We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Brilliant Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portonovo Apartments
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Brilliant Holiday”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My fiance and I spent two weeks here the beginning of sept 2013. It was a brilliant holiday. We generally wouldn’t return to the same place twice as there are so many places to see in the world, but this is the first holiday that we both said we would happily return. The apartment we stayed in (106) was huge, it was one bedroom, and had kitchen/living room with large flat screen tv. We were fortunate to have a very large balcony/terrace which was supplied with two sun loungers (I think there are only a few which have this facility, most of the rooms just have a small balcony with table and chairs). The location was perfect, right opposite the quiet marina, and only a couple of minute walk around the bay to the shops/restaurants/beach etc. It was not a loud of majorly busy place, but we did go in September, maybe it would have been busier earlier in the year. I read the reviews before we went away and was worried that there were going to be lots of cockroaches, but we only saw one during our stay and that wasn’t in the hotel either! The reception staff were extremely helpful, getting us additional towels if we needed them. And the staff at the Taj Palace downstairs were brilliant, you get 10% off in the evening if you show your room key as they are linked with the hotel. We went on one excursion which we booked through the Thomson Rep, Stacey, who was very good, which was a water taxi to the market in Mogan on a Friday, would deffo recommend, it was such a pretty little town. All in all an absolutely relaxing holiday which is just what we needed!!

Room Tip: Ask for room 106 or 107 as they have the large terrace/balconys!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EmilyJ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    116
    36
    21
    23
See reviews for
94
115
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

What a fab holiday we had. We thought Cyprus was hard to beat but this was fantastic.
After reading the reviews I thought the apartments were going to be awful - we were mistaken. Why the hell people are complaining I'll never know. You aint going to get a 5 star hotel on a budget.
Big lounge area, flat screen plasma with BBC 1, ITV, ITV2 CBBC and POP. A small kitchen with all the necessities, kettle, hob, toaster, fridge freezer. Seperate bedroom with a large window which opens, fitted wardrobes and bedroom furniture etc. Bathroom has stand up shower and also has a fitted hair dryer. I think we had clean towels three times. Not sure how many times we had clean sheets as our rooms seemed to be cleaned everyday. The pool was a nice size, plenty big enough for the amount of ppl around it. AND it WAS clean with no bugs. Also we never had to reserve beds, there were still free beds at 10.00 am. This is wen the sun comes out. Happy hour around the pool is 4-5 they will come around and ask if anyone wants drinks so you aint got to move off your beds.. Sit back and relax. We never ate at the restaurant so can't comment. There is also a beauticians next to the pool which is handy.
Restaurants - I can recommend the following: On the far end of the harbour there is a Greek Restaurant called Rhodos. They do amazing food. I had chicken breast stuffed with feta and tomatoes in a pepper sauce. It was lush. There is also an Italian there called Gran Italia - portions are huge. Theres two next door to eachother but we went to the Gran Italia.
If you come out of the hotel and turn left, go right around the corner, through the tunnel and up the little bit of a hill there are a few restaurants there - Go to the Toro Bravo steak/grill house. They have everything on the menu. Pasta, chicken, pizza, salads. We had fillet steak and it was soo fresh and delicious. Was the best. Gutted we didnt have chance to go there a second time.
The beach is just outside the hotel and across the road. Lovely beach, clear blue sea and very clean. Beds and umbrellas are 3.50 euro each. Lots of places to eat on the beach. There is also amadores beach which is about 4.00 euro in a taxi or a 20 minute walk. We caught taxi once and walked once. This beach is absolutely beautiful. Sooo clean and clear. Again 3.50 euro for beds and umbrellas. Lots of places to eat around the beach. Go to the Palm beach restaurant. Its the last restaurant on the far end. If you walk to the beach it will be the very first restaurant at the bottom of hill. Food was lush.
On the beach by the hotel there is a beach club - stunning white beds with drapes and round beds. We paid 25 euro for a round bed for two ppl. The pool is stunning and the food is also very nice too. Drinks are not that expensive either. 6-7 euro for a cocktail and 3.50 euro for a bottle of corona. There's also a spar by the beach too. Personally I thought it was cheaper than the shop by the hotel. Fresh bread and fruits and salad. Fruit in the hotel supermarket looked horrid and rotten.
The commercial centre is a ten minute walk. Be prepared the first day they were litetally dragging me by the arm to go into their bars and restaurants. We never ate in any of the restaurants here as its much quieter and personal down by the beach. As we were leaving tho it went a bit quiet and stopped nagging ppl to go in.
Lastly if you get chance to go on the supercat mini cruise book it with Stacey the Thomson rep. She's fab.
Its all inc for 49 euro and a fantastic couple of hours out.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kaw446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at the portonovo for 2 weeks in august. The apartment was large and very clean, we found it had everything you needed for self catering. It had a flat screen tv which was free, comfy beds, full shower cubical, hairdryer, towels changed every other day and beds twice a week. We stayed in room 245 and it over looked the beach and marina. There was a supermarket right by the apartments which we found to be cheaper than the spar which was just up the road. There are also bars beneath the apartments, we used Yogi and Benny's for food and a drink. The main centre is just a short walk away and you will be pleased to know it is all on the flat. Pool was nice and clean, but you had to be early to get a sunbed, but we liked the beach so for us this was not a problem. There was a bus stop and also plenty of taxis if you needed them. I must say we found the staff friendly, we had a very nice holiday and would be happy to return to the portonovo.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beverley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just came back from a lovely weeks stay at the portonovo with my boyfriend! We were pleasantly suprised at the hotel and the people writing bad reviews are clearly too picky! Upon arrival we had a quick check in to our hotel, the member of staff at reception was friendly and helpful. When we got to our room we weren't expecting much but it went above our expectations. It was clean, spacious and modern just as the brochure said! We had a lovely view of the marina too! The first thing we did when we got there was manage to lock ourselves out on the balcony because if you shut the balcony door you can't then slide it back across so we got a bit worried! But we rang down to the taj palace restaurant below the hotel to inform someone and also text the Thomson 24/7 hotline and they advised us that they would contact reception and a member of staff from reception came up straight away to unlock the door for us! The bedroom was a bit hot but we decided to put our mattresses in the living room each night as it was much cooler with the ceiling fan and we had a comfy nights sleep! We also rented another fan from reception which helped a lot and it wasn't very expensive as you get the deposit back at the end of your stay. The hotel is a short 15 minute walk to the main centre where there are lots of bars and restaurants to choose from! Breakfast at the greedy pig is a bargain! 3.95 for a small breakfast and that includes a drink aswell! We went there most days for breakfast! We also went there for a Sunday roast which is 9.95 for 3 courses and it was lovely! The hotel grounds were clean and the pool was great! We don't quite understand why people are saying you have to be up at 7am to reserve a sunbed as there were still loads left by 10am! All in all we saw 28 cockroaches the whole of the holiday but none of them were at the hotel so can't understand why people are moaning about cockroaches when we didn't see any at all at the hotel! Would definitely recommend the Sagittarius Cat boat trip, you stop off near to Mogan and are allowed to jump off the boat into the sea! It's 45 euros each and you get 4 and a half hours on the boat, lunch included and unlimited drinks, free banana boat ride and then if you want to go parasailing or jet skiing it's an extra 25 euros for each water sport. Aqualand in Maspalomas is also really good! It's 25 euros to get in an you get to stay there for the whole day! Bus number 70 goes there from Puerto Rico and it's 2.75 per person each way and takes about 25-30 mins! It's best to get to the bus early as it gets very busy and some people had to stand up! Another must do is the moonlight cinema in Maspalomas and bus number 33 stops right outside! It's run by English people and you get to watch a film on sofas, outside on a rooftop terrace! You get blankets and cushions as well and there is a menu to order drinks and food from! All in all we had a lovely stay at the Portonovo hotel! Nice, clean, friendly, lovely views and in a good position! Would definitely go back and would definitely recommend it to a friend!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PrinnyPea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just returned from a two week stay at the portonovo apts with my family, two of them being teenagers. We had two apartments, myself and my husband had one and the children had the other one. We wouldn't go back to those apartments ever. On arrival the reception man was very miserable and a bit rude when it came to handling the passports. My apart was not modern as it states in the brochure, the only modern décor was the kitchenette. Our bedroom was facing onto the corridor which meant that when sleeping our bedroom window couldn't be open as people passing by could see, especially when the other entrance was closed it was the only way for people on the other side of the hotel to get to their rooms. The cleanliness around the pool was disgusting ,on the pool cleaners day off the pool was full of dirt, the bins were overflown and the pool toilets were absolutely dreadful. There was never enough sunbeds for everyone, we had to get up at 7am to be guaranteed one and had to stay there until it was save enough to go back up to the rooms. Also as we were only 5 minutes from the beach on the weekends the Spanish would just walking off the streets thinking it was acceptable to bombard the pool. They were rude and thought it was acceptable to sunbath with there bikini tops off around little children. Another thing about the apartments was there was no mention in the brochure about that some of apts were rented out by the Spanish who were very very loud in the night time, inviting people around and not thinking of other people in the other apartments.
The apartment of arrival was clean but wasn't cleaned properly onwards, around the hotel there was dead cockroaches' being left there for a couple days and then being finally cleaned up .
The restaurant under the hotel served very nice food but the service for the bill was not acceptable one night we were waiting for 45 minutes for our bill when it wasn't that busy and the staff were just standing around. This has been one of the worst stays ever, the only decent part of the holiday was the weather and life up in the centre, and the excursions with thomson were really good as well!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a bedroom at the front of the apartment, and has a fan with a light in the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Rico hotels

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Was impressed with how clean the apartment was, really was thoroughly clean. The room is cleaned with new towels and new sheets every other day which is plentyful. The view of both the harbour and beach from the balcony was lovely. The apartment was a step onto the beach, and a few minutes into town, opposite the taxi place & harbour. The apartment has all the utensils you could possibly need for self-catering. I would highly recommend the Taj Palace underneath the hotel, friendly staff and beautiful food!! The pool is nice & plenty of sun loungers.
Its worth renting out a fan as without the air-con it can get very hot at night :-)

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment not directly above the restaurant and shops but over looking the beach, quiet a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KirstyLouL93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just returned after 7 nights in Portonovo. Group of 3 couples, self catering (late 30s). The apartments are fine, clean and spacious, but prone to cockroaches! Found the reception staff quite miserable. There are plenty of local supermarkets around and lots of bars, but the food isn't very good as every restaurant caters for every nationality. Pool isn't very big, not helped by all the lilos in it. Loungers generally claimed by 7am so you need to be up early. Poolside & beachside the temperature was mid 30s every day. Mainly locals at the beach who were used to the heat, but there has just been a heatwave.

Main problems are that there is no air con in the rooms, most people really struggled to sleep in 26+ degrees at night. It is by a very busy main road, so constant traffic noise. The appts look like they have all had their windows forced at some point. Lots of the sun loungers were broken. Not enough shade poolside. The staff in the Taj restaurant seemed to be a lot friendlier to the irish guests and not really interested in anyone else.

In the evenings the walk along the promenade is awful, you get stopped every 5 metres by someone trying to persuade you into their restaurant. Stay clear of the large shopping centre, lots of fakes and very pushy north african shop owners follow you around.

If you want a cheap holiday where you can just drink and fry I think this is fine, but if you want a relaxing holiday where you can take in a bit of culture and local cuisine then I would recommend the other islands. Sadly we all found Puerto Rico to be somewhat dirty and soulless.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,261 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Greco Apartments
El Greco Apartments
#12 of 68 in Puerto Rico
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rio Piedras Apartments
Rio Piedras Apartments
#25 of 68 in Puerto Rico
139 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
0.4 mi away
Maracaibo Aparthotel
Maracaibo Aparthotel
#20 of 68 in Puerto Rico
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portonovo Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portonovo Apartments

Property: Portonovo Apartments
Address: Calle de Juan Diaz Rodriguez, 29, 35100 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Portonovo Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 4 minutes walk from the beach. Apartamentos Portonovo is 100 m from Puerto Rico Beach in Gran Canaria. Set in gardens, the complex offers an outdoor pool, 24-hour reception and free WiFi in public areas. Each modern apartment has a living room with a sofa bed, balcony and flat-screen TV. There is a safe, private bathroom and a kitchenette with a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. There is an on-site restaurant, snack bar and supermarket, as well as a poolside bar. The complex also has a hairdresser's, laundry service and a massage center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portonovo Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portonovo Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing