We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday, aided by a great hotel.”
Review of Cabau Cala Nova

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cabau Cala Nova
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

I would certainly recommend Cala Nova, it was so clean, perfectly located and staff were friendly and couldn't have been more helpful!! 10 minute walk from the beach 5 from the shopping centre, just far enough away for no noise.
The only thing I would say is there was no air conditioning facilities in the rooms, it was ok in April 20-25 degrees but would be very hot in the peak season.
Thank you very much Cala Nova.
Holly

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HollyPTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (634)
There are newer reviews for Cabau Cala Nova
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 634 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

We, as a family of four, have just spent two weeks at the Cala Nova apartments and have had a fab time. The apartments are clean, the staff are friendly and very helpful and the pool and bar area are ideal for everyday use. We would definitely return as it is situated in an ideal position for beaches and for the main shopping/eating centre.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jomop14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Spent a whole week with the family (11 people) in 4 different rooms, we were all placed in floor number 7, which is pretty much stairs for an adult but ok for youngters, but you may have been bored of stairs already around the city, of course there is an elevator aswell. The apartment was fine with a big balcony. The kitchen was a bit too small and cooking pots were old, so not even putting oil or butter, your fried eggs would burn, there was neither a cutting board, but it offered spoons, knives etc for your regular needs like spreading. In the bathroom I encountered a funky smell, I don't know if it was the water or what... the shower didn't have a countain either. Our bedroom had a good sized closet for a week, but the bed was 2 separate. In average you can survive in here but its not luxy. The cleaning ladies would come in no matter you were in or not, they did not care since they had to finish all by the end of the day and their time was more important, sadly. I would return since I liked the location and the pool area, everyone was friendly and in general very clean.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BiancaCinelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed at cala nova twice now, really enjoyed it, spotlessly clean, huge balcony with great views, staff great, didn't hang round much during the day, spent it at a amadores beach, then back for quick shower and out again to a restaurant, but always ended up back at Cala Nova for a few in the bar, entertainment was great, looking forward to next visit

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jennifer t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here for a week at the end of march 13. The hotel is clean, staff are very helpful and the pool is very clean. We never ate at the hotel so I can't tell you how good the food is. The drink is reasonably priced for a hotel. The pool table is 2 euro's a game so if your kids are pool daft like mines are you'll spend a fortune on the table alone.

The hotel is close enough to the shopping centre and beaches for easiness but far enough away to avoid the hustle and bustle.
We had a 1 bed apartment with balcony for 2 adults and two kids, it was sufficient for our needs but if your kids are teenagers I would recommend getting 2 rooms. The tv is 25 euros for a week, the safe is 20 euros and wifi in rooms was roughly 25 ( signal is poor ).


I would certainly stay again and recommend to friends and family

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maf77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Spent a week in March at these apartments. I was concerned that it is quite close to the shopping centre and worried about my sleep quality, i needn't have worried. There was the occasional boisterous singing but this was not too disturbing. The room was comfortable and clean although there wasn't much storage for 4 people to share! The staff were friendly and helpful and the entertainment team tried to include everyone without being too pushy. The food was ok in the cafe bar - just a typical fast food offering so rather too greasy for my liking. As a point of fact, from the reception desk to the main road, there are 122 steps so bear that in mind for the ascent! Wifi is poor for those who need it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

stayed at the cala nova apartments for two weeks march 2013 had a lovely relaxing stay this was the 8th time we have used this hotel and it just gets better the staff are always very polite and nothing is too much trouble .we stayed in one of the two bed apts on the ground floor lots of space. The one bedroom apartments upstairs have lovely views and a double balcony all front facing. Good location for commercial centre about 5 mins away and 20 mins to the main beach. Good prices at Sabidan restaurant and Drinks at Sunspot very friendly service at both. Weather was lovely most days around 27 degrees cooler on an evening but still pleasant. Will definitely be staying at Cala Nova again.

Room Tip: high floor rooms have better views
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank well travelled h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.5 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabau Cala D'Or
Cabau Cala D'Or
#19 of 68 in Puerto Rico
737 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#17 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,445 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#14 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabau Cala Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabau Cala Nova

Address: Avda. Gran Canaria | Urb. Puerto Rico, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#13 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range: $50 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabau Cala Nova 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal accommodation for those looking for quality Gran Canaria hotels and apartments at superb prices! Our recently renovated apartments are ideal thanks to the all year round tropical climate. Cabau Cala Nova is part of the CABAU Hotels group that has been offering high quality holiday accommodation for over 30 years in all their hotels in Gran Canaria. Cabau Cala Nova offers 56 one bedroom and 3 two bedroom apartments which have been totally refurbished and feature a spacious balcony with views to the valley of Puerto Rico and the Atlantic Ocean. The accommodation has been tastefully decorated to make you feel comfortable. Think of Cala Nova as your holiday apartment in Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Cabau Cala Nova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala Nova Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
Cala Nova Apartments Puerto Rico
Cala Nova Gran Canaria
Cabau Cala Nova Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing