We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit to this hotel 4th visit overall”
Review of Hotel Riosol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riosol
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
durham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“2nd visit to this hotel 4th visit overall”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Stayed here again in October as the kids really enjoyed it, stayed in a 2 bed apartment, spectacular views, all areas are clean and tidy, staff polite, maids are very helpful. Paco (i think that was his name) works really hard doing the entertainment but really needs assistance as it is hard work by himself. Little mini market on site is great and not over-priced for many basic essentials.

The room we stopped in this time was a bit noisy as it was next to steps up to the pool/bar area and could do with a bit of updating. The room which was further down the first year was excellent and quiet especially when you have children.

Overall a great location and holiday and would recommend highly, as you have the best of both with the Europa complex and also the Commercial Centre down the hill.

**Advice to hotel-try to get the lift fixed down to the bottom as it was many many years ago when we first visited and keep up the good work on the reception**

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carol d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    504
    238
    100
    69
See reviews for
632
496
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Spent two weeks over Easter apartments spacious and clean. The balconies each have beautiful views over the harbour and sea. Sunsets amazing. Car a benefit though taxis very reasonable. Staff and service in hotel excellent, apartments cleaned five days out of seven(spotless) Overall would recommend a visit we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carlisle2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Arrived at hotel 9th. April for two weeks,must be the highest one there. have been to several hotels over our last seven visits to Puerto Rico,all have had their good points. but the view from this one was out of this world, especially late at night when you could see all the different coloured lights right down to the commercial centre. Lovely big balcony with table, chairs and two large sun beds, sun from first thing in the morning till 5pm , then we would go up to the pool. The apartment had a really lovely sitting room with two nice sofas and a very nice bedroom with twin beds. It was kept very clean and beds and towels changed every two or three days. Had most of our meals at the Europa Centre about 5 minutes walk, for good meals at reasonable prices I would recomend Restuarant Chigago across from Supermarket all day breakfast which we usually had in the afternoon, included tea and juice marmalade and jam all for 3.50 euros, and then good meals in the evenings starting about 5 euros. Bus into main Commercial centre from stop just outside hotel cost 90cents.Some evenings we went back to Hotel for entertainment which usually started after mini disco stopped about 10pm. Some turns were really good also had good nights in the Blarney Stone pub next to the Chicago. Had a really nice holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BelleScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I am a fan of Puerto Rico. I love all the Canary Islands but the setting in Puerto Rico is fantastic. Its similar to the setting in Santorini. The riosol must have the best view of it all. I could have stayed on my balcony forever looking over the cliff side to the beach and harbour, watching all the boats and watersports. The sun hits your terrace/balcony from 7.45am to 7pm and it was April not all the places in Puerto Rico could boast that. I`ve stayed in a few apartments in Puerto Rico over the years and always liked the look of the riosol so because it was my 40th I decided to have a week there before my birthday celebration began.

We booked with Thomas Cook who couldn`t have been better in-store.(Braehead, Glasgow) The flights were ok... delayed for 2 hours going, not a lot of room, and no in-flight movie but we arrived and it was cloudy but warm. There was no-one at the other end to meet us and eventually we got a coach about an hour after we arrived. Not the best starts but we were finally on our way.
We arrived at the Riosol. The reception was clean and tidy with a lot happening. There`s free wi-fi so loads of teenagers sitting around on there ipods, ipads etc. The receptionists were very efficient and multi-lingual which they would have to be. The riosol is very cosmopolitan. Straight away all you could hear was German, Dutch, Polish, Spanish, Italian accents. So much so that the restaurant has themed buffet nights every night... monday night - Canarian, tuesday - Italian, wednesday - Chinese, Thursday - German and so on. The entertainment team (2 Spanish girls) had many activities organised... shuffleboard, archery, tennis, table tennis, water aerobics etc and in the main bar in the evening usually a kids show or disco and then adult entertainment at 10pm like: showgirls, singers, karaoke. All activities spoken in Spanish, German, Dutch and Engish.

Our room was great. Could do with a slight upgrade, paintwork coming off, older shower but very clean and tidy. We were happy with it. Room 3225. One of the biggest terraces in the complex. Something i have never read in the riosol review is... all the terraces are different. Some have private balcones, some have a balcony with a walkway into a larger sun terrace with sun loungers, some have a balcony with a path between there sun terrace. The larger terraces with a small walkway to the terrace, you share with your neighbours. I have taken pics to try and explain this better. We had no problem sharing the large sun terrace with our neighbours. ( a couple in their 50`s who were pretty chilled ;) Binoculars wouldnt go a miss here if you want to see more.
Only 5 mins away from the Europa Centre, lots of restaurants and pubs. Turbo pub had a michael jackson tribute one night, excellent and fab cocktails. D.J did a music quiz too and the winner had to take a shot every correct answer!! wasted a day the next day in my bed :(
All good fun and decent enough food. In general the restaurants all serve the same kind of food.. steak houses with pastas and mexican. Al Ponte down in the Puerto Rico strip is authentic Italian and is delicious! Highly recommend Steak pizzaiola and spaghetti putanesca. Oscars at the beachside has a great reputation but we went round on my birthday night out for a table and they were pretty rude! We had a lot of laughs in the Star Club.. they had entertainment on each evening and it reminded me of being on holiday with my parents when i was wee, good times. Piccadilly pub was great.. karaoke sound was fab, pool table, fun staff and happy hours throughout the night.
We went on the catamaran excursion. Loved it. The staff were great on it and we got to see a bit of the coastline without having to do much. Really boosted our tans too. Lunch was garlicky chicken, canarian potatoes and mixed salad with sangria to drink.
All in all we had an amazing holiday and cant wait to go back. I would return to the riosol as the view is worth it alone. Bad points - The pools are FREEZING!!!! and no inflatables allowed BOOOO! I especially bought a new big lilo to laze about in and was told to get off it in 10 seconds after i managed to get on the thing!! by the on-site lifeguard. Its an eco pool apparently so no plastics (but they didnt chip the babies out the pool with their water wings on! Dummy was right out the pram on this!! :p)
Happy hour is from 4pm but no-ne tells you and it isnt advertised anywhere, we just followed the crowd one day. The poolside restaurant/bar is good and again lovely to sit at because its a terrace looking down at the harbour and beach. It doesnt open until 12 though. The riosol is definately deserving of its 3 and a half stars i think it is? loads to do, perfect location and ideal for most groups. defo going back xx

Room Tip: We had someone above us who wore heels constantly so maybe a higher up room would be better if you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank shoegaltruly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livorno, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Apartments are clean and comfortable. The best part is probably the terrace (great view).
We never used the lift since it was ALWAYS very busy, and for older people the stairs can be a problem.
It's perfect if you have a rented car, as we did. We chose it mostly for the hb (nice price) and for the position, excellent for daily excursions by car. If you're looking for a place with the Ocean close to you, look for something else.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gigiballa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucenec
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Spent a week at the beginning of March, had a big room with bathroom and loggia with a beautiful view over the sea. Rooms kept very clean, no problems with fresh towels. Had a small fridge in the room. Very good food at the restaurant, rich choice. Recommend to take a taxi to get to the hotel when you arrive at the bus station, surprising prices for that. Used the pool regularly and had a swim every day, though the water was fresh, not more than 25 degrees. Used stairs to get to the sea, much shorter than to use the road. Very satisfied,

Room Tip: Rooms near the lift get more noise.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank natlac_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Stayed at Riosol over Easter with family including 2 children aged 14 &12. Went for 2 Bed Apartment so as to have more space/privacy. This only cost an additional £35 and was worth every penny. Had two bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and kitchen/living area. Immaculately clean and plenty of fresh towels. Good location, top of hill near Europa Centre and only a few euros down in a taxi to Commercial Centre. Staff all friendly and helpful. Pool area kept clean, and daily entertainments if you wanted them. Been to Puerto Rico many times before but never stayed in Riosol - would definitely stay here again and recommend to others. For added humour there are glass panels in the reception/bar area so you can watch the kids doing underwater tricks! Great holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on reception level - this avoids using the steps/lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DebsYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
0.6 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#12 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,866 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#14 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
2.8 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#9 of 16 in Mogan
451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Servatur Puerto Azul
Servatur Puerto Azul
#23 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riosol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riosol

Property: Hotel Riosol
Address: C/ Isla de Lobos 1, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Riosol Aparthotel)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riosol 3*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Riosol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riosol Aparthotel Puerto Rico
Riosol Aparthotel Hotel Puerto Rico
Hotel Riosol Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing