We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny retreat”
Review of Marina Bayview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marina Bayview
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stanstead Abbotts, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Sunny retreat”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The Marina Bayview is a lovely complex with a beautiful shallow pool and a great view.so not a hotel as such but tucked away in a good position overlooking the marina,
Its position is a lot higher than the pictures show and as said by previous people there are numerous steps down to main area, which didn’t worry us as we had a car. The rooms were softly decorated and relatively spacious with a suntrap balcony, however we found the room slightly impersonal with no solid doors but I guess some people would like that. It’s all done on the basis of a cruise ship and you have a cabin.
The pool bar was very good with real friendly people and great food the only drawback is it closes at 7pm so you would have to walk down those stairs to the main area for any dinner. There is a small supermarket on the 1st floor of the Bayview. This was a nice stay for us and in a way we were sorry the leave despite the expense of the room (192e a night) so I would recommend the Marina Bayview.
The only bad point I can think of is when paying 192e per night I think charging 4e per day for the use of your room safe and 1.5e per day for a pool towel was a bit hard.

Room Tip: Cabins in area B have a good view and are the perfect sun trap.The lower area of B if you want to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgecassidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear George,

thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at Marina Bayview on the site. We are happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and would like to thank you for all your comments.

We hope to see you back soon on board,

Best regards,

Dara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    875
    323
    51
    11
    1
See reviews for
301
720
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
los cristianos tenerife
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

After staying at marina suites twice last year which was fantastic, we thought we would stay at marina bayview this time as they are apts not rooms and having an 8 yr old sometimes its nice not to have to be anywhere at any certain time.
The apts are lovely, clean and modern. The staff on reception are wonderful...as are the cleaners! Our daughter still went to mini club and mini disco (and was very pleased to see the lovely alexandra still there) at marina suites, which is a 5 min walk away. The pool is lovely with plenty of sunbeds and a fantastic view over the harbour! We have booked again for this year and also next(2015). Thanks marina bayview and roll on 8 weeks!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jamesie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Rob, Jaz and Sal,

thank you for also taking the time to write a review about your stay at Marina Bayview on the site!! We really appreciate it! And also thank you for writing such an excellent review! ;)
We are looking forward to your next visit in June! As always, please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance!

Warm regards from Gran Canaria,

Dara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tromsø
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Fantastic nice pool, cozy surroundings and very clean and nice staff, at all nothing to fault at this location, top. Have stayed there for about three weeks and this place brings many benefits.
I would go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ottar a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Ottar,

thank you very mcuh for posting such a great review about your stay at Marina Bayview!! We are really glad to read you had a great time and would be back on a next visit to Gran Canaria!

Regards from all Marina Bayviewteam!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

I'm writing this review while sat at the poolside at the Marina Bay View on the final day of our stay. We have had a very enjoyable holiday and would certainly recommend to others and stay again ourselves.

The Marina Bay View is one of the original 70's hotels in Puerto Rico but it has been recently renovated to a high standard. The place has a fresh, modern look. The comfortable rooms are painted white with grey stripes like a Scandinavian beach-house. They are very clean and well maintained

You enter the stylish reception area from the road at the top, and the rooms are terraced down the cliff-side to the pool below. There are lots of steps but there's a lift and plenty of ramps.

We had a poolside room which was great for being close to our toddler. Some people might prefer the privacy of the rooms higher up. All if the rooms have a fantastic view out over the marina and the bay. You can watch the boats coming and going and enjoy the breeze when it gets hot on the terrace.

All of the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We were made to feel very welcome. The lady in the shop greeted our little boy by name every day and made a great fuss of him giving him little treats, sweets and stickers.

Most of the guests this week seem to be Danish. It doesn't seem to be on the UK package tour list. The terrace isn't overcrowded and the atmosphere is very friendly yet respectful of privacy. Our little boy made friends with several others around the pool - language not an issue when you are two.

Puerto Rico is a small resort but we found it a very good base for our stay. Mogan is nearby with great restaurants around a pretty harbour. We also took the ferry to Anfi del Mar (15 mins). It's more upmarket with a very pretty beach and park.

Thanks Marina Bay View for a lovely stay. We'll be back.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank martinw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Martin,

we are the one who say THANK YOU for choosing us for your stay in Gran Canaria. It has been a pleasure to read such a good review about your stay at Marina Bayview and are glad to read you are coming back!

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance for your next stay!

Best regards from Puerto Rico,

Dara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Spent 5 nights here and apart from a lot of steps to climb cant fault the place
Lovely large balconies with plenty of sun, pleasant apartments, friendly staff and good location
An excellent choice in Puerto Rico

Room Tip: I was in D200 which had full sun from 8.00am until 4.00pm and decent sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Paul,

we would like to thank you for all your positive comments regarding the rooms, location and staff! We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Marina Bayview!

We hope to welcome you back soon on board!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We had 2 very nice weeks in a Delux appartement. Very nice view from the balcony, the only problem was that we did not have the sun until around 12 oclock.

It would also have been a very good think if the restaurant was open also at night.
But all in all 2 nice weeks with sun every day.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Finn,

thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Marina Bayview. We are happy that you spent 2 nice weeks with us and would love to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietarsaari, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is a beutiful resort. We have stayed both in a Deluxe apartment and in the Villa Serendipity. The Deluxe apartment had a big nice balcony with two sunbeds. The apartment was modern, beautiful and clean. The Villa Serendipity is located at the top of the hill of Puerto Rico with magnificent views over the sea and the harbour. The villa was fabulous! Very private and equipped with everything you could wish for. It had a gorgeous terrace/garden with a private pool and sun from the sunrise to the sunset. The staff was very friendly, enaged and professional. I can warmly recommend this hotel and would love to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lena262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Lena,

we are glad to read you had a great experience at Marina Bayview and would like to return! Also thank you for all your positive comments regarding the apartments, the villa, and of course, our staff!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
0.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,165 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,519 reviews
4.1 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4,105 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#17 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Bayview

Property: Marina Bayview
Address: Avenida de Guayadeque, 3, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Ipanema Park Apartments)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#4 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Bayview 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chic Marina Bayview is built into the hillside overlooking Puerto Rico Harbour in Gran Canaria. It features a large outdoor pool and terrace with impressive Atlantic Ocean views.Apartments feature a private balcony or terrace. All have air conditioning, and a kitchenette with a fridge, coffee maker, kettle and toaster. There is satellite TV and a private bathroom.The restaurant by the pool offers spectacular views of the harbour. Paddle and tennis courts are just a few metres from the complex, and Salobre Golf & Resort is 15 km away. The resort has a 24-hour front desk and offers car hire. Free parking is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Bayview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipanema Park Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
Ipanema Park Apartments Puerto Rico
Marina Bayview Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing