We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bahia Blanca(Puerto Rico)
$118
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Marina Suites(Puerto Rico)
$143
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montebello Servatur Apartments(Puerto Rico)(Great Value!)
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$72
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $77/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartamentos Miami Gran Canaria(Puerto Rico)(Great Value!)
$60
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
$223
$216
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $251/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,521)
Filter reviews
1,521 results
Traveler rating
1,077
372
55
16
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,077
372
55
16
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeluxe apartmentselect apartmentpool areadurty nellysgran canariasister hotelbedroom and bathroomcourtesy roomsun loungersnautical themelovely hoteltaj palaceself cateringirish bartwo single beds pushed togetheramazing viewswhole complex
Filter
Updating list...
1,160 - 1,165 of 1,521 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Brilliant stay at Ipanema. Apartments are lovely, great value, everything you need as well as a complimentary bottle of water! which was much needed as we arrived in the middle of the night. The views are fantastic, we opted for an apartment with a terrace, huge! with your own sun loungers. Plenty of stairs but hey what a good way to work off those extra calories, not for the faint hearted though. There is a Netto's, Irish bar & lots of eateries nearby. Try the indian opposite the marina, lovely, cheap & with all those little touches. I loved it. The shopping centre & the beach are both within walking distance. Puerto Rico beach is ok but please go to Amadores beach, costs about 4 euros in a cab, well worth it. Clear water, white sands & not over crowded. Only one small negative...i couldnt see any air con in the rooms but if you close the curtains in the day, your room will stay fairly cool but of course like anywhere, humidity will get to your hair!. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dereth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director General at Marina Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2010

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your comment of your stay at Ipanema park, it is always a pleasure to see that our clients enjoy their stay with us. However it is really important to improve and give the best service to our clients. About the air conditionning, you have the possibilty to hire portable air conditionning at reception during the stay, furthermore, for next year, we are planning to instal fans in all the appartments.
Hope to see you again at Ipanema Park,
Warm regards from Gran Canaria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We stayed at Ipanema Park from 8 – 22 September this year, and thoroughly enjoyed the holiday.

We had emailed the hotel in advance asking for rooms as high up as possible as we didn’t want to be too close to the pool, and they were great at providing this. We stayed in rooms A-400 and A-401, and both had great views of the pool area and into the harbour so we could watch the boats (and laugh at the Pirate Ship going in and out!). The rooms were clean and spacious, although A-401 had a better shower and less bug things (that I think are normal for the Canary Islands….). The only downside was the lack of air-conditioning. Luckily in September we could sleep quite comfortably with the window open, but I imagine in the hotter temperatures it could be less tolerable. The rooms were cleaned 5 times a week, and the only problem we had was that in A-401 one bed was never left a spare sheet when the linen was changed, so I had to go and ask for another one – but reception were very quick at sorting it out!

The whole complex was very clean, with the pool and pool area being cleaned daily. The sunbeds are bolted to the floor so can’t be moved, and don’t recline so I personally found it difficult to read until I bought a €2 inflatable pillow from the supermarket! The pool was never overly busy, and whilst it says that you aren’t allowed to use inflatables, we managed to sneak our lilo in a few times! The supermarket on-site was open from 8am – 4pm and sold everything you could need. Outside these hours there is a Dinomarket at the bottom of the hill (131 steps!) which sells everything for a slightly lower price, but obviously you have to tackle the steps! We only grabbed lunch a couple of times from the bar by the pool, but the staff were very friendly and their cocktails were fantastic!

As for Gran Canaria in general, we were last in Puerto Rico in 2000 so were keen to see how the area had changed. From past experiences, we learnt to avoid eating in the Europa Shopping Centre, but we did have a fantastic first morning breakfast at Planet! We mainly ate around the harbour and at the bottom of the steps by Ipanema Park, and I’d definitely recommend a visit to:
Red Rose (by the harbour) – their steaks are amazing!
Don Quijoti (by Portonovo hotel, opposite the harbour) for some amazing fish dishes
Restaurant Millenium (at the bottom of the steps) for really good food and fantastic service.

We also paid a few visits to Harbour Lights, which is a British bar the other side of Puerto Rico harbour, and it was great! Good, cheap food and huge cocktails, a great place to go and watch the football. We even won the quiz!

However, if you’re going to go just one bar in Puerto Rico, it has to be WigWam bar near Portonovo hotel, opposite the harbour below Ipanema Park. It is out of this world and you just have to visit it! The wild west theme is amazing and the staff are great fun, so you have to go there for a pre/post dinner drink!

In all, we’d definitely go back to Gran Canaria and Ipanema Park, especially out of season when its a bit quieter. It is out of the way from the noise of the shopping centre and beach, but is within 10-15 minutes walk of everything you could need.

If you want to see any photos we took of the hotel and area, see flickr set at http://www.flickr.com/photos/tps58/sets/72157624913945157/

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lrns88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Fab holiday, wanted a relaxing hol and thats what we got.Ipanema park is a ist class complex, spotless,very friendly helpfull staff,lovely pool,and views to die for. Surprised,and delighted to discover how quiet it was at night,people on their balcony,s enjoying the views and a relaxing drink, NO LOUD BOOM BOOM BOOM noises, hope it stays just as it is,cos we defiately want to go back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vixenShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Great holiday at the Ipanema , clean, friendly and the weather was amazing! lovely pool, the best views in puerto rico by far! Value for money! yes there were a couple of cockroaches but who gives a monkey! plenty of sunbeds all week, no need to beat the germans! lol
Great BBQ all u can eat 9.99E , Highly recommend the JET BOAT ride in peurto rico harbour, and if you have an hour to kill, go on the timeshare trip to anfi or and amadores, free bottle of your choice, free ticketsfor the glass bottom ferrys, free t shirts and free 400 fags!
will defo be going again had a very good holiday, one of the best hols we have been on!
book it yourself and get the bus from la palmas airport for 10.40E for both of us, number 91 bus.
taxi's cheap too around the resort.
happy hols !

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seaquel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Just back from eleven nights in PR. Stayed at the Ipanema Park apartments. Overall was really happy with the place. The apartments are spacious and the balcony was big with a lovely view of the marina. They were spotless and were cleaned to a very high standard throughout our stay.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The little onsite supermarket was handy and didnt have overflated prices like most other apartments i have have stayed in. It is in a decent enough location, down a load of steps and you find a small little centre with a few bars and restaurants and a larger supermarket. The main commercial centre is about a 15 minute walk or 3euro in a cab and the beach about a five minute walk.
Like a previous poster the only downside was the amount of spanish families/groups there that seemed to think they owned the place! Shouting and roaring from the pool up to the 2nd story apartments. Nearly got knocked into the pool by people barging past me! Blaring really bad music all day!
One day an English father and son were playing catch in the pool with an Irish father and son when there was very few people around and it was very tame,when a member of staff came over and told them to stop. However a few days later around 7 spanish guys were playing volleyball in the pool taking over the whole pool and nothing was said.
Small things like that added up over the 11 days and by the end even though I liked everything else about the place i don't think id go back.
Great value though!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gra22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews