We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The ratings are True!! Great value hotel”
Review of Hotel Riosol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riosol
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The ratings are True!! Great value hotel”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

we stayed for a week in this selfcatering hotel and it is fabulous, your on top of a hill overlooking puerto rico beach and harbour. the appartment was modern & clean, the tv was in the blink a bit but we didn't mind. the gym was adequate and cool enough to train in. the pool area was beautiful. like other reviews there is no air con, but there is a fan and you can only get wi fi at reception. this didin't bother us and we were expecting it. we didn't go to any of the entertainment in the hotel so i can't comment on that. some people in previous reviews gave out about having to get a taxi up and down to the resort, we just factored this in to the cost of our holiday. it wasn't a lot overall and it was worth it for the comfort. i would definitely recommend the jeep safari which can be booked through reception. beautiful full day tour you get to see a lot of the beautiful land scape on roads you wouldn't like to drive in a hire car and they collect you from near the hotel(i wouldn't recommend this one if you have a bad back). staff were very friendly and helpful with the exception of one blonde curly haired lady with glasses. if your going to the nearby business center Barbacoa is quality and the only place i could recommend for food and they have a hyperdino supermarket, on the sea front to the our side of the beach aguaviva was the best restaurant (plaice special magnificent) charlies was pretty good too but we both preferred aguaviva

Room Tip: our appartment was near the coast side of the resort so we had a bit of a walk to reception and ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ardmoreman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    472
    223
    94
    67
See reviews for
584
470
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is a great hotel, clean and tidy and easy to get around, great bar (especially at happy hour which is actually 45 mins where what ever you order you get double)

Enough space around the pools even for a family of 5 appearing daily! Very handy little shop on site but a couple of supermarkets close by.

Now, just one hiccup, as mentioned we are a family of five and booked two rooms etc etc - we got there and were told our room is 'around the back' yes, despite all the photos of the hotel over looking Puorto Rico harbour they have three or four the other side of the 'headland' that over look a service ramp!

Admittedly after some choice words we were moved but not for two days and ended up in a fantastic suite/room but is did ruin, and I dont use that word lightly, it did ruin our first two days.

Great walk to the beaches, but dont believe people when they say the other beach is better than the one in the harbour as its not, its crushed shell and coral and quite uncomfortable. Take the steps down, its a great walk and a taxi back up is about 3 euros.

Some great bars and restaurents around, take the people trying to usher you into each and every one with a pinch of salt, they are just doing a job and are mostly polite.

Anyway, the hotel is 99% what it says, for a package holiday you wont be disappointed!

ps, took someones advice on here and left a few euros for the cleaner each day.....did a great job!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nedders94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparthotelRiosol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Riosol, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comprehensive review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the feedback, both the positive and the constructive. As a group, we tend to obsess about how we can get better and we share all of our guests feedback to ensure that happens.

Once again we appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Warm regards,

Lorenzo Sentis
Customer Service/Riversun Touristic
customerservice@riversun-touristic.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Have been to this hotel twice now and find it amazing
The rooms are superb with great sea views, the food amazing and staff very friendly, the pools are beautiful and the surrounds are very nice.
As this hotel is high up it would not be ideal for somebody with walking issues, although you can get a cab from top to bottom.
The shopping centres are great with some good bars and restaurants, the beaches are superb, you have the main one wich is lovely and is found at the bottom of the complex, or you have the man made beach which is signposted half way down the volcano and has beautiful white sands.
This whole place is a little piece of heavan and I would recommend to everybody.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank leebkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just returned from my first puerto rico holiday booked these apartments has they looked modern and clean and had good reviews we could have got cheaper but wanted to stay somewhere decent. bookeda two bedroomed apartment which was very comfatable in size two bathrooms two balconys only down fall was no aircon whih you do find in a lot of self catering apartments there was a fan in each bedroom but they dont do much has while we were there it was very hot. Later in holiday we found out you could hire a aircon unit for 50 euro, there are two pools one is heated in winter months there we no shortage of sunbeds but may be busier in summer location wise was excellent right next to the quiter of the two centres the europa we ate out here numerous times and all meals were lovely i recommend el toro, barbacoa and el brasera all lovely meals. there are bars up here an it is ideal for familys more relaxed and safe than the cantre down in the bottom of puerto rico, the larger centre is livelier with plenty going off loads of bars and places to eat you can walk from riosol which takes around 30 minutes you have to walk around the windy roads then its steps at the very bottom it costs 4 euro in a taxi down there. We also got a taxi to amadores beach which costs aroundthe same both beaches are lovely. I would definatly return to the riosol but would think about upgrading they have some better rooms with aircon and large balconys with furniture on.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lynnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We booked the holiday last minute over Easter to get away from the terrible weather. I am so glad we did. The hotel was fantastic and great value for money. My husband and I and our 12 year old daughter had a one bedroom apartment close to the swimming pool. The rooms are clean and spacious and had everything we needed. The terrace was fantastic with outstanding views down to Puerto Rico. The swimming pools were clean and there were enough sunbeds for everyone. We loved the reception area and the views from the bar. The staff were all friendly and helpful and we had a very enjoyable holiday at the Riosol. We are just about to book to go again with my Mother for her 80th Birthday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Have stayed at the Riosal many times and enjoy the comfortable Appartment, friendliness of the staff, cleanliness and good varied food and excellent entertainment provided by Paco and Angelo in the past. Also the weather which was wonderful for last 2 weeks of January 2013 and was an added bonus.

It was noticeable however, that the bar emptied out most evenings as the Entertainment Manager has now changed roles and is working on the Management Team. Paco kept the guests in the bar and we had great fun line-dancing which was sadly lacking. Anyone new coming to stay would not realise this, but it was a great shame and we did not have the same atmosphere. We discussed these changes with many regular guests who also felt the same disappointment with the entertainment provided.

The other suggestion I would like to make is to have a couple of extra English TV stations as there is satellite in place and I believe other hotels have this facility, especially as there are very few english staying at the Riosal and it is mainly Scandinavians who occupy the hotel in January and February. I hope the Management will take my observations on board.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparthotelRiosol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Riosol, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel here, I am so sorry for the disappointment with the entertainment in your recent stay with us.
As the former Entertainment Manager ( my full name is Paco Lorenzo Sentís) I know how important is this department for the enjoyment of our guests.
Since I left the job, several entertainers have been working in the Riosol Hotel, all of them developing different skills and styles in the organization of the daily program and its activities.
During this period we did careful studied the reactions of the guests to their ways of organizing , resulting in the decision taken in April of bringing back the most successful of them. Ramón has started working as the entertainment manager at the beginning of June, and so far only got positive comments from our guests, children and adults.
I know that if you visit the Hotel again in the not too distant future, you will experience by yourself the freshness and quality of the new entertainment program, shows and activities of the Riosol Hotel.
Kindest regards,

Paco Lorenzo Sentis
Customer Service/Riversun Touristic
customerservice@riversun-touristic.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

What can we say, we've just had another fantastic week at the Riosol. No complaints from us - if anything isn't quite right just tell them at Reception. They will do their best to sort it out. We had a diffrent room this time but still had a great view over Puerto Rico bay. We believe the pool area is being re-furbished throughout May when the Hotel shuts. Didnt think they could ever improve on the pool area as it always looks as clean and fresh as when we first saw it back in 1989 ...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MAC_BARB39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.6 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,992 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
0.2 mi away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#12 of 68 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Servatur Puerto Azul
Servatur Puerto Azul
#19 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riosol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riosol

Property: Hotel Riosol
Address: C/ Isla de Lobos 1, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Riosol Aparthotel)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riosol 3*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Riosol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riosol Aparthotel Puerto Rico
Riosol Aparthotel Hotel Puerto Rico
Hotel Riosol Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing