We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxed, and friendly, comfortable spacious well equipped appartment”
Review of Hotel Riosol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riosol
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Reviewed February 6, 2011

This is my 4/5 stay at the Riosal, and the accommodation is excellent with great views below, with comfortable loungers and umbrella on each terrace, and good lighting, plus spacious lounge/kitchen in living area. The staff are very welcoming and it is a very relaxing holiday. The appartment is kept spotlessly clean and linen is changed every 3 days.

My only negative comment to make is the beds are quite hard - and there is sometimes a smell in the bathroom, but a squirt of room fragance improves it - Spanish drains are different to british ones.

The entertainment was excellent and varied and Paco does a great job with the kids and organising all the other activities such as aerobics, line dancing, music quizzes and shows.

The bus service is infrequent down to the town, but it is a easy walk down to the beach/town and about 3.5 euros by taxi back.

I did suggest a Film show one night although for a two week stay paying 14 euros a week for a TV was advantageous and enjoyable to keep up with news, sport etc. Also better equipment in the Gym would be an improvement if the weather was not good.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

947 - 953 of 1,480 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2011

the photos of the apartments in this hotel are very misleading, the 2 bed apt was very cramped, absolutely suffocatingly hot and smelled,furniture had seen better days and the kitchen area was basic to say the least. the small patio was seperated from the main walkway by a 2 foot high wall so not alone would you not have any privacy but you would really not be able to open the windows as anyone walking past could literally reach in to the rooms. the apartment was dark and again if you opened the curtains to let in more light you may as well have been sitting in a fishbowl, when we arrived at 1am the apartment door was wide open, we warily entered only to find we could not lock the door either from the inside or outside, in fairness reception did send a maintenance man to sort out the door within a few minutes, despite this my husband sat up all night as we did not feel secure,the following morning when i got a good look at the place in daylight i decided that we could not stay for the 3 weeks i had booked, again i will give full credit to the staff when i explained how unhappy i was they immediately offered me another apartment or a refund i took the refund and booked into another property,i cannot comment on the facilities as i was not there long enough to use them, obviously having read the reviews on this site the riosol are very popular with a lot of people , i would just say if you value privacy or security you may want to think twice before booking these apartments

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JODEAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

when reviewing its very easy to focus on the negatives but sometimes you have to realise unless your 5 or 6 star its not going to be faultless.
we loved Riosol .........

The Good...

The Location - Excellent, AMAZING views and the taxis are really cheap so we often would get a taxi down to puerto rico its about 2.50 euros. you can also walk down the steps to the harbour and then follow coastal path to amadores beach.

The Rooms - nicely re-furbished clean and modern. ( beds very hard though!!) balcony is massive with table 2 chairs and 2 sunbeds !! brilliant!! could look at the view all day!!!

The Staff - ok

The Pool - Clean and plenty of sunbeds- not at the weekend though when the spanish take over ( we then used sister hotel as it was very quiet and very nice pool bar that did beer in frozen glass for 1 euro .......very friendly !!

Blanket trip- Well worth it as its free and had a great day out( you just have to spend an hour having a mattress demonstration ...no hard sell though!! )
Mogan - went on the glass bottom boat from the port, lovely day out and much cheaper than going with reps !!

Maspalomas desert - get a bus from bus station in puerto rico and it costs 2.70 euros each way to playa del ingles from there we walked along the beach to maspalomas and had a good day out !!

ANFI- this is the time share resort a short taxi ride away, we decided to go as it sounded nice, we were shown around by a nice spanish man called Miguel , we were taken to the pent house suite as well as the regular 1 bedrooms and it was all stunning we had food and drink ( all free ) taki there and back- free and had about 15 mins of selling which we declined and it was fine, then on return to riosol we asked rep if we could have cash instead of trip voucher and he said that was fine so we were 45 euros up which paid for ferry to mogan and back !!



The Bad...

COCKROACHES- i believe that cockroaches are native to gran canaria and not a dirty thing BUT we arrived at about 4am and were given a map to our room and i have never seen such enormous cockroaches there were 3 in our apartment ( AND THEY FLY ) and we almost turned round and came home but we got spray from reception and had to use it twice a day; we gradually learned to live with it but for 2 weeks became pest controllers constantly on edge !!

The beds - the 2 sunloungers on balcony were far more comfortable

all in all loved gran canaria really enjoyed the riosol but staying at different hotel in june, but would go back if the cockroach problem was sorted out!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank snoopysnose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

i went to the riosol end of last september,it has been re furbed to a high standard.this was my 4th visit.love it and love puerto rico.will go again,weather always great.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westmidsgirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Booked Riosol for 11 days but left after 5. Apartments basic but all over the place My advice is "don't go there". One outdoor "lift" to service all apartments. Sounded it was ready to fall apart when you got into it and, in fact, it did break down while we were there. Staff not very helpful. Had to leave after 5 days and went to El Greco which was heaven on earth.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carlykooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

We have spent our winter holidays at the Riosol for the last 20 years. We have even booked for Christmas 2011 and Christmas 2012. We have recommend the Riosol to friends who are also members now. The staff always make you welcome. We just email them with our dates and room number and they always accommodate us. Our children have grown up going there during their school holidays and in fact now go there as adults with their girlfriend and husband.You never have to worry about what to expect. It is always our chill out holiday to get away from it all with no hassles.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkLittlelegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

have stayed in riosol many times very clean very friendly and staff very friendly and helpfuful great location rooms and balconies very good if u dont want to move away from balconies you dont have too meals are very variedyoucan make it as relaxed as you w ant we are also riosol club members came with friends who would also recomend mr mrs greenwood

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riosol85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
0.6 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#15 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#11 of 16 in Mogan
472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#14 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,941 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riosol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riosol

Address: C/ Isla de Lobos 1, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Riosol Aparthotel)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range: $79 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riosol 3*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riosol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riosol Aparthotel Puerto Rico
Riosol Aparthotel Hotel Puerto Rico
Hotel Riosol Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing