We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved staying here, perfect, relaxing everything really!!”
Review of Marina Bayview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marina Bayview
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved staying here, perfect, relaxing everything really!!”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Booked this holiday to relax and have some sun before winter. It was 100 times better than that. We left fully recharged and very happy. There are plenty of places to eat and drink lovely cocktails. Everyone is friendly and cant do enough for you. We will be returning soon :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieB1255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Jackie,

thank you for taking the time to write such a great review about your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. We are glad to read you thoroughly enjoyed it and are willing to come back!

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    311
    49
    11
    1
See reviews for
292
668
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here in August of this year and we couldnt have asked for better! The staff at reception were amazing and the pool area was to die for! The room was amazing so so comfy! The rooms were cleaned every dat with new bed linen. The place in general was spotless! The food at the pool wasnt the best but was good for just a quick snack! Would recommend everyone to go there and i will 100% be returning!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natoc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Natoc5,

thank you very much for all positive comments regarding the room, the facilities and more and for recommending Marina Bayview to other travellers.
It is a pleasure for us to read you enjoyed your stay and that you are coming back!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico, Spain
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Our stay at the marina bay view was absolutely brilliant we had a pool side apartment that was a bit on the small side but perfectly adequate as we weren't in it most of the time apart from sleeping. The service was great and the reception staff are very helpful if you need to book a taxi. The breakfast is an all you can eat buffet. If there was any negative criticism I could possibly give it would by that if you wanted to get dinner a from a local restaurant ( about a 10 minute walk ) you would have to walk up 119 steps to get back up to the hotel also the sofa bed was a bit uncomfortable. But had wifi in the room which was helpful. Stunning views and a wonderful location we will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: Try to get a apartment by the pool as it is much easier than having to get out the pool walk up a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Mel,

it is a great pleasure to read you consider your vacation at Marina Bayview as "Absolutely brilliant" and would like to thank you for all positive comments.
We are looking forward to your next visit!

Best regards from Puerto Rico,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed here for my birthday with a friend had an excellent stay .Had a pool side apartment which was spotless,Pool area was quiet, so perfect for relaxing currently looking to book again. Would stay here as a solo traveller as I felt relly comfortable, and would def try spa next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonh1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Sharon,

it is a pleasure to know you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Marina Bayview and thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We hope you come back soon to Gran Canaria and stay with us again!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

stayed here in 2012 just before they were having a refurb lovely place there was a bottle of water in fridge we were upgraded from a terrace room to a balconly room which was better there are steps outside of the hotel which takes u down to the main part and to the beach had a lovely stay and yes we would go back

Room Tip: book for a balcony room NOT A terrace room as you will get lots of people walking pass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear John,

thank you for sharing your experience about your stay in 2012 on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to see you back soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at the Marina Bayview courtesy of Jet2 holidays. The transfer to the airport was fine as we were first to be dropped off. As a Select apartment, we appreciated the 5ltrs of water and the fruit, as we were delayed 2 hours at Leeds-Bradford.

The lounge area was adequate, with all the usual equipment. The sofa bed wasn’t that comfortable to sit on. We had stairs up to the bedroom, not ideal.
This was open plan, so not great if you require a darkened room to sleep. The wardrobe was probably the smallest we’ve ever encountered, quite inadequate.
The bathroom was shower only, but a reasonable size.

The room was cleaned five time a week, and the pool and restaurant areas were spotless. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Some apartments were single storey, and we would have preferred one of these. All rooms had good views of the harbour, so there wasn’t that much for a Select rating.

There is an on-site mini-market which kept a good selection of groceries. Prices were somewhat higher than the larger supermarkets, but it’s convenient.

The pool area had enough sun beds, but the umbrellas were problematic. They were fixed and as room was limited, it was difficult to get any shade. OK if you don’t mind lots of sun, but not good for us.

There was a good choice of breakfast items and it was never that busy and the staff were cheerful. The cooked items were kept somewhat lukewarm. We had another meal there, and that was good, though VAT was added afterwards which made it somewhat dearer than anticipated. Some of the restaurants did this as well, so you need to watch out, though most places include VAT.

There are 170 steps down sea level. There were decent restaurants near the hotel, including some tasty steaks from Millennium. There was a good selection of restaurants around the harbour and the beach. We found the main centre a bit down market, and the hassle from the restaurant touts excessive.
Near the hotel was a good Indian restaurant, the Taj Palace, which also had the cheapest drinks. If you don’t like steps, taxis were plentiful and cost from 3 euros so were cheap.

Room Tip: Ask for single storey
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leedsholidayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Leedsholidayer,

Thank you very much for your comments published on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with at Marina Bayview and spent wonderful holidays on Gran Canaria.
Since we are always eager to adapt our services to our guests needs, we appreciate your comments and will take them into consideration.
It would be a great pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Best regards from Gran Canaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Myself and my husband have recently returned from Marina Bayview on the 15th of october after a truly amazin Honeymoon!!!
Like many people do, we worried that the reviews where too good to be true and in all honesty it lived up to all our expectations!!
Even upon being there just one hour i could have written an outstanding review but thought it would be best to experience the place first. First of all,upon booking we asked for a balcony(more private than a terrace) and was allocated to room 209 D, this was a Delux appartment that we did not pay extra for and it was simply more than we could have imagined!
It was a two storey appartment and so immaculate throughout.
The views from bayview are magical morning and night. The room service was perfect in every way and stated i a previous review that the guest had to turn away the maid, so did we because there was nothing for her to do,due to the fact every thing was immaculate from the day before!
One or two comments that i couldnt understand was that there was a complaint that there wasnt enough shower gel(who ever goes on holiday and expects the hotel to provide)? and also the sun loungers were not comfortable!!! SILLY COMPLAINTS!!!
The gym was standard but my husband who hits the gym every day at home did not complain and infact was probably the only person in there during our stay :)
Even whilst he was in there a maintenance man came in painting :)
The only fault( not a problem to me) is that there is no access to the main road from the hotel apart from the 162 steps! My hubby has afear of hights and some days they got the better of him(until he had a stiff drink lol) but aside from that,we saw the has a work out to burn off all the amazing food!
Due to this i would not recomend this hotel for people with young children and less able.
Sayin this, we probably only saw 2 toddlers, this is in my oppinion an adult, relaxing holiday!
I cant say enough good things about this place and the restaurants close by. one of them is the TAJ palace, outstanding indian, and Wigwams cocktail bar.
One thing i ould say is shop outside the hotel if going self catering, it is alot cheaper at the local spar!!
All in all i will leave this rambling and say that it was that good we will be booking our next holiday there in the next few weeks for october 2014, thank you marina for a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Lisa,

thank you for writing such a great review about your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. We are glad you thoroughly enjoyed your honeymoon with us and for esteeming the upgrade to a deluxe room.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in October 2014 and thank YOU for choosing us for your holidays!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
0.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,992 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Morasol Suites
Morasol Suites
#4 of 68 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
4.1 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 3 in Puerto de Mogan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Bayview

Property: Marina Bayview
Address: Avenida de Guayadeque, 3, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Ipanema Park Apartments)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#4 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Bayview 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chic Marina Bayview is built into the hillside overlooking Puerto Rico Harbour in Gran Canaria. It features a large outdoor pool and terrace with impressive Atlantic Ocean views.Apartments feature a private balcony or terrace. All have air conditioning, and a kitchenette with a fridge, coffee maker, kettle and toaster. There is satellite TV and a private bathroom.The restaurant by the pool offers spectacular views of the harbour. Paddle and tennis courts are just a few metres from the complex, and Salobre Golf & Resort is 15 km away. The resort has a 24-hour front desk and offers car hire. Free parking is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Bayview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipanema Park Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
Ipanema Park Apartments Puerto Rico
Marina Bayview Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing