We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Woods Londonderry”

Taj Palace Indian Tandoori
Ranked #31 of 174 Restaurants in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Londonderry ,N. Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Woods Londonderry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

As we stayed in the Porto Novo apartments on one occasion we decided to watch the television so we had a carryout from this restaurant and found it to be most enjoyable and very reasonable. On another time we had breakfast which was lovely and served by their very friendly staff. We ate outside as the weather was pleasant . It is a beautiful restaurant both inside and out, situated in lovely surroundings.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Benone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    123
    59
    28
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Real authentic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Menu is great and varied.
All meals being cooked in an authentic Indian way not at all like the usual restaurants you'll find in any town in Britain.
Nothing swimming in fat, all cooked fresh and you can tell.
Staff very attentive.
Everything reasonably priced too.
We really enjoyed it there, and I'm a vege so they even managed to feed me great food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KSM654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“just mouthwatering traditional food, best I have ever tasted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Food was just excellent, service brilliant, staff polite and very helpful. Any complaints about the food served here must be from people who are used to the 'English Indian slop' which is highly coloured.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank walesscarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Taj palace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I've eaten many times at the Taj Palace whilst on holiday the owner and staff are very friendly always on hand to help . The food has always been the best I've had and staff are more than happy to help you choose and help with what you would like . You not only have a choice of Indian food but English too and a very good pizza selection .Also recommend there homemade ice cream delicious .I will certainly go back again .

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolann1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One word - Yum.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Really enjoyed our meal at the Taj Palace, so much we ate here twice in our 1 week stay in Puerto Rico. The restaurant was recommended to us by a relative. The menu had a great selection, any dish you like and you can choose if you want it mild, medium, madras, or vindaloo.

Poppadoms are provided before the starter with a lovely selection of dips - onion, raita, mango. Each person gets one poppadom each so the next time we returned we asked for two.

Great selection of starters but we just went for the mains. The Karai Vindaloo was gorgeous, presented in a small wok and the chicken was of a very good quality. The garlic naan was cooked perfectly, thin and crispy base. We had a 9 year old child with us and they cooked her chicken pakoras medium spice and she loved them, all 6 of them! Other dishes ordered by our party included DoPiaza madras style, and curry medium spice - all went down a treat!

I noticed some reviews say the portions are quite small, we did not find this to be the case at all! We ordered a side of bombay aloo just in case, but ended up not being able to finish it!

Would definitely recommend this to any friends/family that enjoy a good Indian and I will be returning if I find myself in Puerto Rico again!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank IrishJetSetter87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Palace Indian Tandoori also viewed

Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
 
Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
 
Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
 

Been to Taj Palace Indian Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing