We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marina Bayview” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marina Bayview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marina Bayview
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Marina Bayview”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife and I spent a week at the Marina Bayview apartments during the second half of February.

There is an atmosphere of quality about the place. The apartments themselves are really nice. They are kept spotlessly clean. The staff are very pleasant and helpful and the style (white-painted walls, stainless steel and marble) is beautiful. Ours was one of the Select series. These are described in the promotional material as “located away from the swimming pool, in a peaceful and quiet area which offers wonderful sea views”.

The fact that they are located away from the pool, restaurant and bar areas was, in itself, not an issue for us at all, however, after a night out, having climbed the 160 steps from street/sea level to reception level, the extra 40 steps to our select apartment was a bit of a strain. An option would have been to take a taxi from sea level which would have been cheap and easy. In our case (we are no spring chickens) we opted to climb the steps every time. This initially proved daunting, however, in time, we got used to it and actually enjoyed the challenge. It was probably good for us. Don’t allow this particular consideration to put you off, unless you are in bad shape or unwell.

The sea views from these apartments (D series) are indeed spectacular. Even the view from the shower (as you shower, if you so wish) is fantastic. Apart from being really well fitted out, the bathroom did however present one minor issue for consideration. The door between the bathroom and the bedroom is louvered and lock-free. This reduces bathroom privacy quite significantly, if you know what I mean.

The pool area is very well laid out and the pool itself and also the pool furniture are high quality.

Puerto Rico is a lovely place for a holiday. In February it is fairly quiet and yet many of the restaurants and bars seemed to be doing well. The bar and restaurant at Marina Bayview closed at 21.00 while we were there, so we didn’t use it for evening meals. Quality of food and drink at restaurants adjacent to the apartments is very good.

A daily walk to Amadores and stepping it up to your apartment once or twice a day will keep you fit. Local busses are cheap and frequent and a boat trip to/from Mogan is good for a day out.

Check-out is at 12.00 and we availed of the courtesy room facility to shower and change before we left at 17.00. This is a useful (free) service.

I would recommend Marina Bayview Apartments. We liked them a lot.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ConorCampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director Comercial at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Marina Bayview Guest,
Thank you for your feedback on the Marina Bayview and I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I am very pleased that you recognized the level of service. We have a very passionate dedicated team who work consistently hard to make sure each and every guest has a memorable stay with us. It is nice to read that you did. I am very pleased to hear that you liked our newly refurbished rooms and found them to be very comfortable. The Select and Deluxe Apartments are the apartments with a lot of sun during all day.
I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Marina Bayview on a future visit.
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    300
    47
    10
    1
See reviews for
284
636
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Lovely terrace, beatiful view over the harbour. Good towels and robes at the deluxe suite. Nice make-over, however terrible smell from the toilet/shower-room. Weird layout with no door between sink and bedroom. We usually stay at Marina Suites, and will probably book there next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bergen_NorwayTorill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director Comercial at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Marina Bayview Guest,
I was sorry to hear that you had mixed emotions about our hotel. Since we are always eager to satisfy all our clients, we appreciate your comments regarding smell and will inform the direction.
We will be pleased to welcome you back at Marina Suites , our sister hotel :-)
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Great Hotel with great views over the marina and onto the ocean. Food was a bit of a let down with cooked breakfasts 'pre-cooked' and menu was never really altered but this may change during high season.but service good. Good budget hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the 'A' rows of rooms with a better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ballyard-boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director Comercial at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Marina Bayview Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments. I am pleased to know that you have enjoyed most of the aspects of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back at Marina Bayview. Regarding your comments on the food, i will pass the information over the direction to take them into consideration.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just returned from our first stay in Marina Bayview. We can recommend the facilities in the room,
as well as a very friendly and helpfull staff. The view from the balcony is top class. If we had the possiblity having a sunshade on the balcony, we would rate this property with five stars.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soeballe10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director Comercial at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Marina Bayview Guest,
Thank you very much for your pleasant review on Tripadvisor.
It is a great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Furthermore, we highly appreciate your words of praise regarding our staff and will be more than happy to pass your nice words over to them.
We would be delighted to welcome you back on a further occasion and remain
with my very best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just returned from our third stay at this hotel, we love the views and the size of the apartment. This time we had a 2 floor apartment in the highest part of the hotel. It was a long walk up a lot of steps but it was a lovely room with a huge balcony with 2 sunbeds and the sun all day. The restaurant is now only open certain times which is a disappointment as when we have been previously you could have a snack throughout the day. Now once breakfast is over you can't have anything until the kitchen opens at one, we would previously have a snack around 11 if we had missed breakfast. We still think this hotel is very good and would go back

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Debgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director Comercial at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Marina Bayview Guest
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. It was a great pleasure to have you with us. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for sharing your comments. About the snack, that is right, our snack bar have "reduced" time table, however, i weel inform the direction about your suggestion.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit one day soon !
Kindest regards from Sunny Puerto Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbaek, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We have had a really joyful stay in Marina Bayview and can recommend the facilities to all. The service is the best, the room was really really good and the employees are extremely happy. This is a place we want to get back to next time we travel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JanLissi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director Comercial at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Marina Bayview Guest,
Thank you very much for your pleasant review on Tripadvisor.
It is a great pleasure to hear that you had a nice stay with us.
Furthermore, we highly appreciate your words of praise regarding our staff and will be more than happy to pass your nice words over to them.
We would be delighted to welcome you back on a further occasion
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

when we arrived we found they were over booked but put us up in the marina suites for the night on our return to the marina bay view (all taxies paid for) the reception staff just took over & carried our cases right into to our appartments the rooms were very clean well set out with a great view & sun all day
we had 2 terrace appartments next to each other the meals are a bit limited but for the inconvince we were allowed to eat at the marina suites as we normaly stay 3 times a year at the marina suites for the last 5 years we thought we would give the hotel a try & it lived up to expectations with the same standards as the other hotels in the group full marks for the reception staff at both hotels wil stay there again

Room Tip: do not go for rooms 100 to 101 very poor view & no sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fisherman114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director Comercial at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your stay at Marina Bayview.

I am delighted that you find us a great balance of location and service. It is always great to receive such positive feedback from our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you in the future at Marina Suites or Marina Bayview.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
0.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,875 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Morasol Suites
Morasol Suites
#5 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
8.6 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
4.1 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Bayview

Property: Marina Bayview
Address: Avenida de Guayadeque, 3, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Ipanema Park Apartments)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#4 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Bayview 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chic Marina Bayview is built into the hillside overlooking Puerto Rico Harbour in Gran Canaria. It features a large outdoor pool and terrace with impressive Atlantic Ocean views.Apartments feature a private balcony or terrace. All have air conditioning, and a kitchenette with a fridge, coffee maker, kettle and toaster. There is satellite TV and a private bathroom.The restaurant by the pool offers spectacular views of the harbour. Paddle and tennis courts are just a few metres from the complex, and Salobre Golf & Resort is 15 km away. The resort has a 24-hour front desk and offers car hire. Free parking is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Marina Bayview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipanema Park Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
Ipanema Park Apartments Puerto Rico
Marina Bayview Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing