We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay!”
Review of Hotel Riosol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riosol
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
walsall
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Just okay!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Apartments were very clean and well maintained :) however I had booked a sea view apartment and was given one with a great big wall in front of the balcony. After complaining the management did swap it.

Food was just average. We choose some evenings to eat at a restaurant rather than the hotel as the food was repetitive and sometimes not to our taste.

The pool area was very disappointing :( beds were crammed together and sun beds were reserved early in the morning. In fact we didn't spend one day by the pool.

Generally staff were friendly n very polite.

I wouldn't stay here again as not really my scene.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank njwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparthotelRiosol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Riosol, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, I am sorry that some aspects of the hotel did not meet your expectations, in particular that your experience in the Restaurant did not reflect variety, something we are striving to achieve now more than ever with the thematic buffets that take our visitors to the flavours and tastes of different cultures´ cuisines. I hope that despite your experience, you may wish to try us once more and if you do, I am certain that your opinion of us will change.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Sentís
Riversun-Touristic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    505
    239
    100
    69
See reviews for
635
496
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

i was in puerto rico for a week staying in riosol they are lovely apartments only the smell in the bathroom was horrible! the food was nice, the bar was nice and the cleaners were nice too. The Pool was lovely and so was the supermarket. Free wifi at reception and i can connect to it from my apartment balcony! The people at reception were lovely too. There is 2 Playstations, 2 Computers and 2 massage chairs at reception. And the Jacuzzi at the pool was relaxing. And its obly 30 minutes to get there from the airport. i would go back!:)

Room Tip: 3049 was the room i was staying in. Big and lovely room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparthotelRiosol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Riosol, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
I enjoy reading such balanced review, as it is so beneficial to us in our continual objective to improve. Your comments on nice food and service have been well received and appreciated by all of our team who take a keen interest in how we fare on Trip Advisor and what our guests reactions are when they have visited.
The minus point about a bathroom smell have already been given attention.
I hope that you will consider the Riosol Hotel again when visiting Puerto Rico and that you will enjoy that experience even more.


Kind Regards

Lorenzo Sentís
Riversun-Touristic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a week at the riosol,great hotel,apartments were spotless clean,we went half board,the food on some nights was fine,but kind of all the same stuff,breakfast was fine,cereal,hot cooked food and lots of pastries.there are lots of steps but they have a lift which was great,especially with the weather being very hot!!!the staff were very friendly and helpful,there is a little supermarket too which was very cheap,and had everything you would need.we will definitely be returning.hopefully just after Christmas.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jackog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparthotelRiosol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Riosol, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Some excellent feedback, thank you. I am pleased that you would like to visit again and hope you have the opportunity.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Sentís
Riversun-Touristic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We have been going here now for 22yrs , people may ask why ! Guaranteed weather , nice place , nice people some of whom have been there since we have been going , very friendly , I havnt realy got nothing negative to say about the place , except we will be going there for nxt year and probably years to come !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank barto440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Rio sol for 2 weeks beginning of October. (Myself, husband & 2 teenagers). All staff were friendly, polite and helpful. The rooms were spacious and clean, the Maids did a fab job. The balcony/ terrace was a generous size with table, chairs, parasol and 2 sun loungers. The location of the apts give you fantastic views, absolutely stunning. The reception has free wifi and is huge. The food in the pool bar was great and reasonably priced. The swimming pools were large and very clean. There is a rooftop pool that is very understated and a perfect suntrap. The beaches (2) are close by and easily reached on foot, as is the main shopping centre and bus depot. The only downside is that the hotel is located at the top of a steep hill, however taxis are easily accessible and cheap (and very worth it for the views). The only thing I think of that would have made our holiday more comfortable would be if the rooms had air conditioning as it was very hot. Air conditioning was available to hire but was very expensive. All in all we had a fantastic holiday and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank allyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed with my mother and two children for 5 nights in October. We wanted a few days in the sun and the weather was fabulous. The hotel was fine, the apartment clean and spacious with a huge balcony and stunning views. TV and air con cost extra, we didn't hire them and the temperature was just about bearable at night but any hotter and you would need to. The hotel is built on a steep hill as is most accommodation in Puerto Rico so be prepared for lots of steps. The hotel had only one lift, a bit like a cliff railway, an experience but quite slow. It is necessary to use it though due to the number of steps back up to the pool and bar/reception. We self catered so can't comment on the food but drinks and snacks at the bar very reasonable. They're are plenty of restaurants in PR but the downside to this is being hassled by the restaurant owners, all the meals we had were good though. On the whole a great place for a few days in the sun, but not sure about a fortnight here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room nearer to reception and pool area. All seem to have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BristolEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had high hopes for this place as the online pics looked stunning alas a few things let it down firstly the layout of the place is very random and confusing and only having one creaky Funicular lift for a place with over 300 rooms meant we had to wait over an hour to get our cases to our room perhaps another lift for luggage would be an asset( the present one can only hold max 6/8Adults then the food we went half board for the first time Breakfast was no problem cereal toast omelette however the evening menu was a problem as Veggies yet again we were way down the list on the night of our arrival a cold supper was offered and declined( Ham/cheese salad) I had a bowl of muesli and my partner also and the waitress was good enough to bring us some warm milk the staff on the meal desk were quite curt and abrupt I do feel this is not a place for the English Norway/Denmark /Sweden seemed to be there top priority however the serving staff were pleasant and polite and we had 7 days of high 20 temps and were able to visit Playa del inglas Maspaloma and the pretty Puerto de Mogon on the cheap Global buses which were clean reliable and fast not a bad place with a few tweaks but not the best

Room Tip: Try and ask for one that does not involve using the very busy lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brumlads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
0.6 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#13 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,870 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#14 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
2.8 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#9 of 16 in Mogan
452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Servatur Puerto Azul
Servatur Puerto Azul
#24 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riosol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riosol

Property: Hotel Riosol
Address: C/ Isla de Lobos 1, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Riosol Aparthotel)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riosol 3*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riosol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riosol Aparthotel Puerto Rico
Riosol Aparthotel Hotel Puerto Rico
Hotel Riosol Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing