We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”
Review of Babalu Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Babalu Apartments
Ranked #19 of 67 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2011

I spent a week at the Babalu with my girlfriend at the start of September and loved it.

For the money we spent the place was excellent, the room was very modern and comfortable and was cleaned every day. We had a lovely balcony overlooking the pool where we could play cards and have a drink every night.

The pools were big and perfect for everyone, they were a great temperature and sloped gradually so you could sit in the water and chill out and the kids could play.

There were plenty of Spanish people staying as well which I found great, It was never too busy so you could always get a sunbed and get a good big cold mug of beer without too much wait.

The entertainment was quite bad to be honest but you don't have to do anything you don't want so it wasn't really a problem. Dave was a really friendly guy and not at all pushy, got a few good things (ie.football tournaments) going through the day.

The apartments were quite far from the bars/restaurants areas and the beaches but there were plenty of taxis about and they were quite cheap so it wasn't a problem. We went to Amadores beach a couple of times and it was very pleasant.

Overall the Babalu would be a great holiday for anyone, for the money we spent it was brilliant value.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

350 - 356 of 564 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2011

Me and my boyfriend just got back two days ago. And had a fab time, yes the rooms r very basic, they very clean! The pool area was lovely and u get a nice breeze being up so high, two mins away is a shopping centra full on restraunts, bars, and a suppermarket! Dave the entainer dint bother us at all! Happy hour is great! All I could say is the entainment is a bit rubbish apart from the BBQ night which was really good but with the shopping centre and the main bit which is 3-4 euros in a cab does it really matter? Also very cheap for food and drink overall a really good hoilday def would go back x x

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beckiellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Cheap apartments but could not fault them always cleaned. Only bad thing is that it is quite a distance from the beach but we got the local bus back up the hill which cost 90 cents & the bus stop is outside the apartments

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woodward1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I went there for a week with my girlfriend in June. It's a great place to stay if you dont want to spend too much on accomodation. The rooms are basic but thats what you pay for but they are very clean and a maid comes to clean every two days. There are two beaches nearby within 15 minutes walk. The 'Europa Centre' is situated pretty much next to the apartments and has an array of bars, restaurants, amusements and a supermarket. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RelaxedTom0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

just back from babalu apartments and after reading reviews before i went i was so pleased the reviews didnt put me off, this place was excellent, greeted by friendly staff who couldnt do enough..and lift was working after all. as reviews said it wasnt, fab place and views stunning, 1st day met dave the entertainer and that he was. great guy and great with kids etc. rooms clean and didnt need to ask for anything, maids in everyday. definetly be back...

Room Tip: all rooms are good as they all overlook pool..but we loved the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank catz4563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Very friendly staff,rooms cleaned "every day",clean pool area and pool bar staff great and could all speak english.Ok rooms are basic but adequate,as you don't tend to spend your holiday in your room,do you.As for some of the British guests they need to learn to show a little respect for there fellow holidaymakers.Especially the idiots who thought there was nothing wrong in swimming and shouting in the pool at 4am and when asked to leave by security came up with the comment,"We didnt think there would be a problem".Well it was a problem for people trying to sleep,especially with young families.If you want that sort of thing then go to 18 to 30's.Apart from that disruptive night we would not hesitate to return here as we met some great friends from all parts of Europe and thoroughly enjoyed our holiday.Just a note to end on,what is the point of photographing a b****y cockroach.If you look around your own country you would probably find alot more on your own doorstep.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank robmc180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

we recently stayed at the Babalu apartment returning yesterday, the weather was amazing reaching late 40's with a breeze. The hotel is basic and the beds are two singles pushed together. i stayed here 6 years ago and the rooms have not changed!. The rooms include a basic kitchin, shower and toilet and a double bedroom and sofa area, which is everything you need. The balcony's are large and attract the sun till around 8 o'clock. The pools are great, drinks are cheap and enough sun beds for everyone. Dave the entertainer was lovely and helpfull, shame the entertainment is repeated so often but we hardly stayed at he hotel as you have a shopping enter 2 min away!. food is very cheap and you must go to the chinese on the first floor of the shopping centre its lovely!
The maid did not come everyday, they dont work sundays either.

if you are given a room by the lift ask to change as this kept us up most of the holiday!

i would return for the weather and if i needed a cheap holiday, think the hotel could do with a refurbishment.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kylie1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#17 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#14 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,975 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#13 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 67 in Puerto Rico
3,357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maracaibo Aparthotel
Maracaibo Aparthotel
#21 of 67 in Puerto Rico
488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babalu Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babalu Apartments

Address: Avenida Cornisa s/n, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range: $35 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Babalu Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Babalu Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babalu Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Babalu Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing