We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY”
Review of Eden Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eden Apartments
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
Writtle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just returned from a short break over mid September found apartment clean and comfortable and at a cost of £114 for two for 5 nights very good value swimming pool was nice did not eat here as the are far two many good local restaurants bar prices were high but only had the odd drink here as we went out every evening for a meal and seemed to end up at "The Blarney Stone" in the complex behind the apartments.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve-Chivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    421
    165
    51
    52
See reviews for
569
320
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

As we drove into Puerto RICO on the bus, I joked to my partner... 'How funny would it be if we were at the top of the hill'. Yes, famous last words. However, don't let that put you off. Ask the lovely reception staff, they phone one & it's there in minutes. Only a couple of Euro to the main center & beautiful harbour.
The apartments are lovely & very clean. The pool is if fair size & loads of room.
We stayed 1week & were all inc. the food was nice, fair selection of hot food & a large salad option which was refreshing & very tastey. There was ice cream available constantly, great for kids. The drinks were good too & it was large tumblers so we really got our money's worth on the all inc.
The only problem I would say is that after a 4hour flight & then 2hours on a bus to our hotel having dropped everyone else off first, we arrived in our apartment to find the maid cleaning. All we wanted to do was relax & start to unpack. We went to the bar for a drink, after half an hour returned & the maid was still cleaning. Now I'm not complaining about the cleaning, just think it should of been completed before the guests arrived. Other than that both me & my partner would happily return. Couple friendly, family friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patz86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Loved the weather can always rely on it being hot.
The apartments were pretty good actually two large ceiling fans in the front room and bedroom,
a kitchen with a fridge and two sunloungers on the balcony plus a table and four chairs.
We stayed Half Board for two weeks and i couldn't fault the food.
Didn't buy many drinks from the bar and chose to have coffee with our evening meal on several occasions.
The pool was quite deep so young children who cant swim would have to wear armbands, and there was no lifeguard.
Although we didn't play bingo the prize money you could win was very good plus between 16.00 and 17.00 there is an happy hour where drinks are two for the price of one.
I quite liked the taste of the local beer but it wont be to everyones liking.
It is a good walk down to the beach and it is advisable to catch a taxi back.
If you like the beach, Amadores have an excellent one which will cost you 3.50 for a sunlounger and 3.00 for a parassol.
There is an alleyway near to the apartments which leads to the Europa Centre where there are plenty of bars even found one serving a pint for 95 cents.
Took a boat trip to Mogan which has a market day on a friday such a lovely place.
A bus trip to Maspolomas cost 2 Euros and would advise a day trip.
On the Whole had a great holiday the Canaries is pretty barren but what do you expect when they have hardly any rain.
Would love to go again but may stop closer to the centre.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawick, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just spent 2 weeks at the Eden apartments. On arrival we found the reception small but staff very friendly. Throughout our stay the reception staff were friendly and helpful, and it was clean. The on site shop run by GAMA was small but stocked all our needs, and at a reasonable price.

After dropping off our bags when we arrived, we came down for lunch, and became concerned as the dining room looked like a 1970's 1980's transport cafe. But looks came be deceiving. Yes it could look a lot better, but the food was really good. Normally on AI holidays I see a lot of wasted food as people try, and throw away food because they dont like the taste. NOT HERE most of the plates collected by staff were clean, as people appeared to really enjoy the food. The two themed nights, CHINESE, and BBQ were really good too. The staff were really friendly and helpful throughout our staay. The only real negative I could say about this area is that the dining area doubles as the entertainment area, so the people who were coming down for a late meal, ended up dining inbetween the people seated for the entertainment, and having a few drinks, it was also right next to the pool, with open windows. They could do with building a second floor above the current dining room to seperate it from the pool and entertainment area.

The apartments were comfortable, and a good size. Cleaning happened 3 times in 7 days with bedsheets changed after 7 days. When we arrived we had a small maintainance issue, and reported it, this was fixed prior to us returning to the room 15mins later, other people we met also had issues, and they too found a similar service.

The pool was comparably with other hotels I have stayed in while in Spain. the sunbathing area was a reasonable size, but they also have a quieter Solarium, this is an adult only sunbathing area on the roof above of some of the apartments accessed by stairs in the main area, which does not suffer from any shading during the day.

The location is on the top of a hill, a steep hill, if yoiu dont like walking up or down them don't visit Peurto Rico, as most of the hotels seem to be up one, although not as high as the Eden, but taxis to, and from the beach or the town were approx 3 Euros.

Would we return? Yes we would, and we would probalbly take or recomend it to other members of the family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank asj1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have just back from our holiday at the Eden Apartments and we had an excellent time, I cant understand people that go here and complain. We were all inclusive and the food was very good and the drinks are certainly not watered down. The staff were very good always happy and certainly they worked very hard.We went here 11 yrs ago and one of the bar men still works there, infact i think he is always on duty as he didnt have a day off while we were there. Our apartment was very clean and comfortable, everything we needed. All in all an excellent place to go, we will deffinately go back. Thankyou to everyone there who made our holiday so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suffolktats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My friend & I stayed at the Eden Apartments for a week at the end of Aug and they were really nice albeit stuck way up at the top of a hill. We were self catering so cannot comment on the food or the pool as we didn't use it but the apartment itself was very clean and had everything we needed for the week and no cockroaches either which was a bonus. I would recommend a taxit to Amadorres & Puerto Rico beaches though as we walked it on day one and we never thought we were getting there.

I would recommend Harleys Bar in the Shopping Centre for a night out, it was great fun and the guys are all really nice. I wasn't so keen on the Europa Centre but the Shopping Centre was good for a night out.

All in all a great holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Myself and my Fiance stayed at this complex from 29th August to 12th September All Inclusive.
After reading majority of the reviews on here, I was a little bit hesitant on what to expect from the Eden Apartments. But all I can say is wait until you arrive and judge for yourselves. I did exactly that and loved my two week stay.

Reception:
They were very helpful, especially Kim who was lovely and English (which was a bonus). They had computers and and information table where you can pick up leaflets which tell you what attractions you can visit. Also they had a room where you can leave your luggage at the end of your stay if your not leaving until evening. We did this as you have to be out of your room by 12pm and we weren't leaving until 4 pm. They also have a laundry room with a free iron and ironing board which came in handy. Also just out of the reception doors there is a Supermarket which was reasonably priced and catered for everything that you would need.

Rooms:
We booked for a twin room and when we arrived we got given a two bedroom apartment. But as there was only two of us we didn't need that room. We had loads of wardrobe space and enough hangers. The only thing that was annoying about the bedroom was that it was two single beds pushed together and it kept parting so we gave up and put one of the beds in the lounge in between the two sofas to make a big bed! LOL. In all apartments you were given a fridge and a a small freezer, a kettle, a toaster, a hob for cooking, a microwave and cutlery including; plates, tea cups and saucers, glasses, knives and forks and spoons and also saucepan and a frying pan.
The bathroom was nothing special but clean. We did find whenever we flushed the toilet or had a shower a bad stench came from what we thought was the drains.
We also had a patio which was nice to relax in the evening if you didn't fancy the entertainment. We had a table and 6 chairs, two sun loungers and a clothes horse.
The living area was spacious it had two sofas and a TV.
The TV you have to pay 20Euros a week, we did this for a week but ended up getting a an extra week for free for some reason :) also you can hire an air condition unit for 50Euros a week, but the two fans in your apartment is efficient enough.

Pool Area:
The pool is big enough, you have a shallow end (in my eyes not shallow) and a deeper end. There is signs up saying no ball games but no one listens to them and just play ball games but if your ball goes into the restaurant you wont get it back!
Sunbeds - IF YOU CANT BEAT THEM, JOIN THEM! There is a rule saying your not allowed to reserve sunbeds but no one listened to this! Coming down for breakfast one morning at 8 o clock, all the sunbeds were already reserved! So we decided the next day we came down at 7am to reserve two and half of them were already reserved! It's crazy!
We did find the adult solarium was a nice quiet space and plenty of sunbeds and umbrella's up there!

Bar/Restaurant:
It was great having all inclusive as the drinks were free from 11am until 11pm but if you make an effort with the staff especially the bar manager Michell you could get served before or after the times. One of the bar staff who usually came on around lunch time was grumpy and rude but if you spoke to him nicely he would be nice back.
Who ever said the alcohol was watered down was WRONG!! Me and my partner were DRUNK after about 4 drinks each, they DO NOT MEASURE THEIR DRINKS! which is AWESOME!! :)
Breakfast times were 8am until 10am. This consisted of a full English, they had a toaster, a a hot plate to make toasties, they also had cereals and other little nibbles i.e cakes etc. There is a coffee machine and a juice machine. The staff always greeted you with a Good Morning and were always on top of removing your plates from your table when you were finished.
Lunch times were from 12pm until 3pm. This consisted of hot dogs, chips, burgers, pasta's, rice, with a different selection everyday, sandwich fillers, salads and deserts i.e ice creams, jelly, cakes that sort of thing.
Dinner times were from 6.30pm until 9.30pm. The food was never the same 3 times in a row,they always had a different taste of rice or a different taste of pasta. Always had a meat varying from fish, chicken, turkey, beef. They had curries, lasagna, breaded chicken etc. Had salads, cheese, ham etc. Deserts were the same as lunch but different flavors of cakes, jellies, yogurts, had ice cream and also yummy pofiteroles .

Entertainment:
We were rarely their in the evenings but the entertainment is done on a two week programe.
The DJ Pete was always nice, trying to involve all kids. It was based to entertain the children, they did need more to get the adults involved.
Their was always a little thing going on before the actual show started like a cocktail quiz or cash bingo. But the show didn't start until 10pm which is quite late, but after that they is karaoke on every night until 12pm.
From 4pm - 5pm every day was cash bingo - 1Euro for one ticket or 5Euro for 6 tickets, that was fun!

Attractions:
Just around the corner from the complex is a place called Europa. This has places to eat, little shops too buy souvenirs and other things. Also it had great bars for the evenings.
Extreemz bar is the place to be during the week. It cheap and run by an amazing DJ called Russ! He always remembers you, and gives you a free shot and you meet other locals and holiday makers there.

Amadores beach is wonderful! Its just 3Euros there and back in a taxi. There is always a free sun lounger but it is 3Euros for one. There is loads of little beach shops their and restaurants where you can have a cheap lunch. Also the sand is not to hot to walk on.

Sand Dunes is a must! But be warned! Half way down the beach where is the actual sand dunes are , is a kilometer long nudest area. We did not know this and was bombarded with nude men and women walking around us. The sand is extremely hot to walk on, so be prepared! You can catch a bus from the main Puerto Rico bus station for 2.75Euros each one way.

The main Puerto Rico shopping center is just 4Euros in a taxi. Or if you want to be like us, you can walk down 1000 steps to reach this and also the beach. This shopping center had loads of shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. But be warned you will get harassed by Jamaican men selling watches and sun glasses. We did get annoyed by this as we said no to one person and walked 5 steps and got harassed by another. We also saw one annoying people as they were eating in a restaurant.

We decided to go on a boat party which was called the Ibiza Booze Cruise. DO NOT GO ON THIS ONE AS ITS A WASTE OF YOUR MONEY. It was 50Euros each, and they tell you this included a buffet, free alcohol, banana boat, and discount on Jet Bikes and a Parachute. Whilst on the boat the alcohol ran out in the first couple of hours and we was supposed to be on this boat for 6 hours. The buffet consisted of a pasta which was pre made and fetched on board and tasted bad. The banana boat man was rude and decided to tell everyone in the queue he couldn't be bothered to do it anymore. And we were not taken to hire out Jet Bikes as the boat went out to far and didn't make it back in time. If I were you, I would go on the other Booze Cruise which is called MTV, as you get a Jacuzzi, alcohol from a bar, and a proper buffet And all of the above excursions. It was also a bigger boat and looked more appealing.

I hope this review helped you! :)
We had a great time despite a few things, not to mention a stunning tan! :)

Much love from Bournemouth
Adam and Dee!

Room Tip: If you get a room by the pool ask to move as you wont get much sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank DeeBron1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#13 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,839 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#16 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,368 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#1 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,239 reviews
0.4 mi away
Servatur Puerto Azul
Servatur Puerto Azul
#22 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Apartments

Property: Eden Apartments
Address: Calle Roque de los Muchachos 1, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#12 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eden Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eden Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Eden Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing