We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“suneds”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of XQ Vistamar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
XQ Vistamar
Ranked #24 of 70 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“suneds”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

stayed here june 2013 clean and tidy pity pool bar closed at 6 would have liked drink later before going up to the centre most loss by closing at this time as for sun beds towels left on beds empty all day other wise nice hotel would stay again

Room Tip: all good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank icetonernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    53
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
61
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hartlepool
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just returned from the Vistamar appartments in Gran Canaria and had a fabulous time. The appartments are suitable for everyone including disabled people as they are across the road from the beach and no steps up the mountains! There is a lift in the appartments so stairs are not a problem. The appartments have recently been refurbished and are wonderful. The cleaning staff are great and there is security on all night, so any problems and they are on hand to help.
The pool bar is good value and Jess and Donna behind the bar are lovely girls and very knowledgable about the resort.
We went with Thomas Cook and went on the blanket trip which I would recommend as you see part of the island you would never get to see and have a lovely Tapas meal in the natural caves, which was really good. The trip is free but you do have to sit through a presentationn for mattresses and blankets which really wasn't a hardship.
Our Tour rep was Ryan who was wonderful, very helpful and knowledgable and a good all rounjd person, really lovely to talk to and very friendly

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank monkeyhanger19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

been 2 Puerto rico many times now and I saw this little gem the last time I was there so I did the homework on the place and research we were traveling as a couple out of Glasgow on the 2nd of may 2013 and it cost us £1190 with barrhead travel for a fortnight the place was spotless maids in every day and the location could not be any better u were right on the beach with amazing views of the harbour u could sit on ur balcony for hours just looking out and watching the activity plenty of places 2 eat and consume the demon drink on ur doorstep the best has to be THE RHODOS PALACE alittle greek gem food is first class cost about 30euros for 2 people there is also a good pub next door called the harbour lights which shows all the footy games and does an amazing sunday roast for 8euros roast beef roast tatties the works the best thing about where u are based is that u can access the main places in Puerto rico and the amadores beach and it is only 20mims walking 2 the farthest of the attractions and its all on the level no

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bigmabawzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Travelled in Aug 2012 with hubby and 2 children..Great location, lovely, refurbished rooms. Shame about the pool. Picture on tour operators website shows a much bigger pool... been before to apartments so would have liked to have known before we went that reduced the size of the pool...might have changed our mind about going..it got very busy in peak times so found we spent more time at the beach..not ideal. Not nearly enough beds for number of guests and most were taken long before pool was open... you can't physically put your towel on a bed to reserve it but you can sit by the beds that you want from as early as 7am.. ( pool not open until 10am so a long wait for all those people who did it)... Great for couples and adults, but if you have children, unfortunatley, not alot to do.... Would highly reccomend a trip to Palmintos Park..fab day out for everyone..dolphins, birds of prey shows, parrots etc..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sassy2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We have just arrived back from a girls holiday at the vistamar apartments. The apartments had just been refurbished 2yrs ago and we spotless. The maid we brilliant and worked really hard.
Martin the receptionist was very friendly and was always pleased to help us.
I have been coming to Puerto Rico for the last 10yrs and have stayed in these apartments once before, I will be using the vistamar in future. I would definitely recommend the apartments to all age groups including familys. Excellent location on the beach and the main shopping centre is only a 10 minute walk or 3 euro taxi ride away. We will be back next year and will be staying here.

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor room. The pool is right outside your window and you have your own little garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed in the Vistamar for 11 nights from 30-Aug to 10th Sept. In summary, it's a lovely complex of apartments, very clean, friendly staff and excellent location. The only downside from my perspective was a lack of activities, which could be easily rectified. The pool was ok, albeit a bit small, but sunbed availability was acceptable. The usual towel brigade were down there at 9am to reserve beds, but there was always the odd ones spare. Despite what has been mentioned previously, we found no issue with using inflatables and toys in the pool. The pool bar, ran by an English girl, served nice standard of food and relatively well priced. The location itself is a 10 minute walk from the main shopping centre, spitting distance of the small port and main beach, and only a 20 minute walk to the Amadores beach. Puerto Rico on the whole is a nice, albeit dated resort. But, beware of the lucky lucky sellers. They are a pain in the backside, and constantly on your case. Don't be fooled into going along for a taxi ride unless you desperately want the freebies on offer. But they are camped right outside the complex, so just ignore them or tell them politely to go forth and multiply.

Be aware, if you go in high season, the temperatures are almost unbearable at night. Vistamar, get some air-con. The ceiling fans just circulate hot air.

Aside from having to shout at some idiotic English people who thought it was fun to shout and scream in the pool at 3am, it was a wonderful holiday.

A little better on the facilities and I'd of given this place a 5 star rating.

Room Tip: If you wish to use wireless, make it a ground floor room. Any higher, and you can almost forget it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Had a fabulous 2 week holiday Aug 12 at the XQ Vista Mar in Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria.

Hotel couldnt be more perfectly situated - literally across the road from the beach and within 1 minute of several excellent restaurants and some shops. In just 15-20 mins you can stroll to the main commercial centre where you will find numerous bars and shops and a busy nightlife. Hotel is located at the quieter end of Puerto Rico. Several supermarkets also located within 10 mins walk of apartments. A 20 minute coastal walk takes you to the next bay Amadores which has a stunning beach - well worth the walk for a day out.

We found a pub called Harbour Lights almost next door - above some shops - friendly staff with quiz every night. Great food served from 8am-9pm. Huge Full English Breakfasts with proper bacon !! All very reasonably priced

Maid service changes towels, washes up and mops daily with bedding changed every other day. Pool cleaned thouroughly 6 days a week. Some folk did get up early to reserve their sunbeds but we didnt do that and didnt have any problems getting beds (8 of us in total). General standard of cleanliness of hotel was excellent - grounds and communal areas mopped daily. Chambermaids very friendly but limited English though this wasnt a problem.

Reception isnt open on a Saturday but this didnt cause us any problems. There is a licenced pool bar which does hot/cold food and snacks which is run separately to the hotel - reasonably priced and good quality.

Aparments have modern fitted kitchen with microwave, 2 ring hob and fridge freezer. You do have to rent kettle/toaster and safe if you want them. Flat screen tv with a couple of English channels (inc Disney). Bedrooms and living room have ceiling fans.

Fab views from the balcony - each of the 34 apartments has stunning sea view.

All in all we had a fab holiday and would definately go back to these apartments again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SUZISU J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.1 mi away
El Greco Apartments
El Greco Apartments
#14 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rio Piedras Apartments
Rio Piedras Apartments
#25 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Morasol Suites
Morasol Suites
#5 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maracaibo Aparthotel
Maracaibo Aparthotel
#22 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XQ Vistamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XQ Vistamar

Property: XQ Vistamar
Address: Calle Doreste y Molina 54, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 70 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — XQ Vistamar 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XQ Vistamar is a cozy complex with 34 apartments just off the Puerto Rico beach in the South of Gran Canaria. Its fantastic location just a little distance from the Puerto Rico Shopping Centre with its shops, restaurants and bars as well as the nearby pleasure craft harbor makes it an ideal location to enjoy your holidays on Gran Canaria.In order to make your stay with us as enjoyable as possible, amongst other things, you will be able to enjoy our Bar by the Swimming pool, ideal for having an aperitif or light meal without needing to move away from the pool area. A truly relaxing experience.Come and get to know us, and you will find out why all our customers come back to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your XQ Vistamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
XQ Vistamar Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing