We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST OF BOTH WORLDS APARTHOTEL” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riosol

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Riosol
Ranked #16 of 70 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“BEST OF BOTH WORLDS APARTHOTEL”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

The apartments are really spacious with a large accommodating terrace. complete with all one's holiday needs. Comfortable loungers with mattress,table & chairs. the views would be hard to beat. Fantastic!
Ideally,one needs transport but taxis are cheap. apparently there used to be a local bus service but not now. Should the hotel consider supplying a mini bus,perhaps at a small charge,it would be very popular.
We chose half board but next time would consider self catering. Personal choice. The Europa Centre is close by for shopping but the hotel has its own small,well stocked mini market. We found the prices here very comparable to the supermarkets on the whole.
We hope to use this hotel again.

Room Tip: To many of the apartments there a flights of steps but for the less abled there are apartments with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Giavanna5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparthotelRiosol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Riosol, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
We have strived and will continue to strive, to offer the best of both worlds to use your words. Of course the view from our hotel always gets such an amazing response, we are so lucky with our position at the top of Puerto Rico . I feel that our role is to compliment that with a comfortable environment within, and with helpful, friendly staff- I am pleased that this seemed to come across during your visit. Please come back soon!

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Sentís
Riversun-Touristic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    457
    221
    94
    67
See reviews for
569
459
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 1 week stay and were very happy with the Riosol, we would definitely use it again.
We have used 3 other Hotel/Aparthotels in Peurto Rico of various star ratings from the Budget end at Nido del Aguiles (never to be repeated) to the all inclusive top end of Gloria Palace (beautiful place but we feel too tied with all inc, preferring to visit local restaurants and bars)
The informal set up at Riosol of room only was perfect for how we holiday. Our apartment was placed excellently with all day sun on to the largest balcony we've had in P.Rico, reasonably private too with 2 sunbeds a coffee table and chairs. We had spectacular view down the mountain over the beach and harbours.
Showing a few signs of typical wear and tear, only what is to be expected for an apt constantly in use, our twin bedroom, good sized shower/ bathroom and large lounge area were all clean and tidy on arrival and well kept throughout our stay, the small kitchen area was well appointed with double ceramic hob if you need it and a full sized fridge, the rooms are cleaned 5 days out of 7 and bedding changed every 3 days.
All staff, from our first visit to the reception to barstaff and housekeeping were polite and helpful, reception staff speak excellent English. We contacted the reception on 2 occasions and both times our needs were quickly and efficiently handled.
Geographically, the Riosol is at the top of a very steep hill next to the Europa centre of Restaurants/shops/bars etc. Its about a 4 Euro taxi ride down the hill to the larger commercial centre area or a walk down the hill or steps.
The only cautious advice I would give is if you are not good on your feet, most of the rooms are reached via a combination of a cable car type lift then sloping walkways and finally tiers of steps. Not a problem for us but it could be for others, there's maybe a porter service?(we didn't have to ask so not sure) and definitely some rooms are a lot more accessible than others so expressing a need on booking should sort it.
Overall our new favourite place (at the moment!) to stay In P.Rico.

Room Tip: Would suggest asking prior to arrival for a high room for best views and easier access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vicky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparthotelRiosol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Riosol, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Once again, it is our location that gives the wow factor to a visit here. However, what pleased me most is your comments on service- it is our constant objective to deliver the very best standards of customer care. Thank you for your review.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Sentís
Riversun-Touristic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Having booked for the Riosol at new year instead of our usual hotel for the past four years, we were stepping into the unknown. Having arrived at the Riosol we were greeted by a smily receptionist who wanted to help as much as possible. Checking in was easy, finding and getting to our room was the hard part. We followed the directions given and finally found our apartment. The apartment was spacious, clean and a good size balcony with table and chairs and two sun loungers. The pool areas were huge and very spacious. You also didn't need to get up early to get a sun bed around the pool. Massive plus. The pool area was quiet with the children playing in the upper pool. Although we were self catering we did try the half board option one evening and were disappointed with what we paid for the variety that wasn't available. The Riosol is not for the feint hearted who don't like walking, although the lift does take you to the level you need. All be it slowly! All in all we had a great holiday with fantastic views across the resort and would return to this hotel.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank Referee125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparthotelRiosol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Riosol, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for your review, and I hope that you will have the chance to return for some leisure time. Your comments regarding your stay are much appreciated.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Sentís
Riversun-Touristic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Everything about this hotel was average or below. It looks nice but on closer inspection, it's not so nice. The staff were quite abrupt and rude, the food was ok-ish and the rooms were just ok. We were a long way away from reception and it was quite a mission to get to our room. The pools were far too cold to swim in and I won't be going back. I'd rather stay in the Colina Mar which is much better value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near as near to reception level as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparthotelRiosol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Riosol, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Of course I have been very disappointed to read this comment, especially as it is so dissimilar to so many of our reviews.
We hope that guests experience real value for money when visiting us and that we are well placed amongst competitors. Never the less, every honest comment is appreciated.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Sentís
Riversun-Touristic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful clean hotel fantastic views. staff couldn't do enough for us. rooms cleaned on a regular basis to a high standard food was wonderful plenty of choice. The only fault was I had to leave to come home :-( . Can't wait to return hopefully in April

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank countyno1nn26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparthotelRiosol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Riosol, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for describing your stay so beautifully. It sums up exactly what we are trying to achieve on a daily basis. We hope you will be able to return.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Sentís
Riversun-Touristic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

After returning to Puerto Rico every year , it's the first time we have tried riosol after reading the reviews I was rather worried. But yesterday came home after an amazing holiday. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful , beautiful hotel , rooms clean, huge balcony with two sunbeds. We did have to be asked to move rooms and this was granted and the next day we received a bottle of wine . Pools beautiful , views lovely . Entertainment wasn't the best but we didn't go for that .
Would definitely return next year .

Room Tip: Didn't get a room with a view at first but was no problem and got moved to room 3111 which was b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brydie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparthotelRiosol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Riosol, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
It really does mean a lot to me, and indicate that we are approaching our business in the right way, when I hear positive comments about our team of staff. I am pleased we were able to make your holidays enjoyable. Thank you for your kind words.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Sentís
Riversun-Touristic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We arrived late on sat nite, apt given was a disaster, round at the very back of building, looking at the entrance of maintance area of pool !!!!!! We asked to be changed, did not happen till late monday !!!! Although a lot better we felt as though we lost few days, we found the apts spacious and very clean, the pool area was really good as lots of sun beds and no towels out early in morning, it was at the top of the mountain socabs down and back up, that not a fault, as it was the apts that got our attention not where they were, would I go back ?????? Yes !!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karenmc158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparthotelRiosol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Riosol, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Your review is much appreciated, I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Sentís
Riversun-Touristic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.3 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,884 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
0.2 mi away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#12 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Servatur Puerto Azul
Servatur Puerto Azul
#20 of 70 in Puerto Rico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riosol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riosol

Property: Hotel Riosol
Address: C/ Isla de Lobos 1, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Riosol Aparthotel)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riosol 3*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Riosol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riosol Aparthotel Puerto Rico
Riosol Aparthotel Hotel Puerto Rico
Hotel Riosol Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing