We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a great time :-)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlota Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlota Apartments
Ranked #27 of 70 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Had a great time :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

Just returned from a week in Puerto Rica 12 of us staying at the Carlota. The rooms are clean & comfortable, the maids came in twice in the week that was fine. The pool & area was cleaned daily & there was ample sunbeds. The pool bar & restaurant exceeded expectations, run by Clive, Drac, Daisy & June. Clive is a qualified chef so the food was great & all the live football is shown in the bar that Drac will keep you entertained at. As others have said only 100 steps to the centre (turn right as you leave the hotel) and a short walk to a lovely beach. All in all well worth the money & we will be returning.

Room Tip: Level 4 & above to look down on the pool on level 3, there is a lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon-Cath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    86
    49
    28
    22
See reviews for
47
126
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

Hotel ok for the money you spend stayed there 17/03/2012 met some great people ,get back for happy hour have a drak special the mans a legend and cliff cooking is not to be missed will come again next march, mikie the greatest bingo caller( lovely )

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruudyrooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

Currently staying here at the moment. It's not a well eqipped place but it has a pool and its very clean. It's a 5 minute walk to the centre and 15 minute walk to the beach. The bar has a happy hour everyday and it's 2€ a pint. It's shows live footie matches and the staff are great and friendly, they can't do enough for you. It's cheap clean and in a great spot. If your a snob it's not the place for you but if you want a cheap chilled week it's perfect. It's also very quiet. I will be coming again. In fact it's far cheaper to book with the hotel direct and go through the travel operator and they will pick you up from the airport for €40. If you use Ryan Air you could come here very cheaply.

It is located at the top of a hill and if your not of good health maybe not the place to stay as there are plenty of steps to get here.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Niel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

stayed in the carlota 4 times, it is basic, reception and bar staff are friendly i will certainly go back

Room Tip: best rooms are the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slugger1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillerod, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

We have just returned from 8 days at Carlota Apartment in Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria. We have stayed there many times before - mainly because it is easy to go (100 steps) to the center and still away from the worst noise.
But this year, we were positively surpriced. The hotel has been painted - and there were new towels - the bathroom facilioties repaired and some new equipements as a toaster and a coffee mashine in the kitchen.
And it is still very cheap!
Ditte, Denmark

Room Tip: Topfloor (8th or 9th) - with a good view over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ditte_jakobsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

very friendly hotel ,staff very polite bar area good homecooked food,a few steps to the resort centre,would definately stop here again

Room Tip: floor 9 has huge balconies and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hollylollyCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stranraer, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

We just arrived back on Sunday :) We thought the rooms were good value for money and well located. The staff are all lovely, very friendly and genuine. The rooms are cleaned every other day and the apts are spotless although basic, plenty of clean towels bedding changed once a week which is all I ever do at home anyway. We had to hire a kettle from reception for 3 euro which I thought was reasonable. I was in room 201 which was a quite room with alot of sun in the afternoon and a lovely view.There is a nice wee bar that serves lovely food and Ice cream, the pizza's are beautiful and the bar staff are friendly and go out there way to help you. All in all i'd def recommend these apartments to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Triconiall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.7 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
#33 of 70 in Puerto Rico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabau Cala D'Or
Cabau Cala D'Or
#17 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabau Cala Nova
Cabau Cala Nova
#7 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Miriam Apartments
Miriam Apartments
#28 of 70 in Puerto Rico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.7 mi away
Babalu Apartments
Babalu Apartments
#19 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Palmera Mar
Apartamentos Palmera Mar
#35 of 70 in Puerto Rico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlota Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlota Apartments

Property: Carlota Apartments
Address: Av De Gran Canaria 16, 35138 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 70 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Carlota Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Carlota Apartments Hotel Gran Canaria
Carlota Apartments Grand Canary
Carlota Apartments Hotel Grand Canary
Carlota Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing