We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second time...and justs gets better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Portonovo Apartments
Reviewed July 11, 2013

this was our second time here,and we loved it!
the place has got alot better since last year,we had a great app room 221 which was right above the pool and the indian resturant and our view was amazing the harbour was a joy to see everytime we popped onto balcony.....there was a little noise at night from the indian when clearing up etc but was only at 11ish and not major so never bothered us,we always ask for top floor so dont see any cockroaches lol.....the pool area is the best we have ever stayed at has its so peaceful,(get ya towels on beds early)and they also let you have free really comfy cushions for them,so if you want a place to just chill and relax it will suit you,and that aside if like us you want to unwind in the day and enjoy the evening we walk to the main center in a evening its a lovely 10 min walk and there you will fine all kinds off resturants,clubs,shops...and even a mac d...,there is a indian resturant at the hotel which i have to say is lovely and in the day serves lovely snacks but there is also a amazinggggg indian in the center up the stairs called ''happy valley'' a few people back home had told us off this place and they werent wrong...the only downside there is no air con so you will defo need to hire a fan from reception they are 15euro deposit and 15 per week which at night are a god send, please be aware when you are walking about to watch the cons with the time shares they will try anything even give you scratch cards which you will always win on,all boils down to get you to look round hotels etc its funny really so if sound to good to be true trust me it is just say NO if stopped and keep on walking... i have to say a massive thankyou to 'ANCA' a lady that works in the taj palace in the day she was a god send helping my husband, GREAT CHEAP HOLIDAY IF YOU WANT PEACE AND QUIET AND THE WEATHER..and both times we have been our rooms have been basic but roomy and clean

Room Tip: ask for high floor...great views x
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sharon k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 281 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

We have just returned home after a fortnights holiday at the Portonovo,Had a fantastic time,Hotel is lovely,staff are very friendly,although we had a bit of an issue with a overflowing bin under the sink left by the previous guests,we reported it,but was told the maids were not in until Wednesday so we put it outside,was'nt willing to keep other peoples rubbish in our room for two days,apart from that everything was brilliant,Great location for everything,We have visited Puerto Rico for 20 years,this is the best hotel we have stayed in apart from the odd cockroach,[to be expected in the canary islands,] The swimming pool is lovely,very clean,but quite deep,so if you have small children they definately need armbands on all the time,there are plenty of sunbeds and cushions to go round,there was when we were there anyway,a lot of the guests went to the beach because it was so close,there is an indian restaurant next to the pool which serve drink and food all day,we used it for food a couple of times,but had a drink there everyday,the staff are lovely,very friendly and polite,they actually gave us some milk on arrival because we were to late for the supermarket,you would'nt get that in many hotels.Taxi's are situated just over the road at the end of the hotel,Cost to Commercial Centre was around 2.50 euros,but if you like walking,it is 20 minutes away.There is a restaurant called The Red Rose next to the Marina,lovely breakfast,plus had a lovely evening meal there,but by far the best restaurant is The Sabidan,next to the taxi rank in Commercial centre,best steak ever,another good eating place is The Greedy Pig,also next to taxi rank,The best bar is the Sunspot on the top level at the opposite end to taxi rank,it is run by Jose and Stacey,who are lovely,also the staff,Heath,Makala and juanito,they are all very friendly and a great bunch.Boat trip to Puerto Mogan on a Friday is a must,not so much for the market,but for the place itself,it is very pretty with all the flowers and pretty buildings,very well kept.All in all,highly recommend the Portonovo Hotel,we will be returning,might even be next year,been looking this morning at the holidays and it is only £75 more than this year.Great Value for money. Two satisfied Guests. Mr John Harvey and Mrs Rose Harvey.

Room Tip: Ground floor is were we stayed,loved it,never had a problem with any noise apart from some early arr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

just got back from here 18th june 2003 and all i can say is the rooms are adequate for a self catering holiday. yes a few faults, rust in bath shower not working properly but hey your on holiday it will never be home from home, we stayed in room 29 ground floor so step out onto your balcony and you were right at the pool so our sunbeds were always reserved!! signs around the pool say its not open til 10am but watched people sit around by 8am so no problems there, staff friendly enough rooms clean enough and pool area cleaned each day, downside to this place is the spanish can walk in and use the pool and sunbeds which they did on our week here and they kind of take over, very loud rude people!!!!!! had to move away a few times before we lost our tempers, all in all cant really fault the portonovo


eat at the taj palace underneath the apartments fab food each time and 10% discount from your food bill if u show your key but you have to keep reminding them also the irish rose delic food.

we also had no water or milk when we got there as it was late and no supermarket was open but the taj gave us these things which we replaced to thank them for their gesture really appreciated this,


another tip please keep an eye on your money in the shops and bars we were shortchanged many times but quickly learnt to check change at the till also some prices stated in shops can be higher when you go to till so be wary!!!!!

we felt this holiday was a little too quiet for us the bars were dead so unless you fancy the 20min or so walk to town centre each night well your choice but it wasnt for us oh and did have the odd cockroach in the room and alot outside the apartments but we were warned beforehand so just had to be careful

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

For the third year running we have stayed at these self catering apartments ,you cannot fault them .They are in an ideal position and so reasonably priced,they are on the flat right by the marina and 1 min from the beach will be looking forward to going back next year.Staff very helpful and always a sunbed by the pool never gone to the pool and not been able to get a sun bed.All apartments have two ring cooker,fridge,microwave kettle coffee machine toaster ect

Room Tip: higher floors are quieter and can have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MargaretfromWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with a couple of mates in may 2013 the area we were in was right on the marine so you had no steps idea for people who may struggle, it was a ten minute walk to the beach and twenty minutes from town and yes no hills or steps. The hotel for what we paid for a 12 day stay was brilliant we were self catering and had breakfast and evening meals out mostly at a fair price, the staff at the hotel were helpful and so were the holiday reps, the holiday and area it's self was very clean and you felt safe, they say its also who you go away with that helps our age range between myself and my two mates is 43 to 62, we all agreed the whole package was amazing value and would recommend to anybody who would be using this for a base to get about.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dexastra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

These are great apartments if your looking for somewhere to rest your head between days out. The apartments are a great size, clean and comfortable with amazing views if the harbour, pool and beach depending which end your room is. If you like entertainment in your hotel there isn't any but it's located a good distance to all the bars and restaurants if peurto rico.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sez91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

I thought the portonovo apartments were great,decent size,very clean,good location on the marina and had a lovely pool. On sight restaurant's and bars were nice to.its only a few minutes walk to the beach and loads of restaurants and bars all at competitive prices.a boat trip to Puerto Mogan Is worth a trip out. Ill definetly be going again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank stubuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 67 in Puerto Rico
3,294 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
0.0 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#15 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Morasol Suites
Morasol Suites
#6 of 67 in Puerto Rico
840 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rio Piedras Apartments
Rio Piedras Apartments
#26 of 67 in Puerto Rico
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portonovo Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portonovo Apartments

Address: Calle de Juan Diaz Rodriguez, 29, 35100 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Rico
Price Range: $77 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portonovo Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 4 minutes walk from the beach. Apartamentos Portonovo is 100 m from Puerto Rico Beach in Gran Canaria. Set in gardens, the complex offers an outdoor pool, 24-hour reception and free WiFi in public areas. Each modern apartment has a living room with a sofa bed, balcony and flat-screen TV. There is a safe, private bathroom and a kitchenette with a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. There is an on-site restaurant, snack bar and supermarket, as well as a poolside bar. The complex also has a hairdresser's, laundry service and a massage center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Portonovo Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portonovo Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing