We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Montebello No1”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Servatur Montebello Apartments
Ranked #21 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Been to Puerto Rico 12 times now and i have stayed at the Montebello 3 times.You will not find better place in Puerto Rico believe me.Staff great location great.Stayed in Sep with mate to get away from work.Am going back to stay on 5th Jan for a week with kids.I look forward to drinking the local beer again.

Room Tip: All rooms face out to centre.Great views
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank andy1964_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Servatur Montebello Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 224 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have vistied Gran Canaria 7 times now and actually cant wait to go back! Stopped at the Montebello for the 3rd time for a week and it was fantastic as normal! The receptionist was helpful and pleasant along with the maids. Ive stopped underneath the pool in a little studio for 2 which was well equipped for the both of us and this time it was on the top floor which is an actual apartment, that has separate bedroom. The kitchen had hob, fridge and freezer, toaster, kettle and coffee machine all provided for and was all free. A bottle of water was also in the fridge which was handy before we went to the supermarket. The apartment was spotless everyday when the maids came in, they are off on Sundays and one day in the week. There is a balcany which had table and chairs, 2 sun beds, clothes horse, parasol and bench which was nice to sit on after a day in the sun! The hotel had evrything we needed, games room, pool bar which was quite cheap and between 4 - 5pm happy hour!! Also as its on the hill its easy access to get out with a gate at the bottom of the hotel and one at the top to stop always going through the reception. Its a 10 minute walk to the Commercial centre with around 200 steps which is ok, but you can get a taxi if not able to do it. Also seeing as weve been so many times the hotel provided us with a bottle of wine to say thank you for coming back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hollie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Just back from 2 wks staying at the Montebello Apt. We found the receptionist to be pleasant and helpful. The apartments were spotless, spacious with all what you would require for a self catering holiday. The balcony was very big with 2 sun loungers, patio table with 4 chairs, a clothes horse and a concrete bench just under the bedroom window. The maids cleaned most days with a towel change very time which was a bonus.

The pool was a bit small especially at the weekend when the Spainish seem to decend on the apts and it would become crowded very quickly. We were asked to wear bands when using the pool area and a security guard was put on to stop people from walking in off the street. Now with our Irish fair skin I had t-shirt on the kids in the pool when the security told them to take them off or get get of the pool :-( . We went up to reception, explained our situation, a phone call was made and it was all resolved with the Security Guard apologising :-).

Happy hour was from 4 - 5p.m but the bar then closed at 6pm. The food was always cooked fresh and was grand for a mid-day snack for the kids.

There is a on site shop which caters for all your needs with fresh rolls from 10 a.m.

The Commercial Centre was only (170 steps downhill) 10 mins walk away and the beach was about 15 - 20min. We always got a taxi back which was about €2.50 - €3.50 depending on the time of day/night. The only thing was that the music can be heard from the Centre until about 4 am. which didnt bother us but if you are a light sleeper or what a quiet holiday i would take note.

If i was to travel to Puerto Rico again i would definitely stay at the Montebello.

Room Tip: Ask for Level 9 if you want to beside the reception. Level 7 is where the shop is, or level 5 is whe...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oddpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pilarderada, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Servatur Montebello Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

We thank these guests, first of all for having chosen us for their holidays, and secondly for letting us know their personal experience and their commentaries, which are so valuable for us.
It is a pleasure to know that the work of our team and the apartment facilities are to their liking. The fact that our customers appreciate our efforts is a great incentive to keep improving.
We are looking forward to having them back again when they return to Gran Canaria.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

we stayed at the montebello for 9 nights at the end of june got a cheap flight with ryanair and a bargain price at the montebello - only two of us so we had a studio apartment on the 3rd floor - on arrival greeted by a friendly man on reception. the studio was well equiped with microwave toaster kettle - bottle of water in the fridge - even washing up liquid and tea towels / dish cloths were provided - the place was very clean which is always a priority for me - bathroom quite small but adequate - balcony had a sea view and was quite large and spacious with a sunlounger - 2x chairs and a table plus a concrete bench - tv had a few english channels and you could pay for extra channels if required - there is no aircon so it was very hot a night time - there was a heat wave while we were there - but we were not complaining as it wa lovely to feel the heat and enjoy the sunshine after all this endless rain .
the pool area was nice and clean - access by the usual ladders or nice wide steps with a handrail you could walk down and even a slope to gradually get you in - there is no baby / toddler pool so you would not be able to let you little one go it alone unless they can swim or have armbands etc - pool area was lovely and quite during the week but come the weekend all the locals seem to descend and it got very noisy between friday and sunday evening - then peace descended again during the week - this seems to be the case at more and more complexes in puerto rico .
there is a pool bar with happy hour between 4 to 5pm - the beer was cold and the food was good but we found it a bit expensive compared to a lot of places we ate at .
the staff were always friendly and helpful - towels were changed most days and the sheets a couple of times a week
the walk to the commercial centre was down quite a lot of steps ( i thing around 180 ) but it is not a difficult walk - i am not fit at all and dont like walking but it only took 10 minutes to get from the apartment to the centre - we always got a taxi back up which was around 2.50 to 3 euros depending on what time of the night it was ( it seems to be more after 10pm )

wi fi is available everywhere at a charge - there is a computer in reception and you get 15 minutes for 1 euro.

some places we recommend are the sun spot bar - top floor of the commercial centre next to the drag show place - beer 1.50 and a large glass of decent wine also for 1.50 - plus hubby watched all the football there

miami steak house on the bottom level - great food - very reasonable prices - huge portions

also the best chinese is down from m & m's at the back of the centre opposite the irish pub - lovely friendly staff i think its called the chinese wok - eat as much as you like 7.95 - great prawns - ribs - chicken - plus loads more .

sad thing now is although the restaurants seem to have kept their prices very reasonable they are charging quite a lot for drinks - i suppose that is how they make their money - if you are having a coke , wine or beer you are going to pay quite a lot for it compared to in a bar - so check drinks prices along with the food prices

it was our 6th time in gran canaria and the montebello didnt let us down - would definetly stay there again

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank durbanpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We arrived on the night because of a delay in the transfer but upon arrival, we were given our key and told to come in the morning to check in officially. The next morning, we were greeted by a very nice woman at the desk, given our safety deposit key and we were done.

Our room was a studio one, looking out towards the center. It had everything you needed: a table, two chairs, sink, microwave, hob, toaster, a big parasol out in the veranda with a washing line, a deck chair, a table and two more chairs. There was a TV there with optional English channels at an extra cost. The beds were comfortable too, with sheets and covers replaced daily by the maids. We were also given fresh towels and toilet paper each day too.

The pool was lovely. The sun was always facing us as the apartments are on the sunny side of the mountain, so the pool was warm (after the initial shock of jumping in), big and very clean. Just under half of it was shallow, perfect for relaxing and catching the rays whilst listening to the tunes playing at the pool bar.

The playlist was a bit repetitive, but had enough songs so it wasn't too monotonous. The food was nice and cheap, from the simple hot dogs to the big steak sandwiches and chips, with everything cooked fresh by the nice chef, who would often be seen cleaning the kitchen multiple times a day. There was an indoor and outdoor dining area with coffee/tea and vending machines too.

Situated next to the pool itself were some deck chairs (which you need to get to early) with side tables and parasols for the midday sun. If we got bored, we'd head behind the dining area where a few snooker tables and arcade machines were sitting in a room, waiting to be used.

The steps and such were not as much of a problem as some reviews here made them out to be - there were only a few flights to get in and out of the apartments. We were given a key for the side gate too, so we could head out and come back in whenever we needed to.

I would definitely recommend the Montebello Apartments to anybody looking for a cheap, relaxing stay which was 10 minutes away from the main commercial center.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Just returned 27th May, we have being to these apartments before. The next day when we returned from our walk there was a letter and a bottle of wine from the management thanking us for returning to these apartments, We like these because they are near to the beach and also the shopping centre, They are very well equipped with toaster, kettle, microwave fridge etc, On the balcony you have table chairs sunbeds and large umbrella, free tv and a lot of choice of english channels at a small cost. We are returning to these apartments in October and February they are clean and very compfy, The bar could be a little better although they do good food, but they do not have any view seems a little out of place, They also have a good restaurant that is open in the winter season. The pool area is a little small for children but very adequate to cool off. They also have a small supermarket on site. I would receommend these apartments the staff are all very helpfull.

Room Tip: The high floors have the best sea views. although you can book sea view rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank denise c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pilarderada, Guest Relations Manager at Servatur Montebello Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

On behalf of Servatur and the Montebello Apartments we thank this guests, firstly, for having chosen us for their holidays, secondly, for taking the time to express their experience and their comments about our establishment, and finally, for letting us know they would like to return and recommend us to others.
We feel really happy for these. We are really looking forward to having them back again and we will do all our best to make them want to return again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed at The Montebello between 12th and 19th May 2012. Found hotel staff very freindly towards us and sorted arrival satisfory. Asked us to wear wrist bands which didn`t last the night as we thought they were pointless. Rooms basic but very clean and had everything we needed. As long as you use the lifts you`ve no problems. Taxis are very cheap to top or bottom cenres where there`s plenty going on as Hotel is a third of the way up the mountain. All in all, The Montebello is a good cheap hotel with everything you`d need. Oh! Don`t forget to hire a fan for nights as they don`t have air con. Saying that, the tempertature display on our balcony on the tuesday got to 50.3 degrees. OUCH!! Well done Montebello and Thanks!!!

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view so no problem.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.3 mi away
Rio Piedras Apartments
Rio Piedras Apartments
#25 of 68 in Puerto Rico
142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maracaibo Aparthotel
Maracaibo Aparthotel
#20 of 68 in Puerto Rico
476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabau Cala D'Or
Cabau Cala D'Or
#19 of 68 in Puerto Rico
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
#34 of 68 in Puerto Rico
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#17 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,445 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Palmera Mar
Apartamentos Palmera Mar
#30 of 68 in Puerto Rico
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Servatur Montebello Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Servatur Montebello Apartments

Address: Avenida Cornisa 5 | Puerto Rico.- Mogan, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Montebello Hotel)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Rico
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range: $48 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Servatur Montebello Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Servatur Montebello has 9 floors of apartments. Each floor has areas with plants typical of the warm (sub tropical) climate of Gran Canaria which help to create a very pleasant and relaxing atmosphere during your stay at Servatur Montebello.The complex consists of 114 apartments, (44 studios for 1-2 persons and 70 apartments with separate bedroom for 3-4 persons), all spacious and nicely decorated, with larges terraces and view to Puerto Rico. The apartments are very well equipped including kitchen with fridge, water heater and all kinds of utensil to provide a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Servatur Montebello Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montebello Hotel Puerto Rico
Montebello Resort Puerto Rico
Servatur Montebello Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing