We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just like going home”
Review of Eden Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eden Apartments
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“just like going home”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

another wonderful week at the eden apartments . this is the fifth year 2 friends and my self visited eden. Every one remembered and welcomed us. This year we went all inclusive and it was worth every penny.English bacon wonderful salads and good drinks in real glasses.We got the apartmen t we asked for and spent the whole week basking in the the sun round the pool.The evening entertainment was good and there was no late night noise as you would expect from A I.We even won a bingo which was played every afternoon along with quizzes and games you could join in with if you drag your self off the sunbed, Well done Eden will be back again next year

Room Tip: most rooms are near the pool or the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank winnie1072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    413
    162
    52
    50
See reviews for
555
315
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

The first room we had (60) which was near to the pool, we thought was ideal. However, there was some contraption on the roof above our room which was making a very loud humming/buzzing sound all night long and made it impossible to sleep. We reported this numerous times throughout the day and eventually, when they couldn't exactly specify when an engineer would arrive to sort this 'machine' out!, we were moved to another room (117) which was ideal. Bar staff excellent (we were fully inclusive), food lovely. Entertainment (which was brought in) - average, but bear in mind it all stops at 11.00pm when you're supposed to go home and keep quiet (a bit like Butlins used to be). Kareoke pretty dire - as with most kareoke machine owners I've met, likes to hear the sound of his own voice. I appreciate it's difficult to safisfy all visitors as they come from all over europe, however as a well-travelled holiday maker to most parts of europe and having stayed at many, many hotels, I think they need to sort out their in-house entertainment and devise some quality evening entertainment schedule or plan, rather than their present ad-hoc record playing, half-hearted kareoke chappy who thinks he's alone in his front room. Wont' be going back, not because of the hotel (although the entertainment didn't help) but because of the timeshare touts who were a nuisance every day. I would suggest the powers to be on gran canaria sort this out before it's too late!

Room Tip: Keep away from the pool area. Listen out for buzzing or humming noises - they can be 10 times louder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin3571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Our family of four stayed here for one week in February 2012 and we all had a wonderful time. Our two bedroom apartment could have done with a lick of fresh paint here and there and the interior lighting was a little on the dim side, but having said that it was very clean and comfortable. We went all inclusive and the food was to die for, plenty of variety and of a very high standard. The 'free' alcoholic drinks included 'Carling' which came as a surprise as in these establishments they are usually locally produced beers and lagers and generally not of good quality. It must be said that the staff here could not have done any more to make our stay more enjoyable; they were all very kind and friendly and we were made to feel welcome from the moment we checked in.
A short walk from the apartments is the Europa Shopping centre which offers plenty of gift shops and various pubs, restaurants and also a crazy golf course which was good fun. Please be wary of the touts who approach holiday makers whenever possible; we were pestered almost as soon as we'd stepped outside onto the pavement on our first day there. We were 'invited' to pop along to another hotel down on the local beach and had the promise of all sorts of rewards once we got there, (T-shirts, i-pads, a 600 euro prize etc). I made it quite clear that we weren't interested but these touts are everywhere, day and night, so we did our best not to make eye contact and to just keep walking, but they are a nuisance.
For 9 euros each (return) we took the glass bottom ferry to Port Mogan which is a must. Also known as 'Little Venice' it is a quaint harbour town and very picturesque so there are lots of photo opportunities here. The journey takes approximately 30 minutes and sometimes the ferry stops on the return journey so that passengers can witness the fish being fed. Aside from this we also paid 51 euros each to go on a 4x4 off road safari (Zig Zag tours). It sounds expensive but it was an all day excursion from 8:30am to 6pm, with lunch and a free camel ride thrown in! Our guide was Gary who has lived in Gran Canaria for 20 years so his knowledge was phenomenal and he was also very witty. We travelled in a convoy of seven open-topped jeeps and explored the mountains of Fataga experiencing some wonderful views which we otherwise wouldn't have seen. It's only the last 20 minutes of the tour which is actually off road and it's most definitely not for the faint hearted! Our party of four followed in the very last jeep of all so we had to travel through all the dust kicked up by the others and by the end of the trip literally no-one had escaped being covered by the stuff. Despite this I would definitely recommend this excursion (we booked ours through the Thomson rep), we felt completely and utterly safe for the duration and built up quite a rapport with our driver Antonio.
We were all very sad when our week at the Eden came to an end and it was time for us to leave.

Room Tip: Our apartment was away from the restaurant and pool area which I could imagine may have been quite n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ali1802cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I'll agree with the previous reviewer that some of the decor at the Eden Apartments is rather worn, however the whole place is kept spotlessly clean and to suggest the blankets were full of lice is ridiculous.

The apartments are set along little streets of whitewashed buildings with archways of bougainvillea, honeysuckle and datura, very pretty. The central area, around the pool is like a village centre with the sunbeds, restaurant tables and a children's play area. The restaurant is accessed by a small bridge over the pool. The whole site is quite small but as a group with young children we found it the ideal size as the children quickly found their way around and could feel quite independent and safe.

We were all inclusive and were very pleased with the quality and variety of the food awhich included peppered steak and king prawns. The all-inclusive drinks were also of a better quality than I have experienced at more expensive hotels, the gin and tonics were doubles or trebles and the beer, Estrella, was also good. The children enjoyed the good quality ice cream.

There was entertainment every night which we enjoyed, including a rock musician, a parrot show, acrobats and a magician. Every day there were activities for children, a quiz on alternate days and daily Bingo with cash prizes, not everybody's cup of tea, but you can take it or leave it.

The staff were all excellent and very friendly, many of them knew the children's names by the end of the week.

As an extended family group with four children we felt that this was an excellent choice of holiday, relaxing and fun.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank magsonjollies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Feels weird to read reviews of this hotel on TA, since our experience of the hotel was a very poor one. Have not visited the Canary Islands in 20 years, but travelled extensively in Asia, Africa and Europe and we were not in any way prepared for the low level of accomodation that Eden, and many other hotels apparently, provide on Gran Canarias. We had a 2-bed room apartment, and were told all apartments are exactly the same. The interior decoration was like something from the beginning of the 1980's, with awful ugly sofas, nightmarish blue, harsh lighting, cracked bathroom tiles and tub, old and uncomfortable beds and an altogether scruffy feeling. The worst part were the blankets: no proper duvets, but old and worn out blankets more suitable for a Dickensian orphanage than a modern hotel. They looked so old and lice filled we didn't dare use them the first night and ended up with a cold, since the rooms were FREEZING night time. Also, the rooms are extremely noisy, you can hear the neighbours talk through the walls. Bye-bye sleep!
The food at the resort is of very poor quality, breakfast looked fine at a first glance but everything is made of the cheapest possible ingredients. We only ate there once and thanked our lucky stars we hadn't bought the all inclusive. Phew!
You can pretty much tell all about a hotel by its lobby and Eden's is out of this world...
The only good thing about it is the (spanish) staff, who work very hard and are polite and friendly. Especially the janitors/technicians and maids do their best with what they've got: sheets are changed frequently, towels every day etc.
Another irritating thing about Eden is that EVERYTHING costs extra: wifi, tv (20 euros a week!), sun bed mattresses, etc etc. If you're used to a Scandinavian/US/"normal" standard on your vacation, stay out of Eden unless you want to ruin your holiday. If, on the other hand, you're only there for the sun, this might be a good alternative.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. Further away from the pool is less noisy, since there is quite a lot of ent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrauVerbissima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Eden where we found it immaculately clean with really friendly staff who were great fun, from the chefs to the bar/restaurant staff (especially Miguel and Chira.) The maids did an excellent job and our rooms were always serviced well. It is at the top of a BIG hill but nicely away from the hub of the touristy town centre and only 3.5 Euro in cab to Port for excellent boat trips. Water taxi to Mogan and Arguinegin only 10 Euro return and a great way to get out. Market days VERY busy so avoid Tues and Fri unless you like really busy places ! The weather was great too and we explored all the island from this lovely base. Our only regret was having to leave ... !!

Room Tip: Some rooms are around and near to pool and entertainment area so ask for rooms away from these - our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank fiona_cameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

just got homelast night from week in puerto rico, eden apartments, and couldnt be happier ! i went with my sister and her family and my husband and 8 yr old son, we had a 2 bed apartment each upgraded free of charge by thomson , they were HUGE, loads of space, beds were clean and comfy, kitchen area was clean and bathroom too. shower was lovely! we had private patio with table and chairs, 2 sun loungers and clothes airer. whole comples is very clean and tidy, no rubbish around there is bins everywhere so no excuses for dumping litter , kids playarea got a bit wild at night with older kids unsupervised going up slides the wrong way, we had to report this in the end as our boys got hurt . The pool is great, good size, split into 2 by a bridge one side seems quieter than the other which is ideal if you wanna chill in water or if you wanna rant arount with a giant lilo . bar service and resturant service is very goos, staff very friendly and helpful, my son was helping Pete each afternoon with the quiz and Bingo lol !!! all in all a very chilled relaxed holiday, away from the bright lights and noise of a beach front, you can walk to beach but it is all down hill or 3 Euro for taxis but i will warn you they drive like lunatics and it is possible you will throw up ! the Europa shopping centre is right behind the Eden Apts you can eat here is range of places, spanish, pizza, british pubs, irish pubs, bars and entertainement as well as shopping. haggle with prices in the shops though . Its not the place if your looking for an all singing all dancing holiday, if you want 18-30 your in the wrong area, Thomson rep Joel was great, very friendly ( enjoy your summer in greece joel ) we really couldnt fault this holiday, we will definately be going back next year.. oh and by the way we only saw one cockroach, and named him Dave !

Room Tip: we had low level room next door to my sister , no noise, very safe security walk round all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nicolam183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.8 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,992 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#16 of 68 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#13 of 68 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Apartments

Property: Eden Apartments
Address: Calle Roque de los Muchachos 1, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#12 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eden Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Eden Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Eden Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing