We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round excellence!”
Review of Marina Bayview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marina Bayview
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“All round excellence!”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed at the Marina Bayview Aparthotel between the 16th and 23rd of January.Upon arrival there was a slight mix-up with our booking which, initially, could not be found on the system!After some minutes and phone calls by the receptionist,Rafael,it turned out that our booking had been mistakenly logged in the system as being for the 16th June ( 16Jan being, I suppose,quite similar to 16Jun!).After a short while, we were informed that there was no Delux apartment available until the Saturday but they could accommodate us in a Select apartment until then or we could change to a sister hotel. Not wishing to give up on what, visually, appeared to be a very nice hotel complex, we accepted the offer of the Select apartment and moved in.As compensation we received complimentary tickets to the Friday night barbecue ( worth €30 for two people) plus complimentary pool towels and room safe for the whole week ( worth approx. €30 for the two of us).Whether this represents true compensation for having a lower grade of accommodation for the first two nights I don't know but must say that our treatment by Rafael at reception was exemplary the whole time and the situation was not of his making.As it turned out,the Select apartment was very nice indeed, being only a slightly smaller version of what we eventually moved into as a Delux apartment first thing on the Saturday morning ( obviously great effort was made to prepare the Delux apartment for us early in the day so we weren't faced with having to move all our stuff after a day out somewhere)The apartment complex is built into the side of the cliffs and the apartments are cleverly designed to make maximum use of limited floor space available.The bedroom and bathrooms are above the lounge area.Both the Select and Delux apartments were well fitted out with fridge,cooking facilities and good quality bathrooms.The balconies of both were roomy with the Delux having the edge as it had private sun loungers as well as the table and chairs available in both.The apartments were very clean and bedding and towels were changed regularly and it was clear that a lot effort is put into keeping the whole complex beautifully clean.The views from the balconies of both apartments were stunning, over the boat marina and sea and the apartments were south facing so received sun all day long and into the early evening.The negative side of such luxury,though, is that there are a lot of steps to negotiate which can be a bit tricky for the less fit lugging cases around! We had booked B&B and the breakfast was very good with plenty of choice of both English and Continental style food.There was always lots of space available which made for a relaxing start to the day.One slight negative is that it appears as though Spanish law allows smoking during eating in areas which the UK would classify as being inside the restaurant ie under cover but open fronted area of the restaurant.Some of our continental cousins are not concerned about the effects on others when they light up during a meal!One other minor overall niggle is that the free WiFi was not very reliable, especially in the apartments.It seems that one needs to be quite close to the router at reception to guarantee reception. Overall, though,I have no hesitation in saying that this was a very good holiday experience and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool although there was no discernable noise from the pool area while we were th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Robert,

thank you very much for posting such a great review about your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. We are glad to read, that you had a great stay and thank you for further recomming us to other travelers!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back on board!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    875
    323
    51
    11
    1
See reviews for
301
720
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed here in September 2013.... with 3 friends, we absolutely loved it.

The rooms are stunning, the aircon in the rooms is heaven, the views are unreal (especially at sunset) and the pool is fab!

The reception area is beautiful and the staff were all very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amanya F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Amanya,

we would like to thank you for posting a review about your stay with us on the site! We are glad that you and your friends enjoyed every aspect of your stay at Marina Bayview and would love to have the opportunity to welcome you all back on board.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Good clean comfortable accommodation with fantastic views. Found all of the staff members I dealt with to be really helpful and pleasant. As an overweight, unfit 66 year old I was dreading the steps however, they are really not that bad. The reason I did not award an excellent rating is the very poor internet service. Yes it is free but the speed and coverage are pathetic. I cannot understand why in this present day hotels do not make the relatively small investment to provide a decent internet service. Most travellers now consider internet provision as a must. Fortunately nearby restaurants have decent free coverage so found myself using them instead.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ordk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Ordk,

thank you taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us on Triapdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at marina Bayview and are considering your suggestion regarding the internet in order to improve it.

We hope to see you back at Marina Bayview!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

They really understand good service in this hotel. Everyone in the hotel gave excellent service with a real smile on their face.
The hotel was also very well maintained, the care for the premises and guests' wellbeing was very clear.
Really no complaints at all.

Room Tip: De luxe rooms are just wonderful with a big private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 331Eija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Eija,

thank you very much for such a great review and for your comments regarding the excellent service and smiles of our staff! We will pass over all your nice words to them!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Marina Bayview!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks at Marina Bayview.
We arrived in pouring rain at 2.30 in the afternoon only to be told that our room would not be ready for another hour. The offer of a drink would have been nice. We were then directed to our room which was a deluxe apartment in the D block. The only thing was that it involved carrying our suitcases up 45 steps with no offer of help from the staff.The apartment was on two floors with a bedroom and bathroom upstairs and a sitting area,small kitchenette area which had a fridge, two electric rings, microwave, kettle, coffee maker and toaster. There was a complimentary bottle of wine, fresh fruit and a large bottle of water which was very nice. There was a lovely big balcony with two sun beds and a table and chairs and fantastic views over the harbour and the sun was on the balcony more or less all day.
I thought 4€ a day for the safe deposit box was very expensive.
The apartments have a white settee in the sitting area but the cushions looked pretty grey and could have done with a good soaking. The rooms were fairly clean with towels changed every other day and beds changed twice a week. The beds were comfortable enough but my biggest issue was the plastic backed waterproof mattress protectors which are hideous. It was like sleeping on a sheet of plastic bags and we removed them the next day. I understand the need for keeping the mattress clean but I suspect a lot of people remove them, just as we did, so you are defeating the object. The other thing was that the bottom sheets were too small to cover the mattress properly.
We had breakfast the first day and were impressed with the choice on the buffet but as can be the way abroad the hot food was not hot and the plates were stone cold. We went to the Friday night barbecue which was very good .
Having said all that we did enjoy our stay here and would probably stay again if we come to Gran Canaria. The 140 steps up from the harbour were hard work but I think most of the places in Puerto Rico have a similar problem. At least you have a workout every day !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank handy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear handy0,

thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us on the site. We are glad that in general you enjoyed your stay at Marina Bayview and would come back in a next trip to Gran Canaria. Also thank you for all comments which we will take into consideration in order to improve our services!

We hope to see you back soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I spent five nights here with my partner last week. First hurdle was finding it! We drove a hire car and spent an hour trying to actually get to it. When we arrived we were given a warm and helpful welcome by Jose on reception, possibly the best we have ever received, he should be given employee of the year, nothing was too much trouble. Sadly his skills were not shared by some of the other reception staff we encountered. Our apartment was on initial inspection clean and spacious and it appeared our instruction of quiet room with views had been followed. However the view was of a road as well as the Marina below! However this did not last when we found that the hotel then put other families with young kids in nearby apartments so our peaceful rest was spoilt! Our main issue was that the drains in the apartment emitted a pervasive odour which we there constantly. Even with the windows open this cloying smell did not disappear. The beds were covered in plastic mattress covers which for a hotel at this star rating was cheap and you had to pay for extra pillows! Our bed linen was stained and not who oft he five days the quality of cleaning was substandard - we deliberately set small tests to see if things had been cleaned properly! Sadly on our second day when I asked a male receptionist (Rafael,) whether it would be possible to have a sun bed in our apartment as I was recovering from A recent illness. Rather the. Being helpful I was made a spectacle of as I was frogmarched on to the central promenade which goes from reception to the lift and shown that all the other apartments like mine didn't have one so why should I be treated differently. I have never been so embarrassed in my life! Overall the rooms were well equipped but this is a hotel punching above its weight which needs to up the quality of its beds and bedding and train some of its staff in how to provide good customer service. Pricey in comparison with other similar accommodation. Based on our experience we would not go back.

Room Tip: Be wary the rooms all have different ratings. A deluxe apartment is much bigger than the "sele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carrie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Carrie,

thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay at Marina Bayview and don't want to come back. Please apologize if we made you feel embarrased, I assure you it wasn't my colleague's aim, he just wanted to inform you about the differences between diverse type of rooms.
We hope you give us another opportunity to demostrate you why many people recommend us and give us a very good mark!

Best regards,

Dara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Hi Tripadvisor.
just a few words about my recent stay at the marina bay View in Puerto Rico Gran canaria.

from the minute we got there the staff were always on hand and excellent in looking after our needs ,they were very
approachable in all our dealings we had with them, i know we had only a couple of minor incidents for them to deal ,but the response was always quick and professional.
Now the room we got was first class we had the sun all day like most of their rooms have.
I would recommend this establishment to people looking for a holiday in Gran Canaria.
we have stayed there before and we will definitely be going back,
all i can say is a thank you to everybody in the Marina Bay View.

Room Tip: most of the rooms here are great for the sun and the view,you would get more sun on th e upper floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 19shay57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear 19shay57,

we are the ones who say thank YOU for choosing us for your holidays in Gran Canaria! We are glad to read that you thoroughly enjoyed, once again, your stay at Marina Bayview and also thank you for those excellent words regarding our staff!

We are looking forward to your next stay with us!

Best regards,

Dara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
0.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,158 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,516 reviews
4.1 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4,099 reviews
0.6 mi away
Servatur Casablanca Hotel
Servatur Casablanca Hotel
#5 of 68 in Puerto Rico
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Bayview

Property: Marina Bayview
Address: Avenida de Guayadeque, 3, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Ipanema Park Apartments)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#4 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Bayview 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chic Marina Bayview is built into the hillside overlooking Puerto Rico Harbour in Gran Canaria. It features a large outdoor pool and terrace with impressive Atlantic Ocean views.Apartments feature a private balcony or terrace. All have air conditioning, and a kitchenette with a fridge, coffee maker, kettle and toaster. There is satellite TV and a private bathroom.The restaurant by the pool offers spectacular views of the harbour. Paddle and tennis courts are just a few metres from the complex, and Salobre Golf & Resort is 15 km away. The resort has a 24-hour front desk and offers car hire. Free parking is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Bayview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipanema Park Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
Ipanema Park Apartments Puerto Rico
Marina Bayview Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing