We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Luxury-going back!”
Review of Marina Bayview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marina Bayview
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Just back from one weeks stay here in one of the Deluxe apartments and thoroughly enjoyed it. Having seen all the shabby/ dated apartments that our transfer bus companions had gotten out at-we felt like royalty arriving at the modern and new MarinaBayview reception with its funky decor. We are already planning on going back next year.

The place is spotless clean, well equipped and the staff couldn't do enough for us ( Miriam in particular was very helpful- booking restaurants and ringing taxis was no trouble for her).

Our Deluxe room was spacious, bright and well equipped- kitchen had toaster, coffee percolator and blender. Bathroom was modern with a huge showerhead and big balcony had two sun beds if we fancied hiding out and enjoying our spectacular view of marina. We quite easily had the best view of the bay!

We spent most of the week lazing by the pool which is well designed/ laid out and the poolside cafe offers a good range of snacks as well as 'Happy Hour' on drinks and a free tapas is available with drinks purchases. There is also a masseuse available and a Sun care advisor who visits roughly twice a week and offered good advice.

The atmosphere at the pool is tranquil- music isn't blaring out of the speakers all day which we liked. There is a well stocked supermarket on premises also which comes in handy- because trust me the steps in Puerto Rico are killer, especially combined with the heat. We were also impressed at the presence of a lifeguard who regularly patrolled the pool area and kept it clean and tidy.

My only suggestion for improvement is the sun beds. They are a little uncomfortable and need cushions- perhaps some could be available to rent from the lifeguard for the day/week.

Hope this helps! :)

Room Tip: Deluxe apartments have the best view but obviously are higher up and further away from reception( mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank honesteye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review!
We were delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your visit here in Marina Bay View. Thank you for your very positive feedback about the facilities, the staff, the services, and more. I will ensure to pass all of your great compliments back to our team.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

921 - 927 of 1,373 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

Spent 10 days in the Marina Bayview and we couldnt fault it. The hotel is lovely. Apartments were spotlessly clean and lovely view of the marina. We were self catering but had a few lunches there which were gorgeous. Pool area is great and plenty of beds available. It was our laziest holiday ever as we just hardly left the pool area. Yes there are about a 150 steps up from the resort so if you have mobility problems its not ideal. However, as we are both able bodied it didn't spoil our stay one bit.

Staff were friendly and we even had a cake delivered as it was my birthday while we were there. Would definately reccomend. Great location too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CattyWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Cathy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your stay at Marina Bay View. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. I am also very pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services, location and facilities. It has been a pleasure to deliver you a special birthday cake!

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I really can't fault Marina Bayview. We traveled from the airport in a group transfer so could see the accommodation that everyone else was in - and this was so much nicer than everything else! The others left behind on the bus even commented how lovely the reception looked from the outside.
Our apartment was split over two floors with a huge balcony. Bit of a shame it didn't catch the afternoon sun but that's a trivial matter and is just one of those things you'd have happen everywhere. The rooms were spotless, you could tell that there was real pride taken in the redecoration of the complex and in the way the staff cleaned it. Cannot thank them enough for this as it just made the holiday feel that extra bit special. And everyone was friendly which made it even better.

The pool area is very clean and we didn't have a problem getting a sun lounger once - despite getting to the pool after 3pm every time visited! There were a couple of beds that looked to be reserved but most people seemed to be adhering to the rules of not doing so.

The steps up to the apartments from the harbour/beach are a little tough! However if you're fit and healthy this isn't a problem and considering that it's a very rocky island you're visiting you kinda expect to have to do some type of walking like this. But not ideal for those who would struggle (however there is a lift within the complex and taxi's are always about to get you there and back.)

I didn't eat here except for the tapas special that came free with drinks at certain times during the day but if that's anything to go by, the food would probably be great! However having the kitchen in the apartment was great because it meant we could cook what we wanted on the two hobs and get away from the busy town area - which isn't really our kind of scene.

I'd love to say I'd come back but I never visit places twice out of principle! That being said, if you're looking for your own little piece of relaxation in a relatively busy beach resort this is the place to be. The best of both worlds without a doubt and worth recommending to a friend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoKx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on the site and we are really grateful for your time. Thank you for all positive comments and for recommending Marina Bay View to your friends and other travellers. We are delighted to welcome them also on board!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Marina bayview is a perfect hotel to stay in;
Well orginised, very friendly people, beautiful style; white, grey with wood. very nice rooms, with very good shower. perfect terras with view to the pittoresque harbor.
pool and ouside hotel well arranged!
we had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veroronan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your visit here in the Marina Bay View. Thank you for your positive feedback about our hotel, the staff, the services, and more. I will ensure to pass all of your great compliments back to our team.
I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We recently returned from a great 2 week stay and Marina Bay View was exceptional. The place is modern, attractive and absolutely spotless. Rooms are cleaned regularly and to a very high standard. We have never come across a set of team members who are so polite and helpful wherever they can be, always with a smile on their faces and also respectful of privacy. Food and drink from the bar area was reasonably priced and of a high standard, however if this was open on an evening/ night we believe it would attract a high number of residents and locals and would be fabulous when you just fancy a lazy night around the accommodation. In general the area is beautiful with a stunning harbour and beautiful (looking) restaurants. Food around the resort was very poor and if you're a vegetarian just don't go! I do not eat meat and struggled to find much variety. My partner does eat meat and wasn't impressed - it is very commercial, no quirky/ quaint restaurants that you would expect to find near a harbour area. We both would recommend Taj Palace which is near the accommodation and actually did a stunning curry - we visited more than once, and again, food at the accommodation was wonderful but not open in the evening. The dolphin excursion was fabulous - we saw loads of dolphins and got plenty of pictures! Also the ferry's that travel up and down the coast every 30 minutes daily were great. We went to Puerto De Morgan which is stunning (Little Venice lives up to it's name). Also we went to Anfi which was very pretty. Overall the resort and accommodation was absolutely perfect, but the food was a massive let down.

Room Tip: All rooms facing beautiful harbour, however the luxury rooms we discovered looked lush - unsure of p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelandScott2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Marina Bayview Guest,
Thank you for your comments . I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
At the Marina Bayview we work hard to exceed customers' expectations and your positive feedback is our best reward.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Warm regards from Sunny Gran Canaria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

we have just returned from an amazing break at marina bay, We went for a one week stay with our two teenage children. We had two apartments and the staff made sure that they where next door to each other. One arrival the apartments where spotlessly clean, and the cleaning staff kept this up through out the stay.
I cant praise the staff enough , we had a problem with the door lock and the maintenance staff fixed it within ten minutes.
It was our daughter birthday whilst we where on holiday and the receptionist organised a birthday cake for her an delivered it to the room, which made her day.

The position of this hotels offers amazing views over the harbour and the sun patio with eco shower was an idealistic place to sit and watch the world go by in peace and quiet. The pool area and bar offer a similar view and you get to share it with others whilst eating your breakfast, lunch or having drink.
Like many hotels in Gran Canary it is on a hillside so there are a lot of step from the town to the complex, but they are worth it to get that view. The town is full of places to eat and drink and there many activities from para sending, diving, glass bottom boats and shopping.
We all felt we had a great relaxing holiday and cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Marina Bayview Guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor.
It is a great pleasure to hear that you and your family had a fabulous stay with us amd wosh your daughter a really happy birthday :-).
Furthermore, we highly appreciate your words of praise regarding our staff and will be more than happy to pass your nice words over to them.
We would be delighted to welcome you and your family back on a further occasion
With my best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We booked through Cosmos holidays as a package deal and had a wonderful 7 night stay at Marina Bayview. The accommodation was clean, comfy and had the added bonus of air con! The staff were all very friendly and it was lovely waking up and having a delicious breakfast by the pool over looking the harbour. The hotel complex was all maintained to a very high standard.

The only slight disappointment was that our balcony was meant to have a sea view. But with plenty of sun loungers just around the corner from our apartment over looking the harbour we didn't really mind!

Room Tip: If your not a fan of walking then it is a steep walk back to the hotel from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Marina Bayview Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments. I am pleased to know that you have enjoyed every aspect of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back at Marina Bayview.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
0.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 67 in Puerto Rico
3,356 reviews
1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
8.6 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
7.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
4.1 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Bayview

Address: Avenida de Guayadeque, 3, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Ipanema Park Apartments)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#4 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range: $101 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Bayview 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chic Marina Bayview is built into the hillside overlooking Puerto Rico Harbour in Gran Canaria. It features a large outdoor pool and terrace with impressive Atlantic Ocean views.Apartments feature a private balcony or terrace. All have air conditioning, and a kitchenette with a fridge, coffee maker, kettle and toaster. There is satellite TV and a private bathroom.The restaurant by the pool offers spectacular views of the harbour. Paddle and tennis courts are just a few metres from the complex, and Salobre Golf & Resort is 15 km away. The resort has a 24-hour front desk and offers car hire. Free parking is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marina Bayview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipanema Park Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
Ipanema Park Apartments Puerto Rico
Marina Bayview Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing