We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VALUE FOR MONEY”
Review of Cabau Cala D'Or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cabau Cala D'Or
Ranked #18 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
DAWLISH
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“VALUE FOR MONEY”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Just returned home wishing we had another week. The apartment was spotless could not fault it one bit.Yes it is high up out of town but that's Puerto Rico. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Cannot comment on evening entertainment as we were out every night. On the whole had a fantastic time and wouldn't hesitate on returning to these apartments or recommending them to friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TracyDawlish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    237
    111
    45
    35
See reviews for
274
279
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterlee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Apartments are small but enough for 3 adults and a 3 year old. Place is clean, but a little rough around the edges. Could do with a good refurbishment. Beds are uncomfortable and bedroom is hot for sleeping in. Pool and pool area is small but when we went plenty of room for getting sunbeds etc. Pool bar is good for food and drink, and staff, (bar and pool entertainment) are friendly and helpful. The apartments are 200 steps down and you don't need to be fit, only to come back up. Taxi best way to get back. All in all not the worst place I've stayed in but far from the best.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We spent a week in the Cala d'Or and to be honest it was just what you would expect for the money,,The room we were in was very clean and pretty basic,The Bed was really uncomfortable and I spent the week sleeping on the sofa bed which was not so bad.
It was Basic and there were a few extras that could be gotten for a cost like internet for 6 euros a day and fans for the room and you also had to pay extra if you would like to watch Tv .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carloMarandola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Only 3 star (not 4 as advertised by On The Beach.) There are 200 steps down to the nearby shops, bars & restaurants so you need to be physically fit. No hair dryer in the room. No toiletries in bathroom. No air conditioning so was hot in October but must be unbearable in the summer months. Regular maid service. Nice size living area & balcony in the one bedroom app. but was very well worn. Beds were hard and small holes in pillow case. Only encountered 1 cockroach in the kitchen. Charged 18 euros per week for the television.The entertainment was extremely loud. Bedroom at the back shielded you from the noise of the local bars/ clubs, but caught all the noise from people coming back to their rooms all through the night and early hours ( us included!). All said- conveniently positioned to local bars- 20 minutes walk to the beach- good bus service & ferry to local beauty spots ( Anfi & Mogan).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 259LLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We thought that the whole area of the appartments were very clean and well looked after .
Bar prices were quite a bit higher than in the shopping centre , or sea front , but was always nice to have a late drink before heading up to our room .
Pool is fairly small , and cold , but good enough for a dip to cool off .
We were aware of the "walk" to the shops and bars etc. and in all honesty it took a while for our legs to stop aching after walking down ( yes down ), but a cab up the hill ( which I would recommend ) only costs between 2&3 euro's !
Would also recommend English breakfast in a bar on the front named Harbour Lights ! Lovely grub , good value and a fantastic view over the lovely sandy beach ! Also one night in there , may have been Thursday , not quite sure . They had an entertainer on , very campish , but fantastic fun !
All in all , a nice place , lovely friendly people , even the people trying to sell time shares were nice enough , once they knew you wasnt going to buy anything .
If you like fast cars ? Have a look at the cars that are for rental for a driving experience , opposite the McDonalds , couple of super cars , but for me. It was just to take a look and a photo , very friendly English fella working there !


  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbobut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Our apartment had recently been refurbished so was very clean and well equipped. However, we did encounter 8 cockroaches in the two weeks, cant say that it was due to being unclean it certainly wasn't, with cleaning service most days. The pool was very disappointing although again very clean, very small too; even though we went during school term time, there were a number of children who were in the pool with their inflatables (and that was most of the time) there was little room for anyone else so if you go within the school holiday period you would have no chance; I am not anti children playing but there should be enough space for all. There is an internet café and WI FI service available at a charge of 6 Euro per day for Wi fi with discounts for longer periods. There is a small eating area at the pool side and in the bar which is clean but there is no comfy chairs to relax at the bar, of an evening or when you are waiting for your transfer to leave. They have a big screen and they show most Premiership matches, with Sky news during the day. There are no TV's in the rooms but you can hire equipment, unfortunately we were not given an itinerary in our room when we arrived which would have really helped to know what facilities the hotel had available so therefore we never used then. The beds are clean but the mattresses are uncomfortable as you can feel most of the springs, that said most apartments are similar in my experience in Gran Canaria, little detail is given to comfort. Lastly our room was noisy being near to the entrance, we had noise from people coming back in late at night and again from the cleaners the next morning; pleasant as they were, seemed to congregate outside our bedroom window most mornings. All in all a good holiday location but the hotel sadly could have been better.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher apartment away from the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

If you like cockroaches stay here if you like rude reception staff then this is the place for you if you like a pool that's smaller than the bath you have at home make a booking. If you like a fridge that doesn't work and having to drag your bags up 2 flights of stairs to reception you've found your home from home. But if you don't like any of the above then book anywhere else by the time I came home I would rather have slept in a bin. If you have small children who can stay awake till the wee small hours then book a room here cause they sure as hell won't get a wink of sleep with the noise from the pool area at night. A word to the wise if you are unfortunately stuck here bring a flashlight cause the bedroom lights worked only some of the time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lizlaineC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.2 mi away
Cabau Cala Nova
Cabau Cala Nova
#7 of 68 in Puerto Rico
605 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#1 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,104 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#16 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Servatur Casablanca Hotel
Servatur Casablanca Hotel
#4 of 68 in Puerto Rico
474 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabau Cala D'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabau Cala D'Or

Property: Cabau Cala D'Or
Address: Calle Gran Canaria 14, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Cala d'Or Apartments)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabau Cala D'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cabau Cala D'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala d`Or Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
Cabau Cala D'Or Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing