We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nooooooooo wayyyyyyyy” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Punta del Rey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Punta del Rey
dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nooooooooo wayyyyyyyy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2008

very run down and old fashioned building. pool very smelly. food horrible in restaurant especially the curry. not even allowed to put furniture out on balcony to make more room in apartment cause very small inside.wouldn't stay here again.rather have the puerto platta any day.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    71
    38
    12
    10
See reviews for
21
97
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2008

Stayed here in july 07 with my boyfriend.
Staff here are very friendly and food in the restaurant is great.
we had a fantastic view of the pool and the beach which was only a few mins walk.
On the down side we could not get rid of the millions of ants nesting in our second floor apartment, also some advice to get to the beach tou will have to walk down steps not a problem until you get to the last few, walking threw a smelly unlit tunnel like thing is dangerous. no fault of the hotel.

  • Liked — Pool and restaurant
  • Disliked — ants in the bedroom
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank irishwoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2008

Brilliant, we stayed in March and could not fault the hotel , we are not fussy , but its a little dated but so what its clean the food was great the staff always polite , what more can i say , Its not a lively area but would definatley go again , the food for an all inclusive was good and plenty of choice.

We nearly cancelled after reading so many poor reviews

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank flynnmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2008

7 of us stayed here in 3 rooms. We are all women in our early 40's but 17 in our heads!

This hotel was just fine. It has beautiful views and is within walking distance of the town though if you want to take a taxi it costs around €2.50.

Rooms were cleaned on 5 of the 7 days we were there with towels being replaced every other day.

The rooms are small and dated but were okay with 2 people in them. They are designed for 3 though and 3 would have been a squeeze!

Staff are pleasant enough but be warned ~ they are extremely strict when it comes to being loud at night! We had one particular night when we had had a couple of drinks and got back around 4 a little worse for wear, and went straight to the rooms. We were trying to be quiet but you know what it's like sometimes! Anyway, it ended up with the security man knocking on one of the groups door and telling them he would get them arrested unless they went to bed! I would have no issue with this except for the fact that they were in their room then, one of them already asleep in bed, and the other two were having tea and chatting!! Hardly having a rave!


Also the rooms have adjoining doors and you can hear literally everything going on in the next door room. This wasn't too bad for us as we were with the party in the adjoining room but I wouldn't have enjoyed listening to strangers as if they were in the room with us!!

The average age of the customers there was approx 60 years old and other than our group seemed to all be Scandanavian or German.

I wouldn't 'not' recommend this hotel but probably wouldn't stay there again.

  • Liked — View from apartment
  • Disliked — Age range at hotel and very, very noisy road
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curvy_Vixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2007

as soon as we got there i loved it, 14 of my family went including my three younger brothers and my daughter , it is great for kids with loads for them to do, the appartments need a bit of up grading but they are always clean! they are actually the cleanest appartments i have stayed in! the staff are so nice and the food is great!i would go back in the morning...

  • Liked — we wer in reach of shops the beach and great resturants
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank maryangela2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2007

stayed in these apartments in july this year.went with my boyfriend and our baby of 1 year old.the rooms where average,cleaned every day but place was crawling with cockroaches.we stayed on the first floor above the reception area and with some people getting coaches to the airport sometimes at 3 or 5 in the morning they would be shouting and banging for hours on end..another morning at 7.00am we where awoken to the sound of builders opposite our apartment throwing bits of metal from the top to the bottom of the stairs,when i went down to complain the receptionist said he told them to stop but i still got no apology.

The swimming pool wasnt very clean at all....

The food at the pool side bar wasnt edible as it was only half cooked.

I would never,ever return to these apartments.I dont know how people can actually go back to these apartments year after year!!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank becksDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Rico hotels

dublin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2007

16 Of us stayed here last july the hotel is nice and big with good evening restaurant and great pool scene.Apartments are clean and basic and within desperate need of modnerisation which you will see from my phtos.

Would definately stay here again.

  • Liked — Restaurant and pool
  • Disliked — Apertment
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gracilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,873 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
0.4 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Morasol Suites
Morasol Suites
#5 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
El Greco Apartments
El Greco Apartments
#14 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punta del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta del Rey

Property: Punta del Rey
Address: Avenida Mogan s/n, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Punta del Rey 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Punta del Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Del Rey Hotel Puerto Rico
Punta Del Rey Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing