We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colina Mar Apartments
Ranked #22 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

This was my first ever trip to the Canaries and it was also me and my girlfriend's first trip abroad. We wanted somewhere lively but not obscene, so we opted for Colina Mar in Gran Canaria. For the money we paid, we couldn't have chosen better.

The aparment style rooms were good. Cool and spacious and the beds were very comfortable. Ours even had memory foam mattress toppers. The room was immaculate and the views over Puerto Rico were super as well. The staf were all very friendly and helpful and the hotel is only a stones throw away from a small shopping centre where there are some good restaurants and bars. To get down to the main resort is a 15-20 minute walk down quite a steep hill. We only walked back up once as the taxis are only €4 to take you back up to the hotel.

The only draw backs of the hotel were the main pool area was rather small and a little cramped and the showers did not have a high enough rim round the edge, so water would sometimes pour out onto the tiled bathroom floor. There are also feral cats that patrol the pool area looking for scraps, but the staff do chase them away and they don't come near the people too often.

I'd defintely go back to Colina Mar as it's a good all round hotel, catering for couples and families.

Room Tip: Any room not above the main pool or bar. The higher the floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ScottishLeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    443
    239
    84
    82
See reviews for
416
433
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

First time to the Canaries! So glad we chose this holiday! Beautiful surroundings, friendly people and amazing weather!!

Room- had everything we needed.

We spent our holiday at the small pool- as we just wanted to relax away from the kids club and music.

Puerto Rico- is great but VERY VERY British, I wasn't expecting it but dealt with it. The ONLY criticism I have- is the PRs are a nightmare!! sometimes rude! Yes we are a young couple but it doesn't mean we want to go into EVERY single bar.. I felt like I was in Marmaris in Turkey! AWFUL!

Food great and beer very cheap.

We would recommend the drag act organised by Thomsons- great night!

Great holiday and the Colina Mar was fab- we will be going back :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lucylovescocktails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Lovely hotel, very clean, the staff were all friendly, I sometimes have trouble walking, but there are lifts and slopes so was easy to get around there. Excellent value for money . Would go there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suecraddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We had a great holiday in August 2013 - just my 11 yr old son and myself (mum) very friendly and helpful staff and great atmosphere around the complex - people really seemed to gel here . We were all inclusive which was great value for money ...if you go self catering - you have the option to go AI on a daily basis when you get there but only local drinks are part of the AI deal and after 11pm you pay two for one. Complex itself was a bit hard to navigate to begin with AND THERE ARE LIFTS ...no-one could verify this when we booked. The rooms were very clean and had everything you needed even washing up liquid - I asked for us to be moved from a noisey room above the generators ( were ever we go we allways get it !) and it was no bother to the staff. This hotel is right at the top of one of the hills and we did the walk down the steps to town twice - but its a killer on the legs if you are not used to it!!! there is a gentle 30 min walk to the man-made beach (name escapes me) which was a far better beach and cleaner water than the main beach which the ferries come in and out of. The Europa centre is close by with the usual tourist tat ! The pools are good - we alternated between the two ...as my son was in there most of the day light ! Overall fab hotel if you just want a good rest, reasonable food and drink and fun! Only downside was that Wifi was rubbish with my iphone - didnt work but who cares when you are on hols !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lyndaHarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Great holiday food was good room was comfortable and staff were friendly. the evening entertainment was good. rooms and pool area was very clean food was always hot and the room was very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jamie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We stayed in mid MAY here, first night we arrived we were checked in by a nice woman, when we got to the room and started unpacking we went to the bathroom and noticed ants crawling all over the sink, toilet and shower. The walls had some on too. Looked in the kitchen, ante there too. On the floor even. Went to complain about this as it was disgusting, a really rude man was at reception and when I tried explaining I wanted another room he just shouted at me saying 'WHAT'? As if he didn't understand much English. When I finally got through to him he just gave to bug spray and Said, 'NO, NO ROOM FOR YOU, USE THIS'. And then ignored everything else I had to say. Went back to the room, slept there for one night and went in the morning to complain again and luckily a nice woman changed room for us. On the other side of the complex. Got there, more ants. All week we have been living with these ants, every day the bug spray made no difference, hundreds of ants. It got so bad at the end of the week we didn't even want to cook because they were all over the counters, the sofa and even in the cupboards. Disgusting it really was, the good things were that the maid service was good and they did try and kill more ants for us. Pool was good with lots of sun beds. Was a nice room but was just completely ruined by ants.

Try to get a room by the small pool, the main one is loud with music ect.

Room Tip: Small pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 248Roddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

just returned from colina mar overall a very good complex staff are very helpful and the facilities are good the room we stayed in was on the 4th floor it was very clean and had everything you need for self catering cant comment on food we always cooked our own pool area very clean and plenty of sunbeds (for a change) there are 2 lifts which was handy there is a supermarket on site with everything you will need taxi rank is 2 mins from front door if you want to go down to the main centre it costs £4 well worth it we walked one day I think there was over 400 stairs the Europa centre is 2 mins away and we used MARY DS pub had some brilliant nights there singers karaoke etc and the elvis tribute was one of the best we have seen( paul francisThorpe) a brilliant break and I would go back to colina mar no problem get booked up see for yourself happy holidays

Room Tip: get a room on the 4th floor what a veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ronnie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#16 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#12 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#13 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Babalu Apartments
Babalu Apartments
#19 of 68 in Puerto Rico
501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
#36 of 68 in Puerto Rico
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Servatur Montebello Apartments
Servatur Montebello Apartments
#21 of 68 in Puerto Rico
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colina Mar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colina Mar Apartments

Property: Colina Mar Apartments
Address: Calle Timanfaya 4, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colina Mar Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colina Mar Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colina Mar Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
Colina Mar Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing