We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Marina Bayview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marina Bayview
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Just returned from a 2 weeks holiday at this resort and would recommend these apartments to family and friends. We had an amazing view over the Marina as we were staying on the second floor. Apartments were very clean but basic but couldnt fault it. Staff was friendly and helpful. The pool was clean and also around the sunbeds were clean. Only things that I was not to happy with was that there is no air con in the rooms and had to rent a fan for the 2 weeks and not very much entertainment on at night, even though it says it has. There is 178 steps to the supermarket and a few lovely restaurants. It takes about 20/30 mins walks into the main centre which is nice and only cost about 3 euros back, but overall had a gr8 holiday and would go back to Ipanema Park....

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director de Recepción at Marina Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2011

Dear Customer,

We are very grateful to receive your impressions about Ipanema Park services.
Your comments will help us to improve.

At the same time, we would like to inform you that the services that did not meet your expectations will be reviewed.

Sincerely

The Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

998 - 1,004 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2011

I would highly recommend these apartments. Amazing view over the marina in Puerto Rico. They are situated on the 2nd level with no lift to ground level so families might find the steps challenging. However, a taxi is only €2.50 to the beach. Pool and pool area is lovely. Poolside bar serves food all day at very reasonable price. Staff are very friendly. We are looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VincentKillalea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director de Recepción at Marina Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2011

Dear Customer,

First of all , thank you very much to let us know your kind comments about the services offered during your last holidays in Ipanema Park.

Our customers are the most valuable source of information for us.

Sincerely

The Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Just returned from our second visit to ipanema this time was a bit dissapointing on our arrival we were allocated roon b202 it was on the first level just above the pool i had put in a request when booking for a seaview on a high level i was told that this was all they had and that in two days time they could give us an apartment higher up but as we wanted to settle in wetold them we would keep room202 big mistake we were woken every morning to the noise of the staff sweeping and hosing down the pool area then from 8.30 onwards people would arrive as the ipanema is very child friendly it has started to get a lot of familys with young children it got very noisy with kids screaming all day long as ther is no air con we could,nt close the patio door or the windows there was also two pool tables so really late at night all we could hear was the clinkin of the balls and people talkin i dont understand why the pool tables could,nt be shut down at 1.00am think this is reasonable also on the noise thing as the apartments are in the marina all day long till 7.00pm they work on the boats so you get the constant grinding like a dentist drill in the distant so if your like me and like a bit of peace and quite i,d ask for an apartment high up block c and d are best i would still recommened ipanema as being great apartments the staff throughout are lovely and the poolside bar has some really good food all in all would return .

Room Tip: higher floors have less noise block c and d would be quieter .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irishprincess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director de Recepción at Marina Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2011

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments and experiences with us.

We will take note of your comments and are going to work on them in order to improve our services.

Sincerely

The Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We spent two weeks at this hotel in september . hotel very clean and staff most helpful, especially Esther on reception , Hotel is high up so to get to centre you need to walk up an incline and then down 170 steps some of which have no hand rail . or get taxis which are 3 or 4 euro very cheap and no waiting .Altogether a lovely hotel with great views from all areas of the hotel ,

Room Tip: rooms 400a to 405a in great position for all views and close to everything .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hwife087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director de Recepción at Marina Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2011

Dear Customer,

We are very grateful to receive your impressions about Ipanema Park facilities.
Your comments help us to improve our daily service.


Sincerely


The Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed for a week in the middle of September and really enjoyed our time in Puerto Rico. The complex is at the edge of town, which is perfect if you are wanting to stay clear of touts trying to entice you into their restaurants or trying to sell you timeshare deals.

We arrived about 10pm, which meant the on-site shop was closed (it is open 8am-4pm daily) so if you are arriving later, bring some tea bags etc for your first night. The shop is well stocked & not too expensive - was nice to have fresh bread for brekkie in the morning !

The bar food was reasonable, as were the prices. Happy hour was 4-5 and 9-10 which made prices reasonable, otherwise could be expensive for a round of drinks.

Our room had a superb sea view, and although was warm without air conditioning, was ok if you kept the windows open & curtains closed during the day. Kitchen was adequate for cooking basic meals (although we ate out). Living area was spacious for 2, and bathroom was good size. You can hire a safe for 17.50 euro per week & would advise this to keep your valuables safe !

The cleaners were in 5 days a week & did a great job, even putting away the dishes I had left on the draining board.

The 160 steps to the shopping centre are not as bad as people make out - they aren't the easiest in the heat but we perservered, and didn't get a taxi once (our calf muscles are great now :) )

We were able to use a courtesy room on our last day before heading to the airport in the evening and leave our luggage with reception staff which was a bonus as it meant we didn't have to take our luggage with us once we checked out earlier in the day.

There is a shopping centre at the bottom of the steps with half a dozen restaurants and a supermarket, again we used this alot to avoid the busy-ness of the main shopping centre.

Overall, we felt that Ipanema Park more than met and indeed exceeded our expectations for the price of our package. Travellers should remember that this complex is 2* and not expect it to be 4* palacial. We feel we got more than what we paid for - place was clean, staff were friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpiderandFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director de Recepción at Marina Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2011

Dear Customer,

We would like to thank you for the time that you have taken on sharing your experience in Ipanema Park. Our guests are the most valuable source of information for us.

With comments of guest like you,we have the opportunity to know what really yor expectations arre.

Yours Sincerely


The Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We took the bus from Las Palmas airport for 5.60 and got a taxi from Puerto Rico centre to the Ipanema for 3 euro. Check in was fast and simple. We got the apartments that we asked for when we booked. We arrived at 9:40 and had to run to the closest shop. Unfortunately the steps were closed for some (much needed) maintenance. We had to take the longer steps down. The shop closed at 10 and we barely made it.

The apartment was perfectly sized for 2 people. Equipped with a kettle, toaster, delph, coffee maker, pots and pans, a decent fridge and 2 small electric hobs. The shower was excellent. The toilet was noisy when flushed. The windows in the bedroom opened in and were placed above your head, this led to a few bangs on the head throughout our stay. There was also a TV with BBC world news, a table and chairs, a futon and a towel rack on the terrace. Air conditioning is 60e for a week. There was a few nights we found it tough without it. During the day it was fine if you kept the curtains closed.

Towels were changed 3 times a week. The bedlinen was changed once a week however was made everyday (except Thursday and Sundays when there was no cleaning service). The cleaning service was excellent as the apartment was spotless everyday. They came back later when we asked them to as well. One day they even did the dirty dishes when we forgot!

The pool and bar area was nice. We counted about 80 sunbeds and 20 umbrellas. The sunbeds were annoying as there was no way to adjust them to sit up. The umbrellas were taken by about 11 o clock. The pool was a bit small but grand for the amount of people there in September. They had an activities person every day that organised water aerobics every morning as well as a game to win a cocktail in the afternoon. The bar was good. They had happy hour everyday from 4-5 and 9-10. They stocked all the usual beers, cocktails and alcopops. We found the restaurant poor. A plate of chips was 2e but we ordered pizza and it came out burnt.

Unfortunately on the final few days the water turned foggy and the hot water went. We inquired at reception and was told a part broke in the water holding tanks. Outside help was needed. A note was sent around on the second day. It still was not fixed by the time we left.

Upon leaving we availed of the courtesy room. It was a small apartment with a shower. It meant we could go to the pool all day and shower before our flight. It was stocked with clean towels and the unfinished shampoos etc from the other apartments.

Overall we had a lovely time. The journey time via taxi to the center was 5 minutes and the cost was 4e. Wifi in reception was VERY patchy but skype always worked. Antonio in reception was extremely helpful. He was our favorite (although they were all very nice).

Room Tip: C104 - C114 are brilliant for couples but not for families. Away from the pool with lovely views. Re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bren2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director de Recepción at Marina Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2011

Dear Customer,

First of all, thank you very much to let us knowyour kind comments about the services offered during your last holidays in Ipanema Park.

We do apologize again for the hot watter problem and would like to inform you that our managerial department have analyzed and worked on that in order to make sure inconveniences like this do not happen.

Yours sincerely

The Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Loved this place, didn't expect a great deal for a 2star but waow what a find, travel lodge basic standard in the apartment but spotless & fresh, cleaned 5 times a week. Views are to die for, outstanding views of the sea & harbour from every spot within the complex due to it's location,never got tired of swimming in the well kept pool which looked out on the sea & harbour. On site food was good and reasonably priced & plentiful. Plenty loungers with umbrellas. 11 out of 10 for the staff, couldn't fault the service if I tried, friendly couldn't do enough for you people. Most of the holidaymakers I spoke to stay there again and again and I will definatley stay there again too. One thing - lots of stairs on the way down but 2-3 euros for a taxi back up, a must.

Room Tip: Self catering but there's no oven or micro, only a hob. some higher floors have no shade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristina1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
0.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 67 in Puerto Rico
3,323 reviews
1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
8.6 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
4.1 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4,258 reviews
7.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Bayview

Address: Avenida de Guayadeque, 3, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Ipanema Park Apartments)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#4 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range: $107 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Bayview 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chic Marina Bayview is built into the hillside overlooking Puerto Rico Harbour in Gran Canaria. It features a large outdoor pool and terrace with impressive Atlantic Ocean views.Apartments feature a private balcony or terrace. All have air conditioning, and a kitchenette with a fridge, coffee maker, kettle and toaster. There is satellite TV and a private bathroom.The restaurant by the pool offers spectacular views of the harbour. Paddle and tennis courts are just a few metres from the complex, and Salobre Golf & Resort is 15 km away. The resort has a 24-hour front desk and offers car hire. Free parking is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Bayview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipanema Park Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
Ipanema Park Apartments Puerto Rico
Marina Bayview Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing