We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a little bit special”
Review of Minanas

Minanas
Ranked #12 of 177 Restaurants in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“It's a little bit special”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Peter and Juan are very welcoming. Leave your shorts and bikinis behind for this restaurant it's dress up time. Small restaurant with candlelit tables excellent food {would recommend the lamb which needs to be ordered the day before} We were waited on by a lovely polite waitress. You won't be rushed here it's sit back relax and enjoy.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hidehi987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    617
    100
    40
    14
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“cosy but pricey”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

lovely restaurant right next door to our apartments myself and my partner went there the waitress was a bit snotty when my partner went in as she had shorts and a t shirt on the food was lovely the portion sizes were not great especially the desserts i had a baked apple dessert and was given half a small apple with cream and icecream when we left i was still hungry and 60 euros less and that was without a tip ! the owner peter is a lovely guy and couldnt do enuf ...i would go back if i was flush enuf

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Agree with Holly TPT”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Having been here before, we returned again this trip. I must agree with Holly about the portions. I got the soup in a small bowl then chicken and literally three boiled potatoes and stir fry vegetables. My husband's chops were not the best and he got the same, three boiled potatoes and stir fry vegetables. Its slightly overpriced and over-rated. One before I asked for lemon sole and it was tiny and Juan was very annoyed that I complained. We found the Chinese rest. far better value.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunprincessanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“No. 1 by a long shot!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Minanas is so good it's the main reason we returned to Puerto Rico for a second time. We discovered this gem of a restaurant on our first holiday there and my husband decided we'd have to return primarily to go back to Minanas. And we weren't disappointed on any of the four nights we ate here!
Peter was always there to welcome us. The food was faultless, Juan came out of the kitchen every night to check we were happy with everything, which we were. The service was excellent, the waitress even noticed that my husband is left handed and placed the cutlery that way.
Fantastic food, lovely space, intimate and quirky...love the decor. Great atmosphere. Highly recommend it.
The next time we're in Puerto Rico it'll be our first stop!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarMor21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful food”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

First time in Puerto Rico and found Minanas on first night. Lovely little place, very friendly and heavenly food. Tried a few other places during a one week stay but ended up back here for a final evening out. Can't fault a single thing. See you next time, Peter, Juan and staff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minanas also viewed

Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
 
Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
 
Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
 

Been to Minanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing