We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet menu with wines”

La Taberna Timanfaya
Ranked #25 of 207 Restaurants in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $56
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Ingredients of quality and optimum freshness, careful manipulation and a demanding equipment that guarantees them an exceptional culinary art. To accompany them we offer selected wines from international regions, as well as from all Spain and naturally also local. "If after a perfect dinner, our customers leave the restaurant with a satisfied smile, then we have approached our vision of perfection", describes Gerhard Lumpi, Chef and founder, the dream of his team.
Reviewed January 19, 2019

Nice restaurant, lovely staff, was not that impressed with the gourmet menu. Our steak was overcooked, the onions that accompanied the dish overpowered it. Best bits, the soup, sorbet and wines.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank patioheater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 461 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2019 via mobile

My husband and I visited this restaurant with friends on hogmany. We had the 7 course Gala Dinner. The food was exquisite we enjoyed every course. The service was realky good as well very very friendly and attentive We had fine wine and champagne. At mid night we welcomed in the New Year watching the fireworks from the roof top terrace. When in Puerto Rico this restaurant is a must visit. Is pricey but worth every penny

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank JillianS307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I have eaten here several times over the years and thoroughly enjoyed, not cheap, but top notch food and nice surroundings
The food was equally good this year, but this was the first time we were offered an apperitif by the gentleman with a kind look.
Having dined at Cosi Com Sei the previous evening with a gratis apperitif our guard was down so we accepted.
Two half glasses of prosseco. When we got the bill 13 euros were added ! It just left a feeling of having been " manoevered "
We also asked for some water. This was served in a caraffe and another 3 euros in the bill without even knowing the type of water we paid for.
OK, I received a free espresso later, but still felt a little
" squeezed ".
Food as always top quality. Service nice.
No problems to recommend but check before you order.

Eddie n Christine

Date of visit: November 2018
5  Thank eddie846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumpi123, Inhaber at La Taberna Timanfaya, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2018

We wish you and your family a merry Christmas and happy New year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2018 via mobile

The chateaubriand is the best I’ve ever tasted and served so well with the veg and sides. No starter required if getting this dish but we’ve also had the duck, sole and a few other dishes that you could eat a starter. A bit more pricey than most places out here but well worth it for a treat!! Our favourite place, staff lovely and decor too.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank FoodiePLUStravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

My partner & I visited here in October for my birthday.
We made a reservation through our hotel reception.
When we arrived we were greeted by very friendly staff and the cave setting was beautiful.
We opted for the 20 course tapas.
The dishes were presented beautifully, came out one by one and the waitress explained what each dish was.
We would definitely recommend and cannot wait to return.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank WeLove2Wander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taberna Timanfaya also viewed

Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
 
Patalavaca, Gran Canaria
Patalavaca, Gran Canaria
 
Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
 

Been to La Taberna Timanfaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing