We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Apartments with Good Facilities.”
Review of Cabau Cala D'Or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cabau Cala D'Or
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Visited these apartments for the 4th time 23rd October Till 3rd November.

Night porter was fantastic when we arrived, no issues with our requests, very friendly and spoke excellent English. We asked for a room 301 on the booking and got room 301 again no issues and a very quick check-in. Lift is a little dated but was working correctly.

Room was clean and tidy and ready for us, balcony door was left slightly open to allow heat to escape and clean air to come into the room. There is no air conditioning in the room but unlike other places its not a sticky heat and there is a slight cool air breeze at night. There is noise from the commercial centre in the middle of the resort but this is blocked out when closing the balcony doors and hardly noticable in the bedroom.

The kitchen is dated but has the necessary equipment for self catering families who like to cook their own food. There is a 2 ring cooker, toaster, microwave, kettle and sink. Our kettle was damaged but when we took it to the reception they replaced it instantly with a brand new one.

The pool temperature is satisfactory for the outside temperature in that it will take your breath when you get in it but this is only for the first minute then it is quite refreshing. The cleaners are out every single morning cleaning the tiles around the pool and sunbathing areas and also around the edges of the pool. We had no reports or issues of ear infections etc .....

The entertainer at this apartment is new to the job and is no where near as good as the old entertainer LEO however he does try his best. His english is not great either! however he is a nice and polite person and you only need to say No once a day to his games!

There is an onsite shop to buy the essentials for breakfasts / dinner etc .... Bacon / Milk / Break / Pop / Water etc.... The bar prices are not expensive either with a full english breakfast costing just 5 euro.

My advise is to try and get a room in either Block A or Block B and if block B on the 3rd or 4th floor. this is to avoid any flooding if there is a major rainfall. Stay in rooms 01 - 07 if possible on the 4th floor as there is a water tower on the roof which makes a racket if you are any closer!!!

There are quite a lot of steps to get to the apartments from where the coach drops you off so its not the best for people with walking disabilities / issues. There are also over 150 steps down to the commercial centre. A taxi back up is just 3 euro!!

The apartments also have 2 pool tables for the children and 4 computers which have games on them and internet access charged at 1 euro for 10 minutes. The view from the apartments is simply amazing, you can see right across to the other side of the resort and down to the ocean as well. Check out time is 10am and it costs 20 euro to keep your room if available until 4pm. There is a 5 euro deposit for the safe key. The accomodation providers themselves have their own entertainment on Tuesday - Sunday nights so if your not upto going down to the fun bars and restaurants you can stay entertained in the apartments.

If you do go down to the Commercial Centre, i can fully recommend visiting El-Trebol for food and then over the bridge to Snoopys and Donalds bar for music and karaoke.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the third or fourth floor in complex B to be safe from flooding from the rain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dazdisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

496 - 502 of 768 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

Lovely stay excellent value for money. Stayed with my boyfriend both aged 21 and 22. Hotel staff are very helpfull especially the bar man in the night very funny :-). Food excellent, this hotel is good for all ages entertinment everynight expect mondays. And all through the day. Rooms are basic but clean what more you want, we paid under 120 for two of us to stay here for a week and we had our very own private patio area with sunlonges for us. 101c . Cleaners came everyday and done good job. this hotel is close to alot of this mc ds just down the steps also purtio rico beach . Lovely stay cnt wait to go back next year in this hotel.
Ps for a great day out go on zig zag sarfia excellent day trust me :-) A

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tashak2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

we stayed in room 101c at the start of october just me and my husband we do not have any faults at all with this hotel, great apartment ours was cleaned everyday :) entertainment was great with lots of fun, loved the quizzes and bingo and shows that were put on, friendly staff would reccommend. the hotel is quite close to resort centre but has a lot of steps but that wernt a problem for us. we had NO cockroaches in our apartment at all only a few outside. the cleaners are lovely too, even washed our pots up in the sink. i read some of the reviews on here before we went on holiday and was quite worried with what i read but honestly i soon changed my mind when i got there absolutly a fab holiday and will certainly be going back to cala d or :)

Room Tip: we had a terrace and not a balcony so we had sunbeds much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sarah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My mother and I stayed at these apartments a few weeks after a tragic time in our lives in may of this year. we expected to try and unwind and relax for a week in the sun away from home. It was simply awful. the rooms were ok at first but every single night we had cockroaches all over the apartment. reception no help whatsoever frankly they don't give a crap! we did not sleep a wink for the week. i would like to warn anyone going to stay here that you will have visitors every night without fail. the year before we stayed at the Gloria Palace which was fantastic you really do pay for what you get. to say you get cockroaches everywhere is not true as we did not see a single one staying at Gloria Palace. do not stay here its just terrible.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aislingosul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Myself, partner and 8 yr old daughter stayed end of Aug and had a great time. The staff were great, even the cigar smoking, slightly odd fella on reception. The cleaners are fantastic and do a sterling job, our room was cleaned three times in 7 days. Yes it's noisy but rent a fan and have the door closed. We were also given one by a family who were going so we had two which was great, we gave it away to another family on leaving, hopefully it is still being passed on. Must say the only negative was that there were not enough parasols, we found people very greedy when it came to loungers and umbrellas!! There are some great restaurants around, but the touts can be annoying. Apartment was great, spacious and kitted out with all you would need, only saw one cockroach! Overall for a cheapy it has everything you need in an aprtment and location.....go for it :))

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tams71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

stayed begining of september, staff are very friendly and helpfull, hotel clean and tidy. apartment was a good size, pool was lovely and cleaned every morning,weather was very hot and yes we did miss air con at night, and as you could hear music from resort below we couldnt open any windows, but we survived. resort is nice, lots of places to eat and drink. we didnt have any problems with time share touts only the ones at bars and restaurants trying to get you to eat and drink in their place can be a pain, some will not take no for an answer and can be rude. beach is lovely and yes there is a lot of steps down to resort but if you walk the road way its fine, hire a car and try other resorts and beaches, water park is well worth a visit. all in all a great time had.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lcindyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

javi the entertainment he is amazing he should have a pay rise he is so friendly he helps the kids all day he also plays adults games also the rooms are very clean the food is okay but i suggest you go in to town for a london kebab the best thing you will ever eat the down side is bad disabled acsess and no air con

Room Tip: get up early for a good sun bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jaykep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.2 mi away
Cabau Cala Nova
Cabau Cala Nova
#11 of 67 in Puerto Rico
662 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 67 in Puerto Rico
3,356 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#17 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#13 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,373 reviews
1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabau Cala D'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabau Cala D'Or

Address: Calle Gran Canaria 14, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Cala d'Or Apartments)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range: $50 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabau Cala D'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabau Cala D'Or Apartments, Sun 365 For those looking for Gran Canaria hotels, our Cabau Cala D’Or apartments are the ideal place for sun worshippers wishing to enjoy a relaxing holiday by the swimming pool. We are one of the most popular establishments amongst the hotels and apartments in Gran Canaria, Puerto Rico. We are located in the Puerto Rico valley only a few minutes walk from the large commercial area that offers a large selection of restaurants, bars and shops. The white sandy beach of Puerto Rico and Playa Amadores are also a small distance away. If you want to relax and maximize your stay with us just lie back by the pool in the sun and enjoy a drink or a snack from the pool bar. Our apartments are a great option if you are looking for Gran Canaria hotels in Playa Amadores and still want to be in the lively atmosphere of Puerto Rico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cabau Cala D'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala d`Or Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
Cabau Cala D'Or Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing