/barman always polite. Beer and snacks at the pool are really cheap. Rooms are very basic but clean and the beds have seen better days so maybe a little money should be spent on them. kitchen area small but we dont cook anyway so not a problem if you eat out. if you like the sun all day try and get a room quite high up but we feel that the english are given the lower rooms, but we did like our ground floor room with the big terrace last year, 1st floor this year. Weather could get quite cool in the evening so a jumper or light jacket is recommended. Hotel was full but not many around the pool so great for sunbeds. We've only stayed at the Babalu in Feb and enjoyed on both occasions, but i think it would be really lively in the summertime with a really good atmosphere. Deffo go back again,but new beds please.

Room Tip: More sun for longer the highr you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mjpburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

we have just returned from a weeks holiday at the babalu apartments,19th febuary 2012,we found the rooms to be really clean ,but very basic,we were on the ground floor were the patio doors led on to the fantastic pool area,the nightly entertainment that were put on were good.,especially the robbie williams tribute,and the weekly barbacue ,good value for your money.Dave who did the entertainment,and the bar staff were really friendly,the bar snacks were really good value,all in all a good holiday,we did hear people moaning about little petty things,but some people just like to have a good old moan,all in all good value for your money definatly would stay again.

Room Tip: ask for a low floor,leading on to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank debalah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I'm not usually a fan of Tripadvisor, think it's too easy for people to slag off places unecesarily, however I do think it's good to give practical information to others. This is why I want to sing the praises of Babalu. We have been going to Puerto Rico for probably 16 years now and I have to say these are one of the best apartments we have stayed at. The location at the top of the resort is fantastic with magnificent views out to sea and just minutes from the Europa Centre full of great bars and restaurants. The apartments are not huge but bigger than some we have stayed at and have huge balcony/terrace with table and chairs and more than plenty room for a couple of sunbeds which you can hire if you don't want to go poolside. Bascially equiped kitchen with a microwave surprisingly, kettles/toasters, fans etc can all be hired if required at reasonable prices if you require. Bathrooms have big shower cabinets, down side is that the boiler seems to run out of hot water pretty quick, which in the summer not an issue but in February would be nice to have a hot shower. Maids were fab, came in most days, beds changed halfway through stay and towels changed twice. Great pool area and pool bar with entertainment, good priced snacks and drinks offers. All in all nothing fancy but one we will definitely be returning too.

Room Tip: High floor would be good idea, would get great views and handy if the lift breaks down, as in most c...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Jojocox1522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leirvik, Norway
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

The apartment was convenient and easy but slightly influenced by the fact that it is an older hotel.
We had a fantastic view and sun from 0900 until it went into the sea. The terrace was big and good, where we ate breakfast every morning. This is a budget hotel that offers great value.

Although many of the taxi a driver was very irritable and some tended to hate tourists, so it was easy to get a taxi down to both the Amadores beach and the Puerto Rico beach.
It was a bit steep down but it is everywhere on Grand Canary.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Håkon Frode S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
#36 of 68 in Puerto Rico
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#16 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#13 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#1 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,050 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#12 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babalu Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babalu Apartments

Property: Babalu Apartments
Address: Avenida Cornisa s/n, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Babalu Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Babalu Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babalu Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Babalu Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing